2018 Clarity Plug-In Hybrid

Consumer Reviews

2018 Honda Clarity Plug-In Hybrid

$16,627 - $24,339  MSRP Range
2018 Honda Clarity Plug-In Hybrid

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

105 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Honda Clarity Plug-In Hybrid?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

71 - 80 of 105 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

One Year Update...

by NJClarityOwner from Whitehouse Station on Sun May 19 2019

I think most of the things I wrote in my original review still stand. The car is comfortable and very quiet when in electric mode, however the gas engine/generator can be somewhat noisy, particularly in colder weather. The interior of the cabin is well done, however I wish Honda had included a lumbar support adjustment and some type of lane assist feature when passing on the left (there is a camera on the right side that shows a picture on the center screen). I have also found that my Honda dealer is not particularly well trained on the vehicle since so few have been sold. My biggest decision point when buying the car were the odd looks. As I have owned the car for a year, I have to say there are days that I feel that I'm driving a science experiment that went a little wrong. My practical/analytical side doesn't like this since it was such a great deal it I'm using almost no gas, but sometimes looks do matter I guess.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Technological advanced and Comfortable

by Geek from San Jose, CA on Tue Aug 21 2018

The car is technologically advanced and very comfortable to drive. Only thing to my dislike is the estimated mileage range displaced for hybrid gasoline engine (HV) is not based on the gasoline in the tank, rather it is based on your past average use of EV and HV combined. For instance, when I have only half full gas tank, which is only about 3.5 gallons, it shows a ridiculous mileage range such as 550 miles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Need a safety rating...

by tripgrip from Los Angeles, CA on Sat Feb 10 2018

This is a very comfortable vehicle from the seats to the smooth ride. The range on just the electric mode is a poor 47 miles but don't despair, the gasoline engine kicks in when it needs to whether to charge the depleted battery or to help the vehicle accelerate when only on electric. There is still no radio knob for which I'd like to see included. Overall it is a great car pending it gets good safety marks when they rate it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

BEST HYBRID 2018

by wildHybrid from Nyc on Wed May 23 2018

Test drove hybrids: Lexus/ chevy/ hyundai/ toyota Clarity has the biggest battery and the drive was very comfortable. Bought the touring model. Great suspension and lane departure signaling. Love the hatchback on volt , but not the distance as in clarity. Love the suspension and tightness of lexus, but seats dont fold down. However, hate the button pushing instead of the clutch. I work all day with a mouse and I got to do the same when I'm trying to have fun with my ride, really SUCKS! Also hate there is no wipers in the back. Just foggy mess in back.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great new low emission car

by TedV4 from Ojai, CA on Sat Dec 23 2017

Immediately liked car at LA Car Show. Found knowledgeable dealer in Ventura. Pasadena dealer was a zero in demonstrating the car. Car show had almost no knowledge of the car. Car impressed me enough that I persevered to find good dealer. Costco dealer also very good.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A beautiful plug-in hybrid mid-size car

by applebees from Apple Valley CA on Tue Jan 02 2018

This car meet all my requirements of a mid-size plug-in hybrid. It has a good size trunk space, attractive color (ruby red), luxury feel , mid-size comfort but at the same time the hybrid feature saves a lot of gas.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very good car

by MA ACCOUNTING from ANAHEIM CA on Wed Dec 20 2017

excellent car for my family and my work I use it every day and I charges only few hours I am so happy to have it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best Plug-in hybrid out there

by PS from Los Angeles on Sat Apr 13 2019

Agree with all the good reviews. A few comments: on the uphills/sllopes, the battery loses charge very fast and down hills a lot more electric only mileage than 47. I drive it >60 miles a day. When the gas engine kicks, gets noisy. Infotainment is not user friendly esp. with selecting what mode to use and navigate between apps. There is NO AUXILIARY input so you can not plug in any CD player into the car. This is a big deal for me as I want to be able to listen to some CDs that I can not transfer to other digital formats. The big hump in front of the driver's seat is very annoying and uncomfortable. This is probably due to the big size battery. Also the middle back row floor hump which makes the middle back row person uncomfortable. I wish the trunk was liftback instead of old school sedan. This way the space in the trunk would have been much more useful. Overall the best plug in car in the market now. Very quiet and soft on all electric mode. Drove >1700 miles on about 6 gallons and the rest was electric.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I over owned

by EastPearl from SAINT LOUIS on Thu Aug 02 2018

High miles per gas when it runs only on gas, plug in saves a lot of gas money, extremely quiet, acceleration like a 6 cylinder car, a lot of new technologies to make driving safe

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very stylish for a hybrid

by Emery26 from Lafayette, la on Sat May 26 2018

So far it seems nice. Had for only a short time. Rides well on highway. Makes no sound. Can plug right into house. Fancy interior.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11