2017 Maxima

Consumer Reviews

2017 Nissan Maxima

#8 Most Popular Sedan
$15,383 - $25,263  MSRP Range
2017 Nissan Maxima

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

183 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Nissan Maxima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

111 - 120 of 183 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Vehicle

by Honey Bee from Decatur, Ga on Thu Feb 22 2018

Feels like your driving on air. Car handles great with amazing power. Back up cam and sonar are def perks. This car is sexy, sporty, and a great value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great for small family!

by RobertoM from Lakeland, Florida on Tue Apr 24 2018

Awesome seats, very user friendly touchscreen interface, best performance in a full size sedan in a very long time. Also, the exterior look is perfect sporty and not too "grandma looking". Overall a definite win for this model highly recommended.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just sitting inside makes you go wow

by Loupe hole from Berwyn,il on Sat Oct 14 2017

This is the second Nissan I've owned and wow they just get better and better. They are so nice to drive and the colors just seem right

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Could be better

by Tre on Tue Apr 17 2018

I've always wanted a Nissan Maxima and now that I have one, it's one issue after another. The car overall is great but the small issues I'm having are starting to frustrate me!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car i ever owned

by donna213 from phila,pa on Fri Jul 28 2017

ITS A SMOOTH RIDE, LOTS OF LEG ROOM, LEATHER SEATS. ALL AROUND TOP OF THE LINE CAR. JUST WHAT I WANTED.,

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best sport cruser car

by Sports car dreamer from Laredo Texas on Sat Jul 15 2017

This car is complete.....the car has great torque when you need to move quickly for example arriving at an intersection I drove the car :to Autin Texas and it runs very smooth. I recommend this vehicle to all the people that are looking for a car combined of luxrery. And sporty package this is it. And the people at nissan all sales team and the general manager makes your buying experiance..one of a kind.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Third New Nissan Maxima (04,08,17.5)

by bsmall2800 from Elk Grove, CA on Fri Nov 10 2017

This 2017 model is a great car. I'm very happy with my choice once again. I think Nissan has hit a home run with this 2017 Maxima. I gave it a 4 in Exterior because I thought by now Nissan should have been outfitting the Maxima with LED taillights, brake lights and turn signals. So I was a little disappointed but it wasn't a deal breaker. Comfort level is 5 stars for the front driver and front passenger, plenty of leg room and the dash is built around the driver. Leg room for the backseat passengers is a little less than previous years, but that's also not a deal breaker. At this stage of my life there's just two of us about 95% of the time so the most important seating is the driver and front passenger. :-)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great four door sports car

by Big duke from Plainview, ny on Fri Aug 11 2017

Well equipped for the price great looking car Plenty of room for five people great tectnology plenty Of horsepower

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What More Could One Ask For!!

by Happy Riding on Sat Nov 18 2017

Nissan has truly outdone themselves. Style, luxury and the feel of a sports car all in one. It embodies the qualities of stylish and fast-paced corporate America. I love my new car and I feel like I'm wrapped in luxury and am safe while looking good. It feels like I'm riding on air even at the shortest distances! What More can I say.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nissan Maxima 2017

by Anabella Aguilar from Vislaia ca on Tue Dec 19 2017

I love my new Car.. we already took it to Disneyland with no problem my kids love it as well. Is my first time buying a new car and I’m so thankful for Selma Nissan for all there help and good customer services. Roberto Perez did amazing as well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Nissan Maxima

The verdict:


The redesigned 2016 Nissan Maxima is a powerful, good-handling sedan that stays true to the nameplate's performance-oriented heritage and features an upscale interior that befits its price.


"Maxima" is Nissan's longest continually-in-use nameplate, and the eighth-generation car is a boldly styled sedan that draws heavily from the Nissan Sport Sedan Concept.

Versus the competition:


Ever since the Nissan Altima grew into a midsize family sedan in the early 2000s, the Maxima hasn't fit neatly into a segment. Nissan says the 2016 Maxima is designed to compete with larger, traditional full-size sedans like the Chevrolet Impala and Toyota Avalon, as well as appeal to buyers looking to move up to a luxury car, like the Acura TLX. To see these cars' specs compared with the Maxima's, click here.

Editor’s note: This review was written in June 2015 about the 2016 Nissan Maxima, but little of substance has changed with this year’s model. To see what’s new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years here. 

The 2016 Maxima is offered in five trim levels — S, SV, SL, SR and Platinum — that determine the level of equipment; accessories are available, but there are no option packages. We drove an SL, which is priced at $37,715, and the $38,495 SR. That one is the most performance-focused model, with unique suspension bushings, springs, shocks, front stabilizer bar and chassis bracing, in addition to 19-inch alloy wheels with stickier Goodyear... Read More