2017 Maxima

Consumer Reviews

2017 Nissan Maxima

$16,624 - $26,228  MSRP Range
2017 Nissan Maxima

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

182 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Nissan Maxima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

31 - 40 of 182 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Not as good as the 2014 Maxima

by Cadillac from Bronx, NY on Wed Jun 27 2018

Nice ride but it felt a lot like the 2014 Maxima, not any smoother , about the same. Expected it to have a better feel. And as far as turning corners, it needs more work as I could hear and feel the wind coming inside the car. Overall, car is a little above average.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

VERY ROUGH RIDE

by will from Phila, Pa on Wed May 30 2018

I have a 2017 platinum model. Very poor ride. Feel every crack and bump in the road. Also road noise and squeaking. I have owned 3 other Maximas which were good cars. I do not consider this a quality built vehicle.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

An Amazing Car

by Chris from Memphis TN on Sat Apr 29 2017

I recently upgraded from my 2005 Nissan Altima 3.5SE to the 2017 Nissan Maxima SL and I can't tell you how much I love this car. I've done a lot of research before I bought it and I fell in love with the whole car from inside and out. It drives awesome great acceleration I love the safety features 5/5 gov. rating you can't beat that! It's absolutely a gorgeous car it looks as good on the outside as it does in. Also for a sports sedan it has good fuel economy 22 city 30 hwy. I'm definitely in love with this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun great car to drive

by pitufo from melbourne, fl on Wed Apr 10 2019

Rides great, comfortable ride. Love the design. Everything about this car is awesome. I am 6'5 and its incredibly comfortable for me. Great for long drives. Smoot drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this car!

by Brandy from guyton ga on Mon Mar 27 2017

Nissan did an amazing job with this car! It's gorgeous, sporty, comfortable, entertaining, fast, and fun!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Truly the Four Door Sports Car

by Dana from Phoenix on Thu Oct 29 2020

Having one of the best engines in the World! Pretty hard not to appreciate the refinement of the Maxima! Would highly recommend! One tour behind the wheel and I suspect you will understand

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Out with the old and in with the new!

by Robert/Sherry from Sarasota on Fri Apr 21 2017

I drove this car on vacation and I had to make this our everyday car. The leather is amazing. The wheel package is awesome.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Lipstick on a pig

by afalcon from Morgantown, WV on Wed May 15 2019

This car appearance-wise, is absolutely wonderful. It looks good, sporty, and sleek. It comes with all the options you could possibly want....when they work. The reliability and handling however is in the dump. The car wants to lift and hydroplane at the slightest amount of water on the road (even with brand new tires), the airbags deploy when you are at a complete stop, and the electronics have malfunctions that Nissan will not own up to. Nissan owners loyalty is a joke and wants to ignore any and all problems a consumer might have, trying to pass the buck between dealerships/corporate/insurance, with no real help at all. Definitely NOT worth the price or headache of owning!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

I expected better

by Harris from Westworth Village on Sun Apr 22 2018

The car was beautiful, but drove like crap. I normally don't get used cars, but wanted to give it a chance. I test drove 2 and they both had the same problem. A shaking steering wheel...NO BEUNO!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2017 SV

by DD from MEMPHIS,TN on Tue Feb 12 2019

CAR DRIVE ROUGH AND HARSH NOT AS SMOOTH AS I THOUGHT TO HEAVY FOR A FEMALE .. LOVE THE LOOK OF THE CAR INSIDE AND OUT

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Nissan Maxima

The verdict:


The redesigned 2016 Nissan Maxima is a powerful, good-handling sedan that stays true to the nameplate's performance-oriented heritage and features an upscale interior that befits its price.


"Maxima" is Nissan's longest continually-in-use nameplate, and the eighth-generation car is a boldly styled sedan that draws heavily from the Nissan Sport Sedan Concept.

Versus the competition:


Ever since the Nissan Altima grew into a midsize family sedan in the early 2000s, the Maxima hasn't fit neatly into a segment. Nissan says the 2016 Maxima is designed to compete with larger, traditional full-size sedans like the Chevrolet Impala and Toyota Avalon, as well as appeal to buyers looking to move up to a luxury car, like the Acura TLX. To see these cars' specs compared with the Maxima's, click here.

Editor’s note: This review was written in June 2015 about the 2016 Nissan Maxima, but little of substance has changed with this year’s model. To see what’s new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years here. 

The 2016 Maxima is offered in five trim levels — S, SV, SL, SR and Platinum — that determine the level of equipment; accessories are available, but there are no option packages. We drove an SL, which is priced at $37,715, and the $38,495 SR. That one is the most performance-focused model, with unique suspension bushings, springs, shocks, front stabilizer bar and chassis bracing, in addition to 19-inch alloy wheels with stickier Goodyear... Read More