2002 Intrepid

Consumer Reviews

2002 Dodge Intrepid

$1,223 - $4,579  MSRP Range
2002 Dodge Intrepid

Review Score

3.7 out of 5 stars

3.7

34 Reviews
71% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Dodge Intrepid?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 34 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

The R/T's ROCK !

by Darkstar from Albany, NY on Mon Jun 02 2008

I've never liked any FWD car before the Intrepid. This car feels and handles much more like a RWD, which it was designed to be (both FWD & RWD versions were originally planned). The looks & style are fantastic, and still look modern - and even futuristic - today. The favorite part, for me, is this is the BEST handling sedan in it's class, period. She's large. She's heavy. She's not the fastest - though very respectable at 7.9 sec. for 0-60 - but, with the way she can hold curves, nobody beats me in the twisties... with a sedan. And, for long trips, you can't beat the ride, either !

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Dodge Scores a Home Run

by Car Guy from Park Rapids, MN on Tue May 27 2008

The Intrepid is the best car i have ever owned. besides the fact that the seats can be a bit uncomfortable sometimes i give the intrepid 2 thumbs up

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

PLEASANTLY SURPRISED

by CAR ENTHISIAST from on Sat Nov 22 2008

OWNED ONE, BEST CAR I EVER HAD, LOOKING TO GET ANOTHER! EXCELLENT HANDLING CHARACTERISTICS, VERY COMFORTABLE, BETTER GAS MILEAGE THAN I EXPECTED. ROOMY ENOUGH FOR A FAMILY. SPORTY LOOKING.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

wish they still made it

by past spirit owner from novi, mi on Sun Jan 08 2012

I own a 2002 3.5L V6 Dodge Intrepid ES. Purchased new . It has been very reliable. Great style, sporty, fun to drive. Handles the road great in both dry and wet/snow pavement. Takes the bumps - though you can feel them. Have had NO problems with it. Gas mileage was just as they said it would be 18 city, 26 hwy. -which is good considering the size. Huge trunk - can fit my bike in it. IF THEY STILL MADE IT I WOULD BUY A NEW ONE!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First Dodge ever owned... LOVE IT

by Tek-Gyrl from Quantico Marine Base on Tue Jan 09 2018

I bought this car used last Thanksgiving of 2016 with 115,000 miles on it It currently has 178,000 miles on it and has only been in the shop 3 times (twice for suspension tie rod issues) and once for a brake line failure so I really cannot complain at all given the fact I have put 63,000 miles on it .... I have a fleet vehicle with the 3.5L Engine in it and she is fast. I think those who complain generally are the ones with the 2.7L engine and any web search (and the manual) will tell you every 75,000 miles you MUST replace the water pump (REGARDLESS) its called preventative maintenance> Any car that can take me racking up 50,000 miles on it in 1yr is a good used car in my opinion but remember it is ALWAYS about how your vehicle is maintained

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable Vehicle For Sale

by PJZ from Peoria, AZ on Sat Nov 11 2017

This vehicle has been my dependable transportation for the past 16 years. It recently made the 4000 mile round trip from Phoenix, AZ to Eagle River, WI without any problems and at times averaged 30 miles per gallon. It is roomy and quiet, the air conditioning blows cold air, and the stereo system sounds great. It's a great car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car ever !

by BadBoy2277 from Northampton Mass. on Tue Sep 03 2013

This car was a sheer joy to own. Never causing me any problems. I was always so proud of that fact. It never needed more than the basics oil change, tune up, tires. I owned mine for almost 5 years and never even needed brakes. Whenever I took a long trip I never had a worry If I was going to make it back home My R/T got me there and back without even so much as a hick up. Huge trunk lots room for all your stuff. You could almost put your whole garage in there. Great gas mileage I think it was because it was so aerodynamic. That and the 3.5 L V6 That ran like a charm. I loved mine I wish I never sold it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great First car

by Dodge4life from Michigan on Sun Apr 28 2013

I have the 2002 3.5L and it is fast enough for fun, but slow enough to stay safe. It is an extremely comfortable car to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nothing but normal maintenance with this car.

by Intrepid Fan from DENVER on Mon Mar 18 2019

This was college car for our student from 2015 to 2019. Full size sedan with plenty of room for bringing home laundry and friends :) Safe, reliable, trouble free. Perfect student car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

R/T fun 3.5L

by Ford68gt500 from Spokane on Sat Jul 15 2017

While these cars get a bad wrap for the 2.7L, if you get the 3.2/3.5 version they are incredible and are nice to drive fun and sporty for being a sedan. It will take you by surprise when you step on it at any speed. (very much a sleeper car) lots of room for passengers and plenty of trunk space.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4