2004 Sierra 1500

Consumer Reviews
2004 GMC Sierra 1500

Change Vehicle
4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

17 Reviews
2004 GMC Sierra 1500
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
4.7 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.6 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.6 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.6 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

99k miles and still kicking!

by 04SierraLover from Jacksonville, FL on November 29, 2010

I have recently hit 99,000 miles on my 2004 GMC Sierra 1500. I have the 4.8L V-8 and have no complaints. I change my oil every 3,000 miles, and get an alignment every year or so. I recently put new tires on it, and it performs even better. I am getting 16MPG on it. However, I am getting a shudder between 1st and 2nd gears. Sometimes it slams into gear. Otherwise, nothing is wrong with it. I have decided that I will drive this truck until the frame falls apart.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2004 5.3L GMC Sierra SLT 1500 Ext Cab w/ Tow Pack

by Toyota Love from LA, CA on May 28, 2007

After 3.5 Years and about 30k miles I've had no break downs and it drives with the same power as when it was new. Passing and cornering like a sports car, beats the Dodge and Ford on handling in my opinion. Not to mention 2004 apears to be keeping its value much better too. Interior is rugged and comfortable, nothing has broken or started to wear yet.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Truck

by Lovin_my_GMC from Spring Grove Pa on May 12, 2014

This truck iis awesome. It has the positracion rear and 4 wheel drive so I I am sure it will perform well in snow or mud. Has 5.3 engine with Automatic and gets better fuel mpg than my toyota 4 Runner that I traded in. The GMC had a clunking sound when shifting into reverse and when pulling out from a stop. I found there was a TSB from GMC concerning this issue and Country Dodge took care of it for me. Truck has a fair amount of squeaky creaky interior panels but it does not bother me. Only two things I found that I dislike. First one is the wiper arms can only be lifted a few inches off the windshield. I normally leave my wipers sticking up in the air when I have to park outside in the snow and ice to prevent them from getting frozen to the window. Second one is the Center AC vent in the dash cannot be turned off. If rear passenger are cold and I am hot this is a problem because I cant stop the airflow from that vent. Overall though it is a great truck and drives great! I love it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Has been used as a work truck for 4 years, always

by Cass1885 from Texas on September 19, 2017

Some cosmetic flaws, could use a new windshield but engine and transmissions are great no problems. Tow hitch with electric brakes are definetly worth it for someone who tows often

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

excellent overall truck

by ctierce from centre, al on August 3, 2017

great truck. i owned it for 12 years and 167000 miles with only a water pump failure which was covered under warranty. didnt have to replace the original brakes until 150000 miles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car ever

by Bu6LLy from Cambridge, MA on February 11, 2018

It is the best car I have ever used, I like the way it feels when we drive it. It is super strong specially in Boston Cold weather. Everything in this car is perfect

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GMC Denali

by Party Patty from Minneapolis MN on December 6, 2017

we have loved it since we bought it...rides real smooth ... we like GMC so much we bought another one ... I would reccomend GMC to everyone that is looking for a car or truck !!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I can always depend on my GMC.

by Spatenist on August 4, 2017

What a great truck! I have always depended on GMC for my work trucks and always will. in the nearly fifteen years I've owned it, I only had to replace the fuel pump.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GMC Denali

by Party Patty from Minneapolis MN on December 5, 2017

we have loved it since we bought it...rides real smooth ... we like GMC so much we bought another one ... I would reccomend GMC to everyone that is looking for a car or truck !!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

got clear title

by sporty from hwy25n golden ms. on September 26, 2011

it is a 4door 2smallback doors never beeb in mud used 4wheel drive 2times in snow has auto 4wheel drive when needed puter in color its the sport model never cleaned moter but still looks good

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 2004 GMC Sierra 1500