2017 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2017 Toyota 4Runner

$25,874 - $43,082  MSRP Range
2017 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

148 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 148 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car!!

by toy lover from Wathena, KS on Fri Jul 14 2017

Love the looks of this vehicle! Interior, exterior, performance, and value. I know this vehicle will last forever! Now we are looking at a new Tacoma next.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect fit! Great windows, no blind spots, feels

by Forever Toyota from Greenville, Maine on Sat Nov 04 2017

Love that it sits up higher than a car, plenty of leg room. Comfortable passenger seats, back window rolls down, best floor mat protection i have ever seen. Drink holder locations are handy, easiest navigation ever for me too! So pleased with this vehicle!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My FAVORITE Car Ever!!!

by Dawn from CT on Mon Apr 20 2020

This car exceeds my needs. I love the reliability and quality you get from any Toyota, but this car is fancy on top if it all. I have always driven Toyota's, I go back and forth between the Tacoma and the 4Runner. This Limited 4Runner is sick, it has heated and cooled seats, moon roof, an awesome JBL sound system and much much more. I'm still trying to get used to it all! I highly recommend this truck!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

there is a reason these have a cult following

by RickRunner from CASA GRANDE on Thu Dec 27 2018

the 4Runner is an excellent vehicle, whether you're taking it on off road trails in Sedona or just simply running to the grocery store, this SUV is capable of it all. When purchasing a 4Runner you can rest assured that in the legendary reliability of Toyota and that these vehicles are built to last you hundreds of thousands of miles. the styling is rugged yet classy and i feel it truly has a timeless look that will never go out of style. When I get behind the wheel of my 4Runner i am comfortable with the ride and peace of mind that it can tackle anything I am planning on doing or going.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Off Road Vehicle

by JB from Norwood, CO on Mon Oct 02 2017

The performance I needed was OFF Road and the 4Runner TRD with CRAWL capabilities is awesome! I admit it doesn't have the best power when you need to pass on a mountain, but it does the job. Overall comfort is very good.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2017 4 runner TRD pro

by Trdpro30 from Houston tx on Wed Sep 06 2017

Really loving the 4 runner coming out of a 2016 jeep rubicon unlimited. However I feel that Toyota could update a few things inside the 4 runner. No side lane warnings, no led headlights, no Apple play. Really disappointed sunroof and dual climate control A/C was not available on the TRD pro. The supposed bad boy of the 4Runner. Ride is smooth had milage ok engine a little under powered (bring back the V8). Other than that am loving it!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Not for storage

by 4 Runner fan from Colchester on Tue Nov 14 2017

It's very fun to drive. Sitting in the back seat you get bounced around a little bit. Do not plan on carrying any cargo if you are using all 3 seats. The floormats are amazing. The one in the rear cargo area is a huge plus for agricultural and messy outdoor stuff. I had a '99 4 Runner which I loved, but it was stolen and destroyed. This one is definitely more geared to 4 wheeling than family road trips but we got it for the value of a Toyota. It is much less roomy and cushy than my '14 Durango but it does seem more trustworthy if we go off roading. The miniature clock is hard to see by both driver and passenger. The digital display is all good. So far heating it up internally in 20 degree weather is good. Slow defrost though when windshield is frozen over.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Not satisfied

by Not happy from East Stroudsburg pa on Sat Sep 22 2018

Console paints comes off if you breathe on it. No very reliable. At price tag of $45.000 you would expect a bit more. The ride is great. Plenty of room. But would not buy again due to console issues. And there is no touch up paint either.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding vehicle

by reginaguy from 19dealerrater77 on Wed Jun 07 2017

Overall, the Toyota 4runner regardless of Limited, SR5, TRD Pro or Off Road, is a phenomenal vehicle for everyday use. I purchased a 2017 Limited. I thoroughly enjoy the vehicle as a whole with only a few very minor qualms. I find the head rests to have an odd angle to them pushing your head forwards causing you to have to recline the seat a bit more than usual to remedy the situation. I wish the vehicle had come with wider tires, rather than the pizza cutters that come stock. Being the Limited trim, the 4runner should definitely include the following: heated steering wheel, heated rear seats, power folding mirrors (shut off the vehicle and mirrors fold in), manual adjust headlights, dynamic radar cruise control, roof cross bars. Aside from the extra additions, the vehicle is outstanding. Very comfortable, solid ride. I loo forward to owning this vehicle the next 15 years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by tlynn from fairfax,VT on Wed May 31 2017

This vehicle not only looks great on the outside but great on the inside. Comfortable and roomy. I Love it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Toyota 4Runner

The verdict:


The 2017 Toyota 4Runner is an affordable, no-frills, off-road-capable SUV with a hint of weekend-toy fun factor.

Versus the competition:


If the 4Runner TRD Off-Road were a Jeep, its capabilities and luxuries would fall somewhere between the primitive-but-capable Jeep Wrangler and the more refined Jeep Grand Cherokee.

The 2017 Toyota 4Runner is slowly becoming one of a kind thanks to a focus on off-road capabilities and ruggedness rather than the refinement, passenger comfort and crash avoidance technologies that are prioritized in competing models. If you’d like the latter, there are a plethora of car-based SUVs out there, like the Toyota Highlander and Honda Pilot, to get the family around in leather-trimmed comfort. The 4Runner, on the other hand, has hardware better suited for weekend camping trips, mountainous exploration or, as I found, oddly good maneuvering of an urban landscape.

What makes it so capable? The Toyota 4Runner retains body-on-frame construction, a once-common chassis type that’s given... Read More