2017 Outback

Consumer Reviews
2017 Subaru Outback

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

288 Reviews
2017 Subaru Outback
4.8 out of 5 starsComfort
4.7 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.7 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.7 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.7 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.9 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 288 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Value is a 10 out of 5 - Outback 3.6R

by NewToSubaru from Chicago, IL on December 5, 2016

Just bought the 3.6R. It's not the fastest car on the road, but definitely gets the job done with some horsepower to spare. Eyesight is a great feature, but I wish I could better refine how far behind a car we travel with it (the "bars" distance isn't granular enough for traffic). Tons of room, comfortable seats, has done superbly in the snow so far, and has a ton of handy features that Subaru does so well. I'm happy we chose this over the Grand Cherokees and 4Runners we were also considering. This car is an awesome bang for the buck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

50 out of 50 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The subaru outback a great car

by Chris c from P.A on August 12, 2016

The 2017 subaru outback a great car it's great on gas safety features are awesome this is very roomy and comfortable to drive . This is a nice vehicle if your looking for a nice safe and comfortable car .it's worth the price . I would definitely recommend the outback I'm glad I own one .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

44 out of 44 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VERY IMPRESSED!!

by MarksmanJO from on March 7, 2017

So far, soooo goood !!! I had to order this vehicle as dealers do not stock them. It is the touring edition of the outback. For the styling, amenities, and towing capability, you cannot beat it. I would have paid much more for a comparable vehicle in a different make. I've have been an auto physical damage specialist for 30 years and I am extremely impressed by the luxury and overall durability this car offers. I am very pleased with my purchase. The gas mileage has be averaging about 30 mpg which is awesome for its size. I have owned very many new vehicles over the years, but this Outback has impressed me the most!! GO SUBARU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this Car, the only car anyone should own

by Drea01 from Minden on March 6, 2017

I love all the new features. Comfort, nice driving, easy to handle. Only thing I miss is not being able to upload the flash drive with my music and have it stay there, otherwise this car is all I expected and more. The cruise control is wonderful, love that it automatically cuts down when traffic is to close, then goes back to your set level when traffic in front moves away. Love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Touring 3.6 Unbelievable

by SisQLady from Bonanza, OR on March 18, 2017

I cannot believe how different this car is compared to my prior Subaru Outback with the 2.5 motor. This car has power as well as all the bells and whistles. I have only had it a week and don't want to get out of it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect Car

by KD from El Dorado Hills, CA on March 11, 2017

I love my Outback. It's so comfortable, the Limited model has everything on it that you could even want. It isn't just a functional car, I got the black Outback, and it is beautiful. I get compliments on it all the time. I sit up high enough to feel safe and comfortable- higher than some SUVs. On the inside, it is laid out very well and everything is convenient for the driver. I'll never buy another type of car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE my car!

by Simons Mom from St. Charles, IL on March 22, 2017

I love the comfort and safety of this car. It has the Eyesight system with adaptive cruise control, which makes highway driving awesome.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Car

by Barnabas from on March 14, 2017

The outback is a very pleasurable car to drive. The ride is smooth and comfortable. The visibility is very good. The safety features such as blind spot monitoring are very helpful while driving , especially at night. While I would have been satisfied with the 2.5 engine, a test drive of the 3.6 engine with its increase in smoothness and responsiveness convinced me that it was worth the additional cost and slightly lower milage. I am completely satisfied.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Affordable AWD with perks

by OhKariAnn from Roscoe IL on March 15, 2017

My Outback is great! I came from the diesel Jetta so I do miss my turbo off the line but the Outback has plenty of power for my needs. I like that the CVT trans is maintenance free and it runs on synthetic. I wish the back seats had door cup holders but that is my only interior complaint.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful vehicle!

by PapaToad from Oceanside, OR on March 11, 2017

We love our new Outback. It is a comfortable and quiet ride. Seating is at a great height, making getting in and out easy. The technology works wonderfully, with Hill Holder and auto-dimming brights being our favorites that work impressively better than our previous vehicle. Also impressive is its EyeSight Driver Assist features, especially its Adaptive Cruise Control and Pre-collision Braking.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 29
Our Expert Review: 2017 Subaru Outback