NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2005 F-250

Consumer Reviews

2005 Ford F-250

$3,461 - $21,625  MSRP Range
2005 Ford F-250

Review Score

3.8 out of 5 stars

3.8

37 Reviews
78% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Ford F-250?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 37 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable w/ low maintenance

by Doc from Port Angeles, WA on Mon Jan 17 2011

Reliability is of paramount importance while owning my own business. These trucks are unsurpassed for reliability.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

the 6.0 that left me stranded on 2 trucks

by jmans10 from gvillesouthcacolaki on Wed Feb 13 2019

I Have owned 4 f-250 trucks 2000, 2005, 2006, 2008 But the 2005 and 2006 Were by far the truck from Hades. The 2005 king ranch 6.0 Blew an oil ring at 150k miles. the ring was only 76.00 but cost 1400 to get replaced and 900 the 2nd time. the injectors failed and Truck smoked so I sold and wound up with a 2006 f-250 lariat that was bulletproofed. not long after being bullet proofed it Left me sitting on the side of the rd 350 miles from home while towing our RV. the injectors backed out and beat the rings to death and cost me 2200.00 at 167,000 miles the truck was Shot stay away from 6.0 and the 6.4 2003-2010 are the worst Motors Ford powerstroke produced.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable heavy duty I have owned

by OilfieldDuramax on Wed Jan 17 2018

This was a great truck, regardless of what you will read. I owned this truck and drove it until 165k miles. Never gave me an issue. Biggest regret was selling this truck for a Dodge. As long as you maintain it and "delete" it you'll be good.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Powerful towing, poor gas mileage

by JohnnyShredder from Vail, CO on Fri Sep 29 2017

Strong engine for towing. Comfortable interior. The ride is a bit stiff. Does everything I need it to do!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Powerful and reliable truck I have owned.

by Dfigman from Colorado Springs, Colorasdo on Sun Jan 06 2019

I had an F-150 for 12 years that ran forever with over 150k on it. Unfortunately I was rear ended at high speed and bent the frame. I found my 2005 Ford F-250 Diesel a couple of weeks later. The pulling power is amazing, it does take some gas as mine is lifted but it looks amazing for a 2005. I have 134k on it and it has so much more to go. Keep it serviced and you will absolutely love this truck. I will not let her go until she does not drive anymore. My 6.0 Powerstroke is amazing. Remember to plug her in the winter and you will have no problems.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable truck

by Jared from Indiana on Mon May 22 2017

This truck served me well from 135K miles to 189K miles with no major problems with 5.4L Gasoline V8 4x4

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My first 3/4 ton truck

by Willy from Kansas City , MO on Tue Jul 17 2018

This truck has lots of room and style , since it’s a f250 king ranch . It has lots of power to pull my travel trailer

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2005 F250 6.0

by Steve from Altoona pa on Fri Nov 08 2019

Very good condition! No rust. Was told the Engine was bullet Proof. It has a 6 inch lift with 37 inch tires. Bought a New truck is the reason im selling.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best diesel truck I've owned

by Al from columbus ohio on Fri Nov 18 2011

I've been a diesel truck driver for 40 years and I would say that the O5 is one of the best. It has outstanding power and never fails.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2005 F-250 super cab 6.0 diesel

by mwpa123 from Nor-Cal on Wed Feb 13 2013

This truck, trans, and engine are made to pull! The truck is used to pull a 28ft trailer, tows great and has ample power. The integrated trailer towing setting on the truck and trailer brake are awesome. I Scored a 2005 SD, SC, Lariat, FX4 LB w/59K in 2013 to replace my 1994 F-350 7.3. This is an awesome truck. The 6.0L Powerstroke is incredible. I did a lot of research on the 6.0 before purchasing and the info I took away on the so called inherent problems is that they are mostly due to the power mods folks do. Mine is completely stock and I plan to keep it that way. The truck commands the road and traffic. It's loaded with just about every option and very comfortable. Leather is top quality, roomy, eye appealing inside and out. Handles well for being as big as it is. Have only had it a short time and I get many compliments. I liked the 2005 model changes to the grill best so went with that year. Suits me just fine. If it's like my other Fords, I'll get years of reliable service. I average 16 to 17mpg in town. On the highway, I get over 21 mpg if I am driving 65-70mph and 15-17mpg if I am loaded up or trailering@60-65mph. I plan to keep this truck for many years.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

34 out of 36 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4