2009 GT-R

Consumer Reviews

2009 Nissan GT-R

$16,732 - $108,248  MSRP Range
2009 Nissan GT-R

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

41 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2009 Nissan GT-R?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 41 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Decide for Yourself!

by Family Guy from Wisconsin on Sat Sep 25 2010

I have owned a 2009 Premium GT-R for two years now. Excellent car in so many ways. The real problem with the GT-R is that there was SOOOO much hype around the car that EVERYONE has an opinion on it! Most of those opinions coming from people who NEVER OWNED the car! Simply put, it is the best car for the money. Period. It is not fragile. I have spent $320 in maintenance over the past two years. It is comfortable as a daily driver. My kids fit in the back in car seats! If you're thinking about a GT-R, do it. The car has kept a great re-sale value!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Supernaturally FAST.

by Godzilla from Houston, TX on Mon Jan 02 2012

I am no stranger to quick and fast. Replaced car was a '08 Corvette Z06, supercharged to 710hp at the wheels. Prior to that, 1000hp '04 Pontiac GTO turbocharged. For the life of me, I cannot explain how this 490hp 3900lbs car is this darn fast! AWD and a lightspeed tranny i guess. Also, what an amazing cockpit! - imagine a luxury fighter jet. For 17 years I have driven a series of GM, rear wheel drive, V8, manual tranny cars (8 in all), all performance modified. This Japanese twin turbo V6, AWD, Auto is a completely different religion. One drive and I was converted. Whatever you've read? Its not hype. Godzilla is real!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nissan GT-R

by RayTexRR from Philadelphia, PA on Sun Jan 23 2011

I had looked at every sports car on the market. I currently drive an Audi A6 4.2 quattro for work, but wanted something even faster for fun. I looked at the M3, M5, Corvette Z06, ZR1, and Mercedes cars. For what I paid, I can definitely say that I am more than pleased with buying the Nissan GT-R. It is faster, handles better, has many more gadgets, and is very easy to modify for any more speed at a relatively low cost. If you are looking for a sports car in the $75k to $100k range.. You can't beat it.. Plus, very few people have them or have every seen them. This makes it even more fun to have people always asking you "what is that car, I have never seen one before".. You will not get that with a BMW, Mercedes, Audi ... and definitely not with a vette.. O

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Technical Masterpiece

by L from California on Thu Jun 16 2011

This car is fantastic. It handles like nothing else, the four wheel drive system provides SO mcuh grip, and also comes in handy in snow. The car looks menacing and is very head turning and it holds together very well. The straight line speed is phenomenal; it'll blow away Porsches, Lamborghinis and Ferraris with ease. What's more, it costs about half as much as its Italian equivalents. And for that, you get a faster car that handles better, seats four, has a large trunk and comes with loads of clever gadgets. This car is great value for money, and if Ferrari, for example, made a car with this much versatility and equipment, you'd probably be spending in excess of $300k.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best bang for the buck

by GTR Done from Tampa, FL on Fri May 06 2011

While I've owned mostly muscle cars ranging from old school chevelle's with big blocks to the new Camaro and Challenger (both of which I installed magna superchargers) I have to say that this car is bar far the quickest. What's more, if you drop another 3-5 grand in it and upgrade the downpipe, mid pipe and go with a cobb tune then you'll lay down roughly 560hp to all four wheels! You'll then have a GTR capable of 2.8 0-60mph. Can you say Buggatti Veyron? That's alot of bang for the buck. This car is unique, rare, and fast. I've had plenty of people take pictures of the car yet seldom know what it exactly it is. The ask.."is that the new Altima?" Uh...no. The ride is bumpy, really hugs the road. Then again if you want fast AND comfort then go with the supercharged CTS-V. If you want pure unadulterated adrenaline rush, with equally matched performance then definitley place your money on the Nissan GT-R. You will not be dissapointed!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fast and Reliable

by dr car from Charlotte, NC on Fri Jun 08 2012

I bought a new 2009 in late 2010. What an amazing car! Have have owned Porsche 911's and Corvettes. This tops them all. Great performance. Reliable. It's my daily driver to work. I also take it to the local auto-cross. I've got kids, so the back seat is perfect (small but larger than any other competitor). After 19 months of ownership, I still get a smile and rush of adrenaline when i push on the accelerator! The limits of the car are amazing. Another great thing is that you never see these GTR's. Most people don't even know what it is. I will only get rid of this car if I'm getting another GTR. No other car comes close to the reliability, performance, and price.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Holy S##T!!

by Ranger from Oro Valley, AZ on Mon Aug 31 2009

The performance of this car is incredible. I've had Avantis, Corvettes, an NSX, Prowler, and many other cars, but nothing compares. Absolutely no problems, everything works. Wherever I go, people stop me to take pictures. The brakes make a little noise due to their design, the interior could be roomier, and I'd really like to see some Nismo body enhancements for more individuality (Don't like what I've seen so far from after-market vendors). It is the best car I've owned.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car Ever

by Street Racer from Middleton Idaho on Thu Jan 24 2008

When u drive this car its like floating on the road it just glides, its extremily fast and can handle any corner at fast speeds, this is the ultimate driving mashine.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Supercar performance at a fraction of the price

by stikya from kansas city on Fri Aug 07 2009

The ledgend is real and the numbers don't lie! This car outperforms in every aspect (0-60, 1/4 mile, skidpad, braking, top speed, etc...) almost every production sports car available to the US, even vastly more expensive ones. The car handles like a dream - 100mph in the rain is no problem. Going through an S-curve at 80, no problem. Power is available at any speed, and any RPM. My driving skills and/or the road gives out before the car does. This much fun should be illegal!

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fast comfort

by bfraz from Coastal NC on Sun Feb 01 2009

The car is a blast to drive in race mode, but still able to putter around town in auto mode, listening to cds, talking on phone via bluetooth, or vegging out after a hard day's work. No way you can explore this car's potential unless you're on the track, or you're just plain stupid and drive it fast on public hways! Have had Porsche's, Ferraris, several Z06's vettes, and BMW's - this is the best car all-around! Would recommend it highly!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2009 Nissan GT-R

The Nissan GT-R didn't knock me out. There, I said it. Send the Gearhead Police; I'll go quietly.

Possibly the most anxiously anticipated import in history, the GT-R has been sold overseas for decades under the name Skyline, and though it won't hit American dealerships until July, it has appeared for review by people of my ilk. Almost without exception, this car is meeting or exceeding expectations. To be clear, I found the GT-R outrageously competent on the racetrack and comfortable beyond expectation on the road. It's the day-to-day stuff — driving around town and country — that put me in something of a torpor.

Of course, I also track-tested the GT-R — on Reno-Fernley Raceway —... Read More