NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Sierra 1500

Consumer Reviews

2017 GMC Sierra 1500

#6 Most Popular Truck
$23,453 - $45,481  MSRP Range
2017 GMC Sierra 1500

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

163 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 GMC Sierra 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 163 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Looks great and has a surprise under the hood

by RSJ from KOHLER, WI on Wed Nov 28 2018

It's a truck. But it's also so much more than that. The seats are comfortable, it has all of the latest electronic features, and it's pretty as can be, but the best part is the 6.2L Engine. Not for the faint of heart.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice truck in any aspect

by Fernando from West Valley City on Sun Dec 08 2019

The truck has a very good engine, plus the luxury package it has makes it shine against other trucks, it's perfect in every aspect, enough room inside, it has a good bedliner, the exterior is basically intact

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great truck!

by Mike K from Appleton, WI on Tue Oct 23 2018

Great buy for the money! My compay has a fleet of vehicles, and I will definitely keep another GMC in mind when buying our next truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Powerful truck fully capable, in style and comfort

by HomeInspector from New Orleans, LA on Sat Oct 05 2019

This truck has so many features, and is capable of handling most anything you throw at it. Very powerful, tons of features, and feels like a luxury vehicle on the inside. I moved across the country with a trailer in tow, and the truck never even hinted that it had to work hard. Perfect driving in the winter on snow in four wheel drive. I've gotten out of many stuck spots thanks to that. The elevation edition is stylish and attractive. Great truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Truck

by Bob from Marion, MA on Tue Mar 14 2017

This is truly a well designed truck. It has a very comfortable interior and ride. The cab is very quiet, so I can enjoy listening to music or my favorite podcast. It is not only a great commuting vehicle (I get 20 MPG with the Eco-Tec3 motor), but it is also a workhorse. I carry lots of construction materials in it and I have it outfitted with a plow.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

some problems from start

by notsomuch from albion new york on Sun Sep 10 2017

has ruff idle on cold start shakes truck strange shift performance from dead start every time after third gear great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I have been a GM owner for 40+ years

by TBird Z-28 from Shavertown Pa. on Thu Jun 01 2017

I like the features and mechanical aspect of the vehicle , 5.3 - 6 speed , as well as the exterior body lines . The interior quality and lay out also is something i like. I have only 600 miles on the vehicle but am pleased with it so far

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First truck - love it.

by MrFurious from Mississauga, Ontario on Tue Jan 16 2018

Currently own the AllTerrain, half cab, 5.3L V6. Tons of power, smooth handling and great tech. Lots of snow this winter and this truck powers through it - very stable. One more important thing, this truck is 1.5-2 inches lower than the F-150 or RAM, so it still fits in the underground parking at work, very important! Test drove the F-150 SLT. Hated the suicide doors and the console shifter got in my way. Highly recommend this truck if you can afford it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Great truck but transmission shudders, shakes, hes

by Bruce Bradley from Melbourne florida bought in Denver on Tue Aug 27 2019

Transmission slams in and out of gear, searches, hesitates and shutters. This from trucks 2015 to 2019. GM makes every excuse to warranty the transmission! Buy Toyota

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the new GMC

by GaryS from Aurora, CO on Sat Aug 26 2017

Love it! I used to have a 2016 Toyota Tundra and never got used to it. The GMC has a better ride, more technology, and is more comfortable. This is my first American car in a long time. Happy I made the move.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com