2018 Compass

Consumer Reviews

2018 Jeep Compass

$21,095 - $29,195  MSRP Range
2018 Jeep Compass

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

227 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Jeep Compass?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 227 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by Jeepluvr from Denver on Thu Mar 15 2018

I moved from Florida to Denver Colorado. I had a FWD car that I put snow tires on and it didn't OK until a blizzard. I knew from that point on I wanted a 4 wheel drive but I couldn't find one I liked. Then I saw the Jeep compass. Colorado is known Jeep country because they do so well in the snow. I test drove it and bought it the same day. I have a limited and this thing is loaded. It has not disappointed in the snow and I only have all seasonal tires. This is not slow but it will not win any races but it is not a race horse but a work horse. I couldn't be happier with my purchase.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

81 out of 81 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very solid vehicle

by FrankT from Mineola NY on Sat Apr 07 2018

I am a safe driver so the reports that the Compass is slow means nothing to me. It’s a 4 cylinder vehicle if you want to go fast get the Grand Cherokee SRT. So far I am very happy with my Compass. I am a long time Jeep owner(my wife has a 15’ Grand Cherokee altitude). I currently have 1,500 miles and everything performs great. Tested this Compass in the snow and it was great. I have the Limited which is fully equipped. The uconnect is great and I love using Apple Car play. Bottom line the 2018 Compass is a great 4*4 smaller SUV. If you are looking to go 0-60 in 3 seconds this vehicle is not for you but if you want an all around good vehicle look into the Compass.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by upsmanchris from MN on Fri Dec 29 2017

We bought this Jeep a few days ago. We got the ski gray and black leather seats and they look and feel great. It snowed today and my wife had 0 issues getting through it with the 4 wheel drive. We traded in a 2014 Cherokee and my wife while she really liked the Cherokee loves the Compass and is glad we bought it. Everyone that has seen it loves the way it looks and the stylish interior. Also people are saying the engine and transmission are sluggish. We find it to be very smooth and for a 4 cylinder engine it actually picks up speed very well and is not sluggish at all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

traded in 98 wrangler with 200k miles for compass

by criello70 from florida on Wed Aug 15 2018

i had this reliable old lifted tj wrangler and i was at the jeep dealer just kinda checking things out. i wasnt really in the market they have a bunch of cool vehicles, but the compass caught my eye. i likedcrossovers, but often they are kind of "girly". the compass was masculine and yet elegant i took it for a drive. OMG was it comfortable. i know some people say its not so fast, but i have zero problem getting off the line in normal florida hectic driving. i chose the 2wd (i had no intention of taking this classy little thing to a mudhole... thats what beater old jeeps are for, due to guaranteed breakage of something if you are having any kind of fun let me point out.... that old tj wrangler had nearly a quarter million miles on it... no one will ever convince me that jeep/chrysler cant make a bullet proof vehicle (all cars need maintenence and things break over time... but still... thats a tough little vehicle) as for the compass? well... i was sold. its comfortable, classy, and handles city driving like a champ. (the start/stop engine technology in new cars has pros and cons and i have mixed feelings, but thats the future, like it or not) so far, i have had zero problems with this compass. i ended up with a silver latitude and got out the door under for 19k brand new '18 if you are looking for a bad xxx little crossover that doesnt feel like a teenage girl-mobile, i definitely encourage you to take a test drive and make your own decisions....

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fiery xxxxx

by Fiery xxxxx from Montello, WI on Fri Jun 29 2018

Love the body style & the color! I'm a widow now & I've always wanted a red Jeep & finally, at 70, I got one! My husband needed a van for his business but I don't need a big van anymore. I love the Jeep Compass! It's fun to drive, looks great & gets great gas milage(28-32 mpg). It's just right for me!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1st brand new car

by SaraS from Melrose Park IL on Tue Jul 24 2018

My first new car love it! I need a Comfortable car because I drive most of the day and the 4 cylinders saves money on gas. Love the volume and radio changing buttons in back of the steering wheel. Nice size and the back up camera makes it easy to park in the city. I hate driving in the winter but with remote start, heated steering wheel and seats can?t wait. All this and much more for a Great price. Love my new Jeep Compass.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fast and sporty

by Rogue Jeep from Seward, Ak on Thu Jan 11 2018

This car is great, fast and sleek. Its winter in Alaska so I use the snow mode all the time. Super steady on the road and feels great. Looks great, like the Grand Cherokee at half the cost, although the Cherokee is getting a makeover for 2019 too. Pros: Great driver, heated steering wheel and seats are a plus, and I love that they turn on automatically with the autostart (when its cold). Four doors, good headroom in the back even for a tall person. Storage in the rear fits two full side suitcases side by side. Electronic steering is very smooth and easy. Some poeple might mention the engine being weak and it is anything but. I have the 2.4, and it has plenty of power. I dont know why someone needs to jump from 60 to 70 like a spring, but this can do that too. Its a smart transmission, very smooth and quiet. As much power as you will ever need, and then some. Cons: Cant get the seat into the perfect comfort spot. Doesnt have lumbar and it feels like it was just made for a smaller person. I'm 6'7" so I didnt expect much. The headrest hits me in the back weird sometimes. The center armrest is also very firm. On a long drive, my elbow gets pretty sore. With the front seats moved back a lil, not much legroom in the back, even if there is headroom. Overall, great car at a great price. The Cherokee is maybe a little bigger for the same price, but I m not a fan of the current front end, next years model will be nice though. This is a mix of the great look, a great engine, and a new, sporty, all wheel drive, winter daily driver.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best purchase I've ever made

by Gusbus314 from San Angelo on Sun Aug 05 2018

It's smooth handling, great driving, sound system is amazing. Great price for vehicle. Never had a better car in my life. Gas mileage is great as well!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So much fun to drive.

by Jeep Peep from Farmington MN on Fri Aug 03 2018

On our first trip we averaged 30+ miles to the gallon. The only reason I gave it one less star on the comfort is my last car was an Escalade. Hard to compare. I really love driving this car and am looking forward to see what she will do in the winter.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very nice car in the price range

by Willd1123 on Sun Jul 22 2018

This vehicle has space for our family to grow while also remaining stylish. My future wife doesn?t have to worrying about getting stuck in the snow either with the 4wd. The car also picks up faster than expected. Completely satisfied

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 23