NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2005 Ram 1500

Consumer Reviews

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

91 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Dodge Ram 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

61 - 70 of 91 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Very powerful vehicle & very responsive

by Mpinspector38 from Anniston, ALABAMA on Wed Jun 27 2018

This vehicle was a super powerful truck not alot of leg room but enough to get by with ok gas mileage for such a big truck

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great truck

by Ace on Mon Sep 18 2017

It does everything. Whether it's for work or play or even a night on the town. Great in the snow or any weather.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Rust is common in the north

by Raider77 from massillon on Mon Apr 10 2017

I bought a 2005 used in 2011 and it was in perfect shape but as time went on and it being used by a new driver and not garage kept in Ohio winters, it has rusted pretty badly on the wells and the rear bumper. Performance has yet to show any signs of giving up, the 5.7 Hemi gets the regular cab moving quickly.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

by DKS1121 from TX on Sun Oct 15 2017

Over all this vehicles is very reliable and will get you wherever you need to go. I highly recommend a Dodge RAM!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Really like the car

by Ryan G. from Stafford, VA on Sat Oct 21 2017

I came in and everyone was very kind. I test drove the vehicle and i love it. I will be back to buy this car next week.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reiable Car I've Owned

by Merc from Fresno on Wed Apr 05 2017

This truck is a beauty. You will not be disappointed! It is in excellent condition and with the Hemi engine you'll like the power of this truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Extremely Reliable and Comfortable

by booklioness from Seattle, WA on Thu Oct 19 2017

We have had this truck for many years and it has never let us down. From commuting, long road trips, hauling junk, moving house... this truck does it all without complaints. Very comfortable, safe, and quiet. Gas mileage is the only complaint, but what do you expect from a V8 Hemi?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very reliable truck

by Vbibby from Warwick,RI on Fri Jul 27 2018

Truck drivetrain was strong interior stuff like nobs and switch’s are cheaply made wasn’t the most comfortable seats but all in all a very reliable truck

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

It's been a decent truck besides a few problems

by Tyson88 from Saratoga Springs, Utah on Wed Jul 26 2017

I love the truck even though it has a few problems like the etc light that puts it in limp mode and it kinda sucks about the circuit board things in the tail lights that make it so you can't use led bulbs

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great smooth ride but very work ready

by johno from Barnesville ohio on Tue Jun 19 2018

going from my gmc to the dodge was defiantly i trade up in the right direction the gmc was a good around town truck but lacked the workhorse capability of the dodge and i really like the better turning radios of this dodge .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Our Take on the 2005 Dodge Ram 1500

Yes, the big Dodge Ram pickup still has a Hemi.

The truck that began DaimlerChrysler’s renaissance of the Hemi engine design, the current-generation Ram Heavy Duty that debuted in fall 2002, still includes the 5.7-liter Magnum Hemi V-8 as its standard engine for model year 2005, and will again this fall in the 2006 models.

Little did the Chrysler folks know when they introduced this revival of the Hemi in the Ram Heavy Duty lineup for 2003 that consumers would gobble these engines up not only in a Ram 2500 model such as our test vehicle this week, but also in an entire range of Dodge, Chrysler and Jeep vehicles — cars, trucks and SUVs — that have come onto the market since.

It was... Read More