2017 Maxima

Consumer Reviews

2017 Nissan Maxima

#8 Most Popular Sedan
$16,236 - $26,036  MSRP Range
2017 Nissan Maxima

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

182 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Nissan Maxima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

101 - 110 of 182 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

A cool powerful ride

by Shariq Adhami from Dublin OH on Thu Oct 12 2017

Powerful engine with blend of sport and family ride. Maxima offers luxury with sport feature. Everybody at home absolutely loves it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car!!

by dcruz20 from Chicago Il on Wed Mar 22 2017

very smooth ride, great handling, very economical, very stylish, very comfortable. Happy customer here!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New Car

by KC from Conyers, GA on Mon Aug 28 2017

Reliable and stylish. Definitely will recommend it to others. It is also economical and efficient on gas usage

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love love love it!!!

by Cool soccer mom from Islip Terrace, NY on Mon May 15 2017

Before my 2017 Maxima, I had a 2015 Altima which I loved as well. When I was beginning to look for my next car (the Altima was a lease) I looked at the 2017 Maxima. I instantly fell in love with this car! It's so stylish both in and out. The exterior is amazing with all of the body lines and I love the front grille! The cabin is very comfortable and I like the raised center console which makes you feel like you're in your own space but it's not too restricting. I love how the Maxima comes standard with navi and remote start. The infotainment center has so many cool features on it..gas pricing, weather information including radar and traffic info. Even though I really liked the cloth interior of the S, I opted for the SV and I love the leather interior. The get up and go on it is pretty good..I'm still in the break in period so I haven't gone over 4000 rpm as they suggest but for me it still gets up and goes very well. I'm a soccer mom so I'm always running from here to there lugging the kids around so I need a car to get from one place to another quickly and it definitely doesn't disappoint!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very nice ride.

by Tina M. grandmother from Yadkinville on Thu Sep 14 2017

I was looking for a smaller vehicle. The ride was excellent. Had lots of features. It was white which I like but had some black trim along with black side view mirrors. Didn't like that.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nicest Car I ever bought new

by Fatgoalieguy from Lithia, florida on Mon Nov 20 2017

Fast, comfortable and reliable. My wife and family really enjoy the ride and comfort of this vehicle

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A great adult sports sedan

by Art Maxima Man from Lemont, Il on Fri Jul 21 2017

This vehicle feels like one of the high end cars from various manufacturers (Infinit, Lexus, etc). It has all the bells and whistles and is a real pleasure to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful, sophisticated, powerful and comfortable

by Sofia from Pembroke Pines, FL on Mon Mar 27 2017

I love my new Nissan Maxima it is absolutely beautiful! My salesperson Margarita Correa at Weston Nissan was wonderful to work with :) I highly recommend this car for all needs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nissans'aret the best.

by jasonne1 from baltimore, Md on Sun Jan 21 2018

The body style is awesome. I love the color. This car reminds me of batman's car. The color is pearl blue the car shines like a brand new penny. I get compliments on this car every where I go.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great four door sports car

by Big duke from Plainview, ny on Fri Aug 11 2017

Well equipped for the price great looking car Plenty of room for five people great tectnology plenty Of horsepower

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Nissan Maxima

The verdict:


The redesigned 2016 Nissan Maxima is a powerful, good-handling sedan that stays true to the nameplate's performance-oriented heritage and features an upscale interior that befits its price.


"Maxima" is Nissan's longest continually-in-use nameplate, and the eighth-generation car is a boldly styled sedan that draws heavily from the Nissan Sport Sedan Concept.

Versus the competition:


Ever since the Nissan Altima grew into a midsize family sedan in the early 2000s, the Maxima hasn't fit neatly into a segment. Nissan says the 2016 Maxima is designed to compete with larger, traditional full-size sedans like the Chevrolet Impala and Toyota Avalon, as well as appeal to buyers looking to move up to a luxury car, like the Acura TLX. To see these cars' specs compared with the Maxima's, click here.

Editor’s note: This review was written in June 2015 about the 2016 Nissan Maxima, but little of substance has changed with this year’s model. To see what’s new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years here. 

The 2016 Maxima is offered in five trim levels — S, SV, SL, SR and Platinum — that determine the level of equipment; accessories are available, but there are no option packages. We drove an SL, which is priced at $37,715, and the $38,495 SR. That one is the most performance-focused model, with unique suspension bushings, springs, shocks, front stabilizer bar and chassis bracing, in addition to 19-inch alloy wheels with stickier Goodyear... Read More