2013 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2013 Toyota 4Runner

$16,961 - $30,045  MSRP Range
2013 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

67 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2013 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

31 - 40 of 67 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Stout Rig

by 4skinrunr from Colorado on Fri Jan 18 2013

Screams quality, at an affordable price. Not like German standards, but it would cost 15 grand more if Germans made this vehicle, ...I will not even start to talk about German maintenance costs. Go away Korean suv's, shoo American utility vehicles, save the Jeeps..thanks Mercedes engineering.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Probably Worst Toyota ever owner

by Loyal Toyota Customer from Libertyville, IL on Fri Jan 11 2013

We love Toyota because of the reliability, looks and value. The 2013 is worst designed car we have ever owned. I bought a 2004 4Runner new and still own it. The 2013 is a downgrade from the 2004 4Runner. Reviews like this devalue the vehicle, but I feel it is important for buyers to know what they are getting especally with new vehicles. I will list out the specific issues with the 2013 4Runner below. 1) There is not a rear window wiper blade. Nothing to clear salt, rain, snow, etc from the window. All other Toyota SUV's have rear wipers. Seems so short sited and cheap without it. 2) It takes 15 minutes for heat to work on a 35 degree day. Not an issue in the summer, but winter means cold rides. 3) Cannot see the radio display on a sunny day. Want to change channels, pull over or be a stop light so you can move you head directly in front of the radio about a foot or less so you can see it. 4) Window controls are built into base of window instead of on the handle. Unlike every other Toyota SUV, the window controls sit at the base of the window and are parallel to it. So you lift your entire arm up to your head level to access and control the windows. Now try this unnatural movement when driving. Not safe at all. The vehicle drives good and seems solid. The looks are OK.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Bumpy, noisy, horrible tech...

by Common Man from Houston on Wed Jun 21 2017

This is by far the most rough riding and noisy vehicle we have owned. The technology on the vehicle is non-existent, does not even come close to the Ford I own which is a year (2012) older. The sound system in the vehicle sounds really bad. I will never get this vehicle again and neither will I ever recommend this to any one.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

never had one

by ? from k .falls oregon on Wed Jul 17 2013

I want to go for 4 runner toyota never had one and I want to try one out hear a lot about it I want to try it out and I see it has the comfort in it and roomy

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

toyota 4runner

by anthony from nixa,mo on Mon Feb 03 2020

After searching for months on the internet, we finally decided on a Toyota based on what others say about their reliability, so far this seems to be a good choice for our sons first vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Didn't follow through!

by RJOPR from Ridley Park on Sat Jan 20 2018

I like it, but may not use Toyota again. Toyota canceled entune. I bought the vehicle on the promise I would have TRAFFIC with my Nav. No more! And there are a host of "little" things that are a problem...not huge...but for a fifty thousand dollar vehicle...not promising!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car but not for me I need something smaller

by Clon0296 on Mon Nov 25 2019

Great dependability. Not a lot of maintenance required. I like it but to big for me. Great car for a family. Audio sounds great. 4 wheel drive works impeccably. Tows a small trailer with ease.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most dependable SUV I have ever owned.

by Toyo Fan from Pulaski, TN on Wed Jul 26 2017

Love how the middle row reclines. Children love that - can take naps very comfortably. Never any issues. Just an all around great vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car in the world worth every penny spent on

by Mevelyn30 from Oakland, CA on Sun Apr 22 2018

It is worth buying a Toyota 4 runner in every single sence it’s the best inversión Buy one and will never regret Give it a try

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

reliable

by Pete from Texas on Thu Oct 19 2017

meets my needs. good buy. it was what i expected. will buy again. Will plan to have it for a while

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7