2017 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2017 Toyota 4Runner

$25,874 - $43,082  MSRP Range
2017 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

148 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

91 - 100 of 148 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love my 4runner

by Mattlundy3 from Salem UT on Sat Jan 13 2018

After having other SUV’s for years finally decided to jump to the 4 runner! Doesn’t disappoint!! Love it! Handling and comfort is perfect.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Perfect Vehicle

by LizLovesCars from Raleigh, NC on Mon Oct 30 2017

I am in love with my 2017 4Runner Limited. It is practical since it is a Toyota, but it looks like a luxury vehicle. The seats are very comfortable, and everything feels very well made. I will drive this vehicle until the wheels fall off!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

4runner

by Utvolsmcgee from Highlndville on Wed Sep 06 2017

I I love you baby! Our new 4Runner! I think it looks sharper than any car on the road. It's like driving on a cloud!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Unreal car for the money

by Rsch from Illinois on Mon Oct 30 2017

Love it - just terrific I can’t believe how much I like this car. For the money, I don’t think you can possibly get better value. So far the service is good and the car handles flawlessly. The look is great and the comfort is great for an suv.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Greatest car I've ever had

by TristanM on Sun Aug 13 2017

This car meets all my needs. Great styling inside and outside. Perfect for a family, or great for a single driver like me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very spacious inside with comfort and style

by Ssons77 from Deltona on Sun Sep 10 2017

I like the rugged look with the feel of comfort. There is plenty of leg room, head room, and safety aspects of this vehicle. All the state of the art upgrades make it easy to navigate.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous 4-Runner

by Zubby from Albuquerque, NM on Mon Sep 04 2017

Love the backup camera display and warning beeps. Sound system is awesome and so are the seat ventilators/heaters. Smooth ride with good ground clearance. It's 4-wheel drive all the time. Limited edition offers moonroof and separate temp controls for driver and passenger as well as leather seats and other amenities.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Toyota

by Consumer from Lancaster pa on Thu Aug 31 2017

Bought my 1st 4Runner in 1991 this is number 8 it's a great truck we love so far,with only 185 miles on its Very new to us, being a Toyota we know the quality is there

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My new favorite

by 4 runner lover from North Carolina on Thu Aug 10 2017

I LOVE my new 4 runner! I'm pretty sure it's my most favorite car I've ever owned so far! I could not be more pleased with the comfort, style and performance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So comfortable, easy to get in and out of.

by Missy on Wed Apr 18 2018

This is at least the 9th Toyota I have bought. Always very pleased with them. Have owned them all Corolla, Camry, Tundra, Avalon and Rav 4.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Toyota 4Runner

The verdict:


The 2017 Toyota 4Runner is an affordable, no-frills, off-road-capable SUV with a hint of weekend-toy fun factor.

Versus the competition:


If the 4Runner TRD Off-Road were a Jeep, its capabilities and luxuries would fall somewhere between the primitive-but-capable Jeep Wrangler and the more refined Jeep Grand Cherokee.

The 2017 Toyota 4Runner is slowly becoming one of a kind thanks to a focus on off-road capabilities and ruggedness rather than the refinement, passenger comfort and crash avoidance technologies that are prioritized in competing models. If you’d like the latter, there are a plethora of car-based SUVs out there, like the Toyota Highlander and Honda Pilot, to get the family around in leather-trimmed comfort. The 4Runner, on the other hand, has hardware better suited for weekend camping trips, mountainous exploration or, as I found, oddly good maneuvering of an urban landscape.

What makes it so capable? The Toyota 4Runner retains body-on-frame construction, a once-common chassis type that’s given... Read More