2007 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2007 Toyota 4Runner

$5,657 - $17,073  MSRP Range
2007 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

65 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2007 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

41 - 50 of 65 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

My 4th 4unner 2nd V8

by Sweetpea from Arizona on Thu Nov 30 2017

I love my 4Runners. But my favorite was my 2004 SR5 V8, the one just before my current one. Unfortunately, like someone else on here, it got totaled by insurance and I had to replace it. It took me some time as I wanted the V8 and am particular with color. Finally found one in NM, I live in AZ, so I went and bought it used from a private owner in 2015 with just shy of 100k miles on it. One thing I don’t know why they did was go from non-interference engine to interference engine which matters with the timing belt. Also my GPS (it is a Ltd, my first Ltd) will now not read the map cd and the whole audio unit is failing which includes radio, Bluetooth, backup cam, aux etc. Toyota claims to not make these for the 07 anymore and has quoted me an astronomical price for a refurbished one. And it’s really just the cd drive, probably at most a $100 dollar part. That is my big beef with my 2007 4R Ltd. very reliable vehicles for the most part, but I would probably not buy the Ltd again or if I had it to do over.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

durable suv with a solid reputation.

by driver4140 on Thu Aug 10 2017

very comfortable to drive with plenty of power. only thing to watch out for is rust on frame near radiator supports and above spare tire.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2nd 4Runner owned

by 4Runner4Life from Little Rock, AR on Wed Apr 26 2017

If you want a great vehicle with great resell value, get a 4Runner. There is a reason I bought one a 2nd time, they are just great, reliable SUV's.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best of all vehicles owned!

by WhitWander from Alamogordo, NM on Sat Nov 11 2017

From Cali to Texas and beyond this SUV has been more than I could have ever asked for. Never let me down in any situation.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

EXTRA! EXTRA!

by JanetDc from Chicago, Ill on Mon Aug 06 2018

The car met all of my needs. I feel the vehicle I have is better than the vehicle I traded but not that much. They really burnt me on the trade in.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Peace of Mind

by aa4runnertrail from Union, NJ on Tue Nov 07 2017

I love this car. It was like picking out the right guitar - the moment you strum one chord you can tell if it's the right one. This was clear to me from the moment I drove it off the lot for a test drive. The hood scoop on my trail edition gives the drive an incredible feel. It handles beautifully and I am excited to take this car to 300k miles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Can't go wrong with a Toyota 4Runner

by 4RunEver from Pasadena, CA on Thu Nov 09 2017

The Toyota 4Runner is as solid and dependable as they get. They'll go for as long as you can fit your growing family...and then they'll keep on going for the next 5 or 7 families who own it after that.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just what we were looking for!

by 4RunnerOwner from Caldwell, ID on Sun Aug 19 2018

This car is exactly what we need for our future endeavors - tough but beautiful. Easy to drive and has room to take friends. We will be four-wheeling in the high desert and it will do it well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most reliable SUV I've Owned.

by Wayne25 on Sun Oct 29 2017

Comfortable driving position, selectable 4 wheel drive, quiet on highway, good resale value, bullet proof reliability.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

4Runner is the best vehicle ever

by Marty from Oregon on Thu May 17 2018

Everyone knows that the 4Runner is one of the best vehicles ever built. If you don't just ask any 4Runner owner and they will tell you how much they love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Our Take on the 2007 Toyota 4Runner


For those of us not quite ready to abandon our sport utility vehicles – the real SUVs, not those carlike crossovers – the fourth generation of Toyota’s 4Runner is among the best.

Last completely redesigned for 2003, the 4Runner is one of the original SUVs and has been the stalwart of the Toyota truck-based SUV line since it was introduced in the early 1980s.

I remember seeing one up close for the first time at a Toyota dealership in Phoenix in 1985. I briefly considered buying the 4Runner – with four-wheel drive, because it would have been a fun vehicle to use to explore the Arizona mountains and the Sonoran desert.

But at the time, the 4Runner came only with two... Read More