2017 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2017 Toyota 4Runner

$25,874 - $43,082  MSRP Range
2017 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

148 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

21 - 30 of 148 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Finally own a 4Runner!!

by MMcCoy from Westminster, MD on Sat Oct 19 2019

I grew up driving a Tacoma, my first trade in was a Tacoma for a Tacoma, 2003 to a 2015, but I've always had my eyes on a 4Runner..I love Toyota and the 4Runner TRD Off Road has almost all my four wheel options as my 2015 Tacoma. They're flashy, look great, ride comfortable, and have always been reliable in my experience.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by tlynn from fairfax,VT on Wed May 31 2017

This vehicle not only looks great on the outside but great on the inside. Comfortable and roomy. I Love it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliability,Comfort, Fun

by GEOFUNAZ from Mesa on Sat Feb 16 2019

Definitely a fun SUV for the family . Reliable and fits 7!! From the beach to the mountains, this SUV does it all. Smooth ride and never ever have mechanical issues. Well built and would probably buy another if able..

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Will last you forever!

by 4Runner Dude from Arvada, CO on Thu Nov 09 2017

The off-road premium does everything you would ever want it to. The only thing I don't like is that it comes with highway tires and not All Terrain tires.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I ever had

by Mchowdy21 from Cochrane Albert on Wed Jun 07 2017

This car fits my personality and has all the things that I need. More space and feel safe when driving.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2017 Toyota 4Runner SR5

by ChrisB from Derry, NH on Sat Apr 22 2017

I owned a Toyota FJ Cruiser for 6 years, which I loved. I wish Toyota would bring it back! But the 4Runner is the next best thing. I got the base SR5 model, which doesnt have all the offroading features (no locking rear differential for example), but it still has 4-Lo and ATRAC, which should suffice for the vast majority of tough situations. The Sr5 also has a Downhill Assist Control feature which I havent had a chance to try yet. This is a very capable vehicle. But what really sold me is the interior. The 4Runner is very comfortable. I am a tall guy and have plenty of room and adjustment in the drivers seat. By comparison, i couldn't get comfortable in a new Tacoma. Also the controls are easy to read and layed out nicely. And the rear power window is a neat feature. There are also 12v outlets all over the vehicle, and a regular switchable 120v outlet in the rear. The rear seats fold flat and there are tie-downs in the cargo area, which is huge. Lots of space. Overall I am thrilled with the 4Runner. Totally reliable, capable, practical, and fantastic resale value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Gas guzzler

by Jer&Ed from Highland, Utah on Wed Jan 11 2017

We love everything about our 4Runner, except the gas tank is too small, and it gets terrible gas mileage. We just got rid of a suburban to down size and the 4Runner gets the same gas mileage as the 2006 suburban

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

32 out of 37 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

17 Toyota 4runner

by Amesrn from Spencer NC on Thu Apr 13 2017

This vehicle is just what I needed. I previously had a Tahoe, was looking for another, but couldn't make myself pay chevys outrageous prices! I decided on a 4runner, got the top of the line, and saved 20-30k!!! I love love love it!!! It is perfect sized! My ONLY complaint is the inner cup holders get stuck on my yeti cups.... but I can deal with that!! Def recommend this vehicle!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

MOST DESIRABLE AND LEAST TOXIC VEHICLE UNDER $50K

by Kidb Drum from Fresno, CA on Fri Apr 07 2017

Looked at a variety of trucks and SUV that are off-road capable and found many of them have a toxic new car smell that won't go away not just because of plastics and glue but also because of a black leather interior [apparently industrial waste is used for color] i found only vehicles costing $60-$80 using natural leathers [tan or brown] smelled like leather and Toyota is the only car maker who uses them in vehicles costing under $50k even they're Softex [leatherette] is non-toxic also all other features and build of vehicle are a premium.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very smooth ride

by Always a red car from Easley,SC on Tue May 09 2017

Went from a Toyota RAV4 to the Toyota 4Runner. Loved the RAV4 but needed a bigger vehicle so we chose the Toyota 4Runner. Great decision. It is a smooth ride and we love the interior leather heated and cooled seats!!! I would recommend this vehicle 100% .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Toyota 4Runner

The verdict:


The 2017 Toyota 4Runner is an affordable, no-frills, off-road-capable SUV with a hint of weekend-toy fun factor.

Versus the competition:


If the 4Runner TRD Off-Road were a Jeep, its capabilities and luxuries would fall somewhere between the primitive-but-capable Jeep Wrangler and the more refined Jeep Grand Cherokee.

The 2017 Toyota 4Runner is slowly becoming one of a kind thanks to a focus on off-road capabilities and ruggedness rather than the refinement, passenger comfort and crash avoidance technologies that are prioritized in competing models. If you’d like the latter, there are a plethora of car-based SUVs out there, like the Toyota Highlander and Honda Pilot, to get the family around in leather-trimmed comfort. The 4Runner, on the other hand, has hardware better suited for weekend camping trips, mountainous exploration or, as I found, oddly good maneuvering of an urban landscape.

What makes it so capable? The Toyota 4Runner retains body-on-frame construction, a once-common chassis type that’s given... Read More