2000 Dakota

Consumer Reviews

2000 Dodge Dakota

$1,552 - $7,760  MSRP Range
2000 Dodge Dakota

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

36 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 2000 Dodge Dakota?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 36 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Truck Ever

by AXL from Wisconsin on April 29, 2011

I bought my 2000 Sport Quad Dakota with 4.7L with 25k miles on it. It now has 215,000 miles on it and it has never left me stranded. I've never had any issues with it other than a sensor had to be replaced once. I've even use it to pull our 28ft travel trailer on long trips and it performs like a champ with the transmission always operating flawlessly. I can't say enough about this truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So Much Fun

by Average Joe from on July 7, 2011

I own a 2000 Dakota R/T,I love the truck and it is so much fun to drive and great at car shows because you see so few of these. Great truck if you can find one. Remember Mopar or no car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good basic mid-sized truck

by Wakin from Tucson, AZ on April 1, 2010

Never, never left me on the side of the road in ten years of ownership. Gas mileage so-so. The Club Cab design became less functional as my kids got bigger, but the 4 door Crew Cab was not introduced until the following year. But again, this truck ran like a top for me for basic transportation and light duty homeowner hauling.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great for cruising around town..

by Dak2000 from Dover, Ohio on August 18, 2006

I have had my dakota for about a year now, and so far it is a very nice truck. the only things that i dont like on it is: 1) when attempting to accelerate to 3000 rpm or over, the transmittion will jerk and shift at 2500.. not good for people who have to climb steep hills.. 2) when braking there is sometimes a strange pinging noise from the rear axle, it seem as if it only happens in the morning with th early moisture, i had it looked at but they said nothing is wrong.. other than those two minor issues this truck is a very good, and extremely reliable piece of machinery.. i love my 2000 dodge dakota..

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Pick-up for the money

by Dakota Boy from Reading, pa on November 30, 2010

I got my 2000 dakota in the spring of 2010. The only problem i had on this 90000 mile truck is that the guage cluster went, besides that it is a good truck with plenty of power for my specific needs

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice Truck

by One More Time from NY on January 16, 2013

2000 Dodge Dakota Sport Ext Cab 4x4 3.9L. Do yourself a favor and buy the car privately. Payed half the price the dealers wanted, no hassle one owner service records, no accidents. Use Clist or another avenue. The truck is great size. The ext cab for short distances if fine for kids, not so much for adults. 6.5' bed, that extra foot makes a difference. Ride is more car like then truck and is fantastic in the snow or climbing rough terrain with 4x4. Looks are second to none. and really the only midsize pickup in the 1997-2002 year range. Things to watch out for is rusty brake lines, intemediate steering shaft, and generally bad rust. This truck just purchased 12/12 137k has almost no rust.None on the body. Lastly the 3.9l is a little underpowered, but if you can find one with the lsd and 3.92 like this truck you can tow just about anything..Just a little slower all around daily driving and towing. Not a show stopper.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Endlessly reliable

by Tachanka from Fort Collins, CO on September 2, 2017

My family has had Dakota's in the past, and they all have proven to be effective and durable. Mine is no different; it is a 2000 that runs as good as it did on day one. This vehicle will run like a champ as long as you keep fluids topped and oils changed.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Still in honeymoon phase?

by Penny Pincher from Seattle on November 12, 2009

I just bought this truck a few weeks ago and have no major complaints other than the poor fuel economy? I get 17 mpg based off of 60% city & 40% hwy driving. I was driving a 2008 Yaris before my wife took it over, so it is great to have all that extra legroom now but perhaps I am still used to getting that 39mpg from the Yaris so the Dakota mpg may seem low. The truck has sharp styling and looks great. It is powerful and having 4WD is easy to shift into. I have the Club Cab, V6, 3.9L with 48,000 miles, bed liner, running boards & matching canopy.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

'99 dakota was my first vehicle

by cupcake from on November 12, 2009

i had a '99 dakota as my first vehicle and drove alot of others, 5 stars all the way for 'em. theyre great little trucks, an i know from takin mine off road they can take a beatin

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Not my favorite vehicle

by dakotasport0890 from Lake Charles, La on July 23, 2007

I have a 2000 dodge dakota sport w. the 3.9 v6magnum and manual transmission. Overall it got me from point a to point b, but it hasn't been too reliable for me. I've had to replace the driveshaft and transmission, and it is starting to give me trouble again. and the powersteering is leaking i believe. these aren't problems that a 2000 well maintained vehicle should have.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2000 Dodge Dakota

Part of the charm and appeal of the Chrysler PT Cruiser - apart from the fact that it looks like nothing else on the road - is the image it evokes of vehicles in our past, from gangster-era cars to `50s panel trucks.

But nostalgia isn't always the magic ingredient. It's one thing to establish a retro look, as Chrysler has done so successfully with vehicles like the PT Cruiser and the Prowler. It's another to create a retro feel by stepping away from modern technology - in effect, stepping backward into a time warp, where straight-line acceleration takes precedence over agility and ride comfort. Sometimes the gambit works, as in the case of the Dodge Viper, a primeval performance car that's as... Read More