2016 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2016 Toyota 4Runner

$25,100 - $40,288  MSRP Range
2016 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

132 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

31 - 40 of 132 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Number 4 .. for me

by Deb4runner FAN from CA on Mon Jan 23 2017

This is my 4th. Did a brief try with a Honda CRV.. but couldn't transition. Love this truck- never going to switch again, they just keep improving on the ride and comfort.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excited about this vehicle

by camper from South Bend IN on Fri Mar 04 2016

Having just purchased of course I rate it all 5s. I know coming from a CRV my gas mileage will take some getting use to!! Very comfortable and big!! Again I am comparing to the CRV. I purchased for towing ability comfort and style!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive Toyota

by outdoorsman from Pien Bluff AR on Tue Dec 29 2015

My Toyota 4 runner is everything I thought it would be. Fun to drive, comfortable and reliable with great features. All of the controls and features are easy to understand and simple to operate. Leather seats are very comfortable and look great. Performance is great, powerful and handles well with a very smooth ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best Rugged and Stylish SUV Available

by TJ from Lynchburg, VA on Tue Nov 29 2016

I've owned 2 Rav 4's and a 2015 Highlander Limited. These vehicles are great for in town and occasional moderate off road trips but I needed a SUV to navigate the road to our cabin in rain and snow. Traded the Highlander for a 2016 SR5 Premium and noticed less fuel economy, (no big deal),stiffer ride, not as many bells and whistles, but love the overall features, controls, and off-road performance. I hope Toyota continues to produce this vehicle design as well as their cross-over models for in town use. The SR5 is the best SUV I've owned.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good vehicle..

by AZ Guy from Arizona on Mon Feb 22 2016

I replaced my 2007 Tacoma TRD Off-Road double cab and 2010 wrangler with a 4x4 4Runner. Wife said ?we have too many vehicles and her Prius was staying?. It's very similar to the Tacoma I traded in. My fully loaded wrangler looked crude to the 4Runner. I considered the Jeep Grand Cherokee but I was concerned about reliability. I looked at a fully loaded 2016 Jeep Sahara Unlimited but it was a crude as my 2010 Wrangler. Also the price of the jeeps were very close to the 4Runner.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2016 TOYOTA 4 RUNNER Premium

by JOHN 67 from Buffalo , NY on Mon Mar 06 2017

Just turned over one thousand miles . A very comfortable vehicle ride . Very roomy interior . This vehicle comes standard with most items . Only a few options needed . The V6 270 HP has ample power . So far well satisfied with this vehicle . The negatives are the tires and no locking gas door or cap . This 4 Runner has Dunlap tires , Traction B , Temp B and a medium treadwear . It appears Toyota no longer places PREMIUM tires on their vehicles .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2016 4 runner TRD PRO

by Pale rider from Katy, texas on Sat Jan 30 2016

Hands down this is the best vehicle I have ever owned. The crawl feature with the overall styling is very impressive. If you can find a TRD pro buy it you won't be disappointed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Toyota 4 Runner

by Linda A. from Hagerstown, MD on Fri Feb 17 2017

I have had a BMW SUV, it let me down; A Jeep SUV, it let me down; then I started with a Toyota 4 Runner about 20 years ago and that is the brand of car that I have used after being let down by others. The 4 Runner is my most dependable, reliable and functional car I have ever used, and it has never let me down!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

TRD-PRO-Excellent SUV

by Toyota For Life from ft lauderdale, FL on Fri Apr 15 2016

I have owned the 2016 TRD-Pro for 3 months now. Its my favorite of my fleet . It can do anything and everything with-in reason. Installed a 2" lift from TOYTECH,couldn't be happier with that outcome. Love this truck, this will be my 2nd 4runner.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Ride

by Dball from Virginia Beach, VA on Wed Jan 27 2016

First Toyota that I brought! I'm a Ford man but wife wanted something that she could drive and I could tow trailer. So far we both love this for it drives great! Only thing was you could only get interior in black or leather (Trail Motel). Wife hates leather and black. But when she had to pick she kept the black and has found that it is easy to clean. So overall we are very happy with this SUV

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com