Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2018 Compass

Consumer Reviews

2018 Jeep Compass

$21,095 - $29,195  MSRP Range
2018 Jeep Compass

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

289 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Jeep Compass?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 289 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by upsmanchris from MN on Fri Dec 29 2017

We bought this Jeep a few days ago. We got the ski gray and black leather seats and they look and feel great. It snowed today and my wife had 0 issues getting through it with the 4 wheel drive. We traded in a 2014 Cherokee and my wife while she really liked the Cherokee loves the Compass and is glad we bought it. Everyone that has seen it loves the way it looks and the stylish interior. Also people are saying the engine and transmission are sluggish. We find it to be very smooth and for a 4 cylinder engine it actually picks up speed very well and is not sluggish at all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

34 out of 34 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fiery xxxxx

by Fiery xxxxx from Montello, WI on Fri Jun 29 2018

Love the body style & the color! I'm a widow now & I've always wanted a red Jeep & finally, at 70, I got one! My husband needed a van for his business but I don't need a big van anymore. I love the Jeep Compass! It's fun to drive, looks great & gets great gas milage(28-32 mpg). It's just right for me!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fast and sporty

by Rogue Jeep from Seward, Ak on Thu Jan 11 2018

This car is great, fast and sleek. Its winter in Alaska so I use the snow mode all the time. Super steady on the road and feels great. Looks great, like the Grand Cherokee at half the cost, although the Cherokee is getting a makeover for 2019 too. Pros: Great driver, heated steering wheel and seats are a plus, and I love that they turn on automatically with the autostart (when its cold). Four doors, good headroom in the back even for a tall person. Storage in the rear fits two full side suitcases side by side. Electronic steering is very smooth and easy. Some poeple might mention the engine being weak and it is anything but. I have the 2.4, and it has plenty of power. I dont know why someone needs to jump from 60 to 70 like a spring, but this can do that too. Its a smart transmission, very smooth and quiet. As much power as you will ever need, and then some. Cons: Cant get the seat into the perfect comfort spot. Doesnt have lumbar and it feels like it was just made for a smaller person. I'm 6'7" so I didnt expect much. The headrest hits me in the back weird sometimes. The center armrest is also very firm. On a long drive, my elbow gets pretty sore. With the front seats moved back a lil, not much legroom in the back, even if there is headroom. Overall, great car at a great price. The Cherokee is maybe a little bigger for the same price, but I m not a fan of the current front end, next years model will be nice though. This is a mix of the great look, a great engine, and a new, sporty, all wheel drive, winter daily driver.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So much fun to drive.

by Jeep Peep from Farmington MN on Fri Aug 03 2018

On our first trip we averaged 30+ miles to the gallon. The only reason I gave it one less star on the comfort is my last car was an Escalade. Hard to compare. I really love driving this car and am looking forward to see what she will do in the winter.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very nice car in the price range

by Willd1123 on Sun Jul 22 2018

This vehicle has space for our family to grow while also remaining stylish. My future wife doesn?t have to worrying about getting stuck in the snow either with the 4wd. The car also picks up faster than expected. Completely satisfied

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this vehicle but have once concern

by Nay518 from Bronx, New York on Fri Aug 10 2018

This car is awesome and I get so many compliments. My only negative is that after 15 min the car is warmed up from a drive the idling is really loud. Its sounds like a loud fan or rngine mot sure. This is a 2018 it should not be doing this.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I?ve owned.

by m_fairfield5 from Fisher, IL on Wed Mar 07 2018

This car is excellent. Everything about this car is great. It gets good gas mileage, the technology it wonderful, and there?s plenty of room with it being a smaller SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice midsize SUV

by Kat.waddell2018 from Simpsonville SC on Mon Jul 30 2018

I like the vehicle overall so far . There are two things that Jeep could improve on better gas mileage when the AC is one. Because it eats gas for breakfast and also the start and stop feature to conserve gas really makes it use more gas. It is nice for a small family to have room to maneuvering in the vehicle especially with small or middle size kids.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best driving vechicle ive owned

by Johnny miller from Twinlake michigan on Mon Oct 15 2018

Vechicle meets my needs and expectations. And is a very comfortable ride.and has plenty of storage space .was very satisfied with the over all performance

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First new car since 2001

by Iamthewalrus653 from Bay City, Mi on Thu Nov 01 2018

I'm thoroughly impressed with the overall package. Looks great, very comfortable. Very good fuel economy for a 4x4 SUV. Wish it had a little stronger acceleration, but it's not bad. I love the six speed manual.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 29