2004 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2004 Toyota 4Runner

$2,771 - $14,671  MSRP Range
2004 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

66 Reviews
98% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

21 - 30 of 66 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best of the best that I have ever owned!!!

by Road Runner from Hampton, Fl on Mon Dec 31 2018

It is the best, by far, of any vehicle I have ever owned in my 57 years of driving!!! I wouldn't think of driving or buying anything else!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Tough vehicle

by CG Palermo from Virginia on Wed Apr 11 2018

On the Toyota the Toyota for 4 years had no major problems, will the great running vehicle very good for four wheel driving used to drive on dirt roads with it all the time and rain snow four-wheel drive on the unit was great in the mud and snow recommended vehicle to anybody who can buy one.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good car

by Walewale from Reading PA on Sun Sep 08 2013

I Like this car very much. I will always buy the Toyota 4runner again I love this car I will like to get the 2014

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Truck, a bit tight for me at 6'4"

by TRRuiz from Greenville, SC on Mon Jul 30 2018

Pros: Very reliable. Great styling for certain. Beautiful look and feel. Strong engine. Reliable. Cons: Very thirsty on the fuel, and I only had a 4x2. Not very comfortable seats for me, plus the seat did not go low enough, so my head was always rubbing on the roof. Kind of loud engine I thought.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car Ive ever owned

by V84runner from Coeur D Alene, Idaho on Wed May 29 2019

Fun to drive & super reliable. Nothing not to like. V8 is super smooth & quiet with plenty of power. I will always drive Toyotas.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great for travel

by lse's car from okc ok on Sat Sep 15 2012

i love this way it handles and this gas mileage is great. the color and look is great still looks new have enjoyed long trips.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the 4Runner-Best Car Ever

by IKC Neghvar from Dallas, TX on Fri Jun 02 2017

Exceptional reliability and value. Have 235,000 miles on it with original engine, trans, differentials, bearings, interior. Expect to get 300,000+. Have only replaced tires, brakes, drive belt & O2 sensors, which I consider maintenance items. Get 22 mpg on the hwy & 19 in town.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Driving Experience!

by Toyota Fan from Cleveland, Ohio on Sun Jul 14 2019

This amazing 4Runner V8 SUV has exceeded my Toyota expectations far and beyond! It has provided the most valuable, complete driving experience since day one, and the only maintenance and care was managed by Motorcars Toyota in Cleveland Heights, Ohio (Cleveland), with the exception of tire service, courtesy of Goodyear/Conrad’s. It’s still extremely fast and runs smooth - if I can keep it 50 years, I would, and I will truly miss it!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2004 4Runner V8: An SUV Years Ahead Of It’s Time

by Jdotto24 from St. Louis, MO on Sun Apr 01 2018

This car is the most reliable SUV of the 2000’s as proven by multiple reports. It handles very well and supports a comforting ride despite the ability to tow/haul with the best pickups. Absolutely zero significant repairs (just minor interior touch-ups mostly due to my negligence). The exterior styling of the Limited V8 is timeless. When the car is clean, many of my friends have mistook it for a 2008-2011 vehical. I have put 125,000+ miles on the car, and we already have a buyer in the family for it lined up once I get a new car. Like they did with our previous 4Runner, they will put another 100k on it with no issues. On road or off road, this car dominates. It can’t fly, that’s the only con.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car on the road

by Bronco Fan from Highlands Ranch on Fri Dec 07 2018

Hands down the best SUV for the Colorado Outdoors. 3 of my friends went out and bought one over the last few years because of mine. Most reliable car on the road

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7