NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Sierra 1500

Consumer Reviews

2017 GMC Sierra 1500

#4 Most Popular Truck
$24,207 - $45,303  MSRP Range
2017 GMC Sierra 1500

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

159 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 GMC Sierra 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 159 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2017 GMC Sierra SLT Z71 Crew Cab

by cedeweese from Trimble, MO on Tue Mar 28 2017

This is a beautiful truck with an interior on par with many luxury vehicles. We purchased the dealer's loaner model to get deep discounts and one can't tell that it's not a new vehicle. The styling on the outside is stunning, it fits our family well, the electronics are amazing yet easy to use, and the seating is prime. The only downfalls are that our 2005 Suburban that we traded had a 5.3 L engine just as our new truck does but the Suburban seemed to be stronger off the line and the Goodyear tires on our new truck make it really hard to get going in the rain. The fuel economy on the new truck makes up for the perceived power difference (which probably isn't a real difference anyhow).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sierra Denali

by AJ from Edmonton, AB on Thu Mar 09 2017

Went from BMW to a Denali with zero regrets! My first 1/2 ton and I am excited like its my first vehicle!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most fuel efficient 4 wheel drive truck ever

by Motoman from Rochester on Wed Sep 27 2017

This truck is extremely smooth and quiet, phenomenal power exceptional mileage, great pulling characteristics. Interior is comfortable, well thought out, controls are handy easy to use many of them are on the steering wheel. My favorite feature is the fuel efficiency of the 6.2 liter engine mated to the 6 speed transmission. At 20 mph I get 23 to 24 mpg. Slower speeds can up that to as good as 26 mpg. Could never ask for more in a vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT TRUCK

by Frederico from Davie, FL on Thu Mar 09 2017

Awesome truck. Very quiet for the size of the car. Amazing. The interior is very well detailed with leather and very spacious.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

My first lemon

by No More GMC from Molino, Fl on Thu Oct 17 2019

Shortly after I bought this truck new I started having issues with the truck slamming into gear and sometimes it would jerk when going at a slow speed. After my third trip to have it repaired they said tore the transmission apart and said that there is nothing wrong with it but they still installed a new transmission. This did not fix the problem. This whole time I had been talking with GMC about the issue and explained to them that this was legally a lemon and at this point them had to replace the truck. It fell on deaf ears. I then took it to another dealership and they said that there is absolutely something wrong with this truck. They could not determine the issue or how to fix it. I have owned 14 GMC vehicles and only once had a major issue but when I needed GMC just this one time they were not there for me.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this truck

by Blackledge from Wesley Chapel, FL on Mon Apr 24 2017

Just an amazing pickup truck. From the style to all the features this is one truck that delivers. The ride is unlike other pickups I have driven. The comfort and look of the interior outshines the competition.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best truck on the road

by cladd from blaine tn on Sat May 27 2017

excellent choice, towing is amazing. comfort is impeccable. powerful engine, leg room is plentiful, handles superb..

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

In love with my truck!

by WillAlvarado87 from HOUSTON on Fri Jul 06 2018

I absolutely love my 2017 GMC Sierra 1500, black on black it looks and feel amazing when I drive it. If you are thinking of getting a truck, I would definitely recommend a GMC Sierra.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My dream truck

by Treevor71 from Waite Park, mn on Thu May 17 2018

This truck is everything I’ve ever wanted in a truck. It rides and looks like a luxury vehicle and it tows my boat like it’s not even there. If I was forced to come up with one complaint, it would be that there isn’t any vents for the back seat.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great truck!

by Mike K from Appleton, WI on Tue Oct 23 2018

Great buy for the money! My compay has a fleet of vehicles, and I will definitely keep another GMC in mind when buying our next truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 16