2016 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2016 Toyota 4Runner

$25,047 - $40,307  MSRP Range
2016 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

132 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

61 - 70 of 132 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

4-runner

by TAStuder from Houston,TX on Mon Apr 10 2017

4-runners are great vehicles. I owned a 2006 for six years, and it sold in one day. Reliable, well built, sturdy vehicles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great so far!

by SJH from on Wed Mar 29 2017

Bought it 3 weeks ago and really like it. It handles very well and has great pickup. I could see driving this for hours without stopping. I used to have a 2003 Ford Expedition so this was a bit of a downsize. I probably won't be able to haul as much in the back but that's okay.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best off-road capabilities in an modern SUV

by Dwheeler from Arkansas on Tue Aug 07 2018

The Toyota 4Runner has many great features and others that could use some improvement. The handling and maneuverability of the vehicle is definitely superior to any other SUV I’ve owned. The SUV could use an automatic rear hatch open and close button and an updated entertainment center screen. All said and done, another great job by Toyota on the 4Runner.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is my 6th 4runner. I like the quality

by Val G from Wisconsin on Thu Apr 05 2018

I buy 4 runners because they r built to last with few problems. Chang the oil and tires once in a while and go. Love them

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Nike from Lancaster on Mon Mar 27 2017

The 4Runner was everything that I was looking for in an SUV it rides very smooth and has great handling ability

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So much fun!!

by BW5920 on Tue Mar 13 2018

This is a do everything vehicle perfect for the mountain states! And it is incredibly reliable and fun to drive to boot. I would definitely buy another in a heartbeat.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best offroad SUV around

by Urbancynic from Flagstaff, AZ on Thu May 11 2017

While most manufacturers have turned to all wheel drive and unibody construction for their suv's, Toyota has kept the 4Runner more traditional with body on frame construction and actual 4 wheel drive. This makes the 4Runner more useful offroad and gives it a nice truck feel withiut being harsh. While you can get the Wrangler in this configuration, you wont be able to get the reliability offered by the Toyota. The 4Runner was just listed as #1 for reliability. Resale value is also very high for the 4Runner, as with most Toyotas. The only downside is the slight desire for more power. The 270 horses that come with the 4Runner is adequate but a few more would be nice for highway hills. Fuel economy is exactly as advertised and quite good for a 4x4.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love third row seat

by Bren from Clarksville,VA on Sat Dec 02 2017

Solid Toyota quality with lots of room for travel and fun. It is a smooth ride with all the bells and whistles to make it enjoyable and fun to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

4runner

by caitlin from on Thu May 04 2017

This is a great and awesome car. Love it! Drives well and comfortable. Love the bluetooth capability as well as the easy to use display.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my sporty new 4runner!

by TinaB from Georgia on Tue May 02 2017

I love my new 4runner. Its sporty and gets around great. I get compliments on my vehicle all the time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com