2016 Outback

Consumer Reviews

2016 Subaru Outback

$12,566 - $23,726  MSRP Range
2016 Subaru Outback

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

167 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Subaru Outback?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

101 - 110 of 167 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

2016 Subaru Outback - One Year Later

by 67Stang from Massachusetts on Mon Apr 17 2017

Things I liked’ 1. 6 cylinder power (glad we picked this option) 2. AWD especially in the snow 3. Crash Avoidance System 4. Blind Spot Detector 5. Back up Camera 6. Easy entry & exit from front seats 7. Power Driver Seat with 2 memory settings 8. Available space when back seats are down Things I didn’t like.. 1. Hard transition from our older luxury cars to rough ride of Outback 2. Significantly reduced headroom with Moon Roof (required in Crash Avoidance & BSD system option) 3. Passenger side lacks height adjustment feature 4. Unable to clear rain from driver and passenger side windows (does not clear when lowered and raised) 5. Lack of critical thinking by some Subaru factory trained mechanics (Long story on the BSD) 6. Inconvenient location of USB, Audio, and electrical ports 7. Inconvenient location of option switches (BSD, Rear Gate, etc) 8. No automatic door lock feature during drive away 9. Many switches are not lit for night driving 10. Lack of hidden storage space (beneath spare tire & rear side panels)

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding Auto

by Larryf from Sterling, VA on Tue Mar 28 2017

This is my third Subaru Outback and the Best One to date. They all have been great cars. The latest one is tops. Runs great and when it goods in for service, it is done right the first time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2017 low milage Subaru outback.

by Happylady from Syracuse, NY on Mon Feb 20 2017

It has all the safety features, plus navigation, Bluetooth, backup camera. It is great, dark grey with leather interior.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love every Outback I have owned!

by Susan, CB, CO from Crested Butte, CO on Wed Aug 09 2017

This is my third Outback. Have loved them all and progressively more so as style, comfort and technology improve over time. I live at 9000 ft, lots of snow and cold temps. They have never failed me!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Safe & Reliable car

by Great fully loaded Subaru ! from PORTLAND, OR on Fri Jul 13 2018

2016 Subaru Outback 3.6R - Fully Loaded with lots of extras - 13,000 miles with DVD (2-screens), tow-hitch and Extended manufacturer's warranty. Excellent handling, great for outdoors

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A "Colorado Cadillac" in Phoenix

by Commuting Caregiver from Phoenix, Arizona on Fri Apr 13 2018

For a rough terrain vehicle, it drives surprisingly well in the city while providing comfort and some features of a luxury sedan. I frequently drive up the mountains toward Flagstaff, and this little dynamo has the 'get up and go' to climb to higher places. Great in the Valley of the Sun and great in the snowy mountains! As someone of shorter stature, I find it much easier to get in and out of than the full size SUV. When care-giving my 91 year old mother with spinal stenosis, I have found that she is able to get in and out easily....YAY! Though it was a financial burden to purchase a vehicle, it was a necessity as my 1997 Subaru Outback with 177k miles decided to retire before I did! No regrets making this purchase after spending 6 weeks test driving everything from a sedan to larger size SUVs.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nicest vehicle I 've owned to date.

by Mrs. Right from Medina, N.Y. on Wed Jan 17 2018

This SUV had all the features I wanted and the AWD takes much of the stress out of winter driving and the12 speaker karmon sound system is great.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best family vehicles out there

by ZuMoney from NY on Sun Jul 02 2017

What makes it great for family is its height (easy to get in and out), interior spaces and trunk space. The car is very stable and owns one of the best AWD systems out there.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Michelle from Gurnee, IL on Sun Jun 17 2018

I’ve been very happy with my Subaru Oatback. It’s dependable, comfortable, and quiet. Would love a bit more space between seats for ’stuff’, but that’s about it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LIKE NEW

by jaybob from Austin, TX on Thu May 03 2018

This car has everything. Low Mileage. Very clean. excellent safety features. I hate to sell it but have too many cars. Well maintained 2 owner car. Have title report.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com