2011 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2011 Toyota 4Runner

$12,962 - $25,674  MSRP Range
2011 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

64 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2011 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

21 - 30 of 64 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love it, and so does my dog

by Sea Kayaker from Redding, CA on Mon Nov 24 2014

Awesome vehicle for traveling, taking my dog out for a drive, or carrying my kayaks. V6 has plenty of power. Wish the limited came without the rear third row seats, but I still love the vehicle. Does everything I want it to do. Like all SUV's, people in back seat really feel the road as they are right over the tires.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Toyota 4 Runner Limited

by T from Blooomington Indiana on Thu Oct 28 2010

This is my third Limited and I'm heading towards 600,000 miles totally. Great reliability! Very functional. I am very disappointed in the firmness of the seats! The dash could be less cluttered and improved for instant recognition. There are just too many little used buttons that add to the confusion. There seems to be a B.M.W. want-a-be hidden inside of the dash.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Snow Car

by Bertik from Manassas, VA on Thu Jun 02 2011

My other vehicle is a German car with fat run flat tires. I needed something bigger that would not sideline me with an inch of snow. The 4Runner Trail gives you a nice safe feeling. You are up high and can see the road. The ride was much better than expected. Four wheel drive and idiot proof dials make snow travel easy. I also like the audio components and backup TV viewer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Versatile

by CHadster from Melbourne Beach, FL on Sun Feb 19 2012

Bought 4Runner SR5 because it towed my 5,000 pound boat, had third row seating, and it is a rugged vehicle with superb looks. I have sun roof, hands free phone, Sirius radio and upgraded interior. Replaced 2006 Explorer V8. Have had for almost 1 year and it is almost perfect. Third row seats take a little getting used to. Love the 400Watt rear AC plug and 200Watt front plug. Great for charging phone or running laptop. Has the rear door special speakers for tailgaiting. Love the smooth and quiet running. It is worth more than I paid for it! 20mpg around town. Absolutely happy with this SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

so far so good

by bob w from socal on Thu Mar 24 2011

good deal on a great car, gas mileage is 21 around town and on freeway, just hope japan can overcome its problems

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome to drive

by MIKEG from Baldwin Park, CA on Mon Jan 23 2012

This car is so easy and comfortable to drive. Car responds very quickly when you step on it. Car has a lot of power. Has a lot of personal space for every seat.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most uncomfortable seats ever in a new SUV

by Appreciate a comfortable ride from El Paso, TX on Sun Jul 17 2011

My wife and I regret not taking this vehicle for a longer test drive. The 2011 4Runner is a beautiful SUV, with great features and style attraction. Unfortunately, the seats are about as comfortable as a park bench. The front seat backrests are so still it is next to impossible to get comfortable. The seat cushions are so firm, if you take this vehicle on a long trip, you are guaranteed to have a really sore butt when you exit the vehicle. I imagine the intent was to offer strong support in the seats, but this is an SUV, not a sports car.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Finnally a 4 Runner

by CHadster from Melbourne Beach, FL on Mon Nov 07 2011

Have had Jeeps, Explorers, to tow boat and do truck like chores. I wanted a 4 Runner used but they kept price so good I could not find a several year old model for much less then a new one. Broke down and bought new and now I know why they keep value. Awesome looks, layout, handling, and seating. Have third row which is pretty good, not great. Ride superb, smooth shift, dead quiet. Have yet to find something I would improve upon. Will keep this vehicle a long time and eventually sell it at a high resale value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1st Car

by 4Runner from Greeneville,Tennessee on Thu May 15 2014

This was the first car my Granddaughter purchased for herself. She is very pleased with the vehicles performance and appearance. Her salesman , Derrick, showed her how everything worked and what the car could do. It was very helpful to have someone who knew the vehicle, rather that just someone to sell without any information about the car. All in all, a Great Car and a Great Salesperson!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great 4 runner

by Timmmmmy from Riverside, ca on Mon Nov 28 2011

Great truck, everything good, no problems, love everything about it, except turning radius could b better and I don't need all the doors to unlock when I stop n put the car in park.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Our Take on the 2011 Toyota 4Runner

Editor’s note: This review was written in February 2010 about the 2010 Toyota 4Runner. Little of substance has changed with this year’s model. To see what’s new for 2011, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

The completely redesigned 2010 Toyota 4Runner reminds me why Americans fell in love with truck-based SUVs — and why we’re falling out of love with them. If you’re someone who wants a rugged, off-road-capable truck — or simply wants the rugged look — you’ll find the 4Runner a strong competitor to the likes of Nissan’s Pathfinder and the 2010 Ford Explorer. If you’re simply looking for the utility of a vehicle with... Read More