1998 F-150

Consumer Reviews

1998 Ford F-150

$274 - $8,250  MSRP Range
1998 Ford F-150

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

28 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1998 Ford F-150?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Very durable and trouble free

by buckmaster from Ticonderoga, NY on Sun Jul 05 2009

I have 290,000 miles on mine and no problems. The four wheel drive engages inside the cab and offers 4-high and 4-low. The 4-low four wheel drive is very powerful.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice Solid Truck

by Cadiman from Frederick, Maryland on Thu Jan 28 2010

I recently had purchased my first full size truck; a 1998 F150. This truck is a solid work machine and at the same time has good style and class. I really enjoy getting the positive attention that one receives while driving. As for performance, the truck was equipped with the tow package and is geared at a low ratio. Lots of power and as for gas millage about 16-18mpg high way. Which is relatively close to a mid size truck, but with more room and allot more truck. I would recommend this truck to anyone who actually needs a truck for working purposes, towing and hauling, ect.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car in the world

by truck driver from on Sun Sep 18 2011

we have this car since 99 and here we are 11 years later with 300,000 miles and it still runs like new.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Truck

by Trucks from San Francisco, Ca. on Tue Dec 30 2008

Owned since new - 50th anniversary edition. Only three failures: hood latch, alternator and fan switch. I have over 90K and it runs great and looks good too!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I like a plain Jane

by shawn the picker from Western Massachusetts on Sat Jun 02 2007

I have a 1998 Ford F-150 with the six cylinder engine and the standard transmission. I don't have to pull stumps out of the ground but I do have to carry 1200 to 1500 pounds of music equipment every weekend, sometimes over roads that are not all that well paved. I have never had a breakdown on the road, and only routine maintainance such as battery, serpentine belt and tensioner, brake pads, clutch and throwout bearing, oil and filter, air filter. My F-150 has been good to me and has never left me stuck at the side of the road. It now has 156,000 miles on it and is still running strong.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Old Reliable

by Cabinet Guy from Lafayette ,IN on Thu Sep 26 2013

Bought my 150 in 2004.I have put over 173,000 miles on it and still get great performance. New alternator and left front brake line is all I've done. Just a great all around truck. Plan on keeping it for many years.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best truck for money

by truck lover from fort worth tx on Tue Dec 06 2011

i bought my 1998 ford 4x4 used and it has been an excellent truck, i paid $8900 for it 2 yrs ago and it has 12100 miles on it then , now i have 154000 miles still running strong no problems.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very few issues

by cnnesseth13 from Wisconsin on Thu Sep 14 2017

I have had very few issues with this truck. I put new brakes on almost two years ago, and they work like brand new. I had a hose blow off the power steering pump, but that was a $7 fix if that. I needed a new serpentine belt, but it was more of a want, It squeaked and I found it annoying, it didn't need to be replaced. The worst issue I have still is the exhaust manifold has a crack so my truck crackles as it runs(noise wise). It is a bit loud, but definitely not the worst.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My 98

by F150 from Louisville,KY on Fri Jun 20 2014

Less than 50k miles. Truck is in awesome condition! I'm very happy with this truck. I should get 200,000 miles out of this truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Think Ford First

by Cloud from canton on Mon Apr 02 2018

Everything you need in a truck Ford makes the best trucks power comfort towing the engine last for ever great gas mileage for a truck

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
0 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 1998 Ford F-150

Many New Yorkers snicker at the lack of urbanity present in their fellow countrymen. To them anything outside of metro New York City is one vast farm field filled polyester-clad clods who aren't smart enough to live in New York.

But we know better. After all, there's no one more provincial then a New Yorker. As if to prove it, the latest status symbol among the in-crowd denizens who think they know better is the pickup truck.

Yes, that's right, the pickup truck.

It's even more macho then a sport utility and, when it comes to image, that's what really counts in the Big Apple(aside from boatloads of cash).

A message to these clueless car buyers: This truck has been the best-selling truck... Read More