Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2004 Sierra 1500

Consumer Reviews

2004 GMC Sierra 1500

$2,848 - $14,924  MSRP Range
2004 GMC Sierra 1500

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

17 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 GMC Sierra 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

99k miles and still kicking!

by 04SierraLover from Jacksonville, FL on Mon Nov 29 2010

I have recently hit 99,000 miles on my 2004 GMC Sierra 1500. I have the 4.8L V-8 and have no complaints. I change my oil every 3,000 miles, and get an alignment every year or so. I recently put new tires on it, and it performs even better. I am getting 16MPG on it. However, I am getting a shudder between 1st and 2nd gears. Sometimes it slams into gear. Otherwise, nothing is wrong with it. I have decided that I will drive this truck until the frame falls apart.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2004 5.3L GMC Sierra SLT 1500 Ext Cab w/ Tow Pack

by Toyota Love from LA, CA on Mon May 28 2007

After 3.5 Years and about 30k miles I've had no break downs and it drives with the same power as when it was new. Passing and cornering like a sports car, beats the Dodge and Ford on handling in my opinion. Not to mention 2004 apears to be keeping its value much better too. Interior is rugged and comfortable, nothing has broken or started to wear yet.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Truck

by Lovin_my_GMC from Spring Grove Pa on Mon May 12 2014

This truck iis awesome. It has the positracion rear and 4 wheel drive so I I am sure it will perform well in snow or mud. Has 5.3 engine with Automatic and gets better fuel mpg than my toyota 4 Runner that I traded in. The GMC had a clunking sound when shifting into reverse and when pulling out from a stop. I found there was a TSB from GMC concerning this issue and Country Dodge took care of it for me. Truck has a fair amount of squeaky creaky interior panels but it does not bother me. Only two things I found that I dislike. First one is the wiper arms can only be lifted a few inches off the windshield. I normally leave my wipers sticking up in the air when I have to park outside in the snow and ice to prevent them from getting frozen to the window. Second one is the Center AC vent in the dash cannot be turned off. If rear passenger are cold and I am hot this is a problem because I cant stop the airflow from that vent. Overall though it is a great truck and drives great! I love it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Has been used as a work truck for 4 years, always

by Cass1885 from Texas on Tue Sep 19 2017

Some cosmetic flaws, could use a new windshield but engine and transmissions are great no problems. Tow hitch with electric brakes are definetly worth it for someone who tows often

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car ever

by Bu6LLy from Cambridge, MA on Sun Feb 11 2018

It is the best car I have ever used, I like the way it feels when we drive it. It is super strong specially in Boston Cold weather. Everything in this car is perfect

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I can always depend on my GMC.

by Spatenist on Fri Aug 04 2017

What a great truck! I have always depended on GMC for my work trucks and always will. in the nearly fifteen years I've owned it, I only had to replace the fuel pump.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GMC Denali

by Party Patty from Minneapolis MN on Wed Dec 06 2017

we have loved it since we bought it...rides real smooth ... we like GMC so much we bought another one ... I would reccomend GMC to everyone that is looking for a car or truck !!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GMC Denali

by Party Patty from Minneapolis MN on Tue Dec 05 2017

we have loved it since we bought it...rides real smooth ... we like GMC so much we bought another one ... I would reccomend GMC to everyone that is looking for a car or truck !!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

got clear title

by sporty from hwy25n golden ms. on Mon Sep 26 2011

it is a 4door 2smallback doors never beeb in mud used 4wheel drive 2times in snow has auto 4wheel drive when needed puter in color its the sport model never cleaned moter but still looks good

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2004 gmc Serria 1500 sle

by Jagit from Linwood on Sun Dec 25 2016

Bought it used in 2015 with 200000 miles. Still in very good condition for its age. A little rust on Cab but I live in North East where salt on the road is a way of life. Cluster Gauge problems and front tire vibration but at 200,000 can't complain

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2004 GMC Sierra 1500

There's good truck news at Chevrolet and GMC for 2004 that you likely haven't heard yet. In a moment, you'll understand why.

In past tests, I've celebrated the innovation called Quadrasteer, a system developed by Delphi that allows for the rear wheels to steer. It was introduced by GMC in 2001 and has moved to Chevrolet trucks and SUVs, too.

With Quadrasteer, an extended-cab pickup, with an overall length of 227.7 inches, can turn in the same space required by Saturn sedan, which is 178.1 inches long.

Quadrasteer revives an idea that Honda and a few other manufacturers tried, and failed, to popularize in the late 1980s and early 1990s. With four-wheel steering, the rear wheels steer just as... Read More