Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1999 Mustang

Consumer Reviews

1999 Ford Mustang

1999 Ford Mustang

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

33 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1999 Ford Mustang?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 33 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

She's got pep

by Derrick from Virginia on Fri Aug 12 2011

This is my first car, i have had it for over a year. It is a convertible,GT 5 speed with over 100k miles on it. I have had no problems with it in the slightest way and that is saying something because it has to put up with my driving. I learned how to drive a stick on this car, and i learned how to drive period in this car. It is not overly aggressive to the point cops are staring you down at every red light, but it can still deliver PLENTY of power when you want or need it. I love this car, i wouldn't trade it for a 2011 anything.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

10 year owner 1999 Mustang V6

by ayoot from southwest Florida on Fri Apr 01 2016

My 60 year old mother bought this Mustang 10 years ago as her condo car (Florida) from a colleague of mine with 30000 miles. In the past ten years, she has clocked another 30000 miles without any issues. Aside from regular oil changes and scheduled maintenance, it has only required an alternator, tires and two batteries. It has never left her stranded or failed to start. My mother has since graciously given the Mustang to my step-daughter. I have replaced the brakes all around and this pretty black stallion continues to deliver trouble free reliability. My now 70 year old mother has a new Nissan Altima that has had a few minor issues off the lot. Nothing major, but she appreciates her old Mustang that gave her 10 years of trouble free service. This car handles like a dream and although the V6 is no V8, it's powerful enough to make it a blast to drive. When Ford built this car 17 years ago, they probably never cared how it would fare nearly 20 years later. However, at 17 years old, this car is incredibly reliable and still is a blast to drive. My step-daughter loves it and gets compliments all the time. Amazing!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

1999 Mustang GT

by Mustang Owner in STL from Chesterfield, MO on Sat Aug 23 2014

It's a nice car, great entry-level muscle car. After a while, you may want to upgrade though if performance is your thing. While it's certainly not slow, at the same time, here in 2014 it's nothing special. You can even get a new Camry with more horsepower now. Yes, really. Pull up to a light next to a new Mustang or Camaro and you're basically driving a joke on wheels. On the plus side, the New Edge body styling looks awesome and remains the best-looking Mustang after the new GT500s. It's a very reliable machine too, so it has that going for it. I've owned three Mustangs (1989 convertible 5.0, 1995 GT, and this one) and none of them have ever left me stranded anywhere.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT CAR

by KIM 1999 from BURLINGTON NC on Mon Sep 25 2006

I JUST PURCHASED MY MUSTANG ABOUT A WEEK AGO AND ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT! THE DESIGN IS AWESOME AND IT HANDLES LIKE A DREAM! IVE ALWAYS DRIVEN A SPORTS CAR AND THE COMFORT AND LEG ROOM ARE A BIG PLUS IN THIS HOT PONY!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1999 Mustang GT

by Mustang GT Lover from Northern VA on Mon Dec 19 2011

Bought it used for our 18 year old son. Everyone loves it. It has had 2 owners, and is in excellent shape. We had it vetted by an independent auto shop.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great 1st car!!

by Leo from Mt. Holly, NJ on Fri Nov 07 2008

This is my 1st car I've ever owned and it has been a good car. The only bad thing is the brakes, I have had numerous repairs and a new brake booster. The gas milege is pretty good for a V6. Great stereo if you get the MACH. Leather has stayed very nice for almost being 10 years old and the paint is good.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hard Top GT

by Mustang Lover from So. Cal on Sat Dec 30 2006

I've had my GT a little over a year now, So i think I may have some decent input. I love it! Car is reliable, fairly comfortable, and really has that aggressive muscle car look. Handling was nice, though traction was a bit rough, i put in a new pair of control arms and it vastly improved. Was a quiet car for the engine its packing, though if u buy one, its not too far off in your future to add an exhaust to give it a bit meaner sound. Its not the fastest car out there, but most of the time, when i need it to go, Its always out in front, without a bit of hesitation, even with the automatic. If its not enough for you, a computer chip will open your eyes, and your car. A couple flaws noticed were: The intake manifold had not been replaced yet with the aluminum version that is out now. May be a good idea to have it checked out by ford after the purchase to ensure it wont blow out on you and spray radiator fluid everywhere. Another thing Is the seatbealts, They lock when needed and will keep you safe so dont run for the hills, but sometimes have difficulty retracting, I heard a rumor it was a recall, but have not confirmed it. Overall a really great car...Styling,ride quality,performance...I would defenitly say give her a try.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this card, it looks great, runs great, made

by Ufc1972 from Friedens pa on Sun Jun 10 2018

Great car for the money , nicest car I’ve ever owned by far... runs fantastic, is a real head turner and very reliable , has cold a/c and got heat

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Neatest car I have owned for driving fun.

by BillJan Summer Fun from Chilton, Wisconsin on Thu Mar 22 2018

I purchased as a life long kid dream. I have driven for 12 years only in the summer. It has performed without any major mechanical problems. I am selling only because I have upgraded to a newer model.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love the car

by 99v6 from altoona ia on Wed May 12 2010

i have a 99 mustang v6, and i love it! hands down the best car i have ever owned or driven! great reliability too! awesome power for only being a v6, 190 hp 220 ft/lbs can get you just about anywhere, pretty decent traction in snow, though i would recommend snow tires, cheap upgrades for the cars too, by far the funnest car to drive if you ask me, great cornering, great acceleration in WOT. would recommend this car to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 1999 Ford Mustang

The Ford Mustang went on sale April 17, 1964, with a base price of $2,368.

To commemorate Mustang's 35th anniversary, Ford has come up with a limited-edition (5,500 copies to be sold in the U.S., a few still left) anniversary GT coupe and convertible.

The GT, powered by a 4.6-liter, 260-h.p. V-8, features body-colored hood scoop, deck-lid spoiler, side scoops and rocker panel moldings; 17-inch, five-spoke aluminum wheels with galloping pony logo; black, silver, white or red exterior finishes; and a variety of 35th anniversary logos.

Looks good and doesn't act its age, but this is no Cobra. Don't expect slap-you-back-in-your-seat acceleration. And be prepared for... Read More