2017 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2017 Toyota 4Runner

$25,874 - $43,082  MSRP Range
2017 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

148 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

31 - 40 of 148 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great truck for the money

by jamhensaw from on Thu Aug 31 2017

Solid dependable truck. Great features and amenities. Owned two FJ Cruisers prior and loved them. The 2017 4runner has many new stylish features and is a comfortable riding truck. Minimal noise in the cab while driving

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my 4Runner

by SARA LASSITER from Rocky Mount NC on Thu Apr 06 2017

Toyotas are very reliable vehicles and last a long time. I am so pleased with my recently purchased 2017 4Runner!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my 4RUNNER!

by Debbie4Runner from on Sun Apr 02 2017

This is the first 4RUNNER I have owned. Owned a Trailblazer for the last ten years and it was time for something new. This car exceeds in all areas. So glad I didn't go smaller.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Special order from Leith Toyota.

by Cynthia from NC on Fri Mar 10 2017

I would've given the overall & value for money scores 5 stars if the technology was current. Toyota is definitely behind in this area for the options they offer on this model. There was nothing available for upgrades to improve this either. Beyond that, this is an absolutely amazing 4RUNNER premium XP. The XP package alone will turn heads. The Nitto Grappler G2s are a smooth ride & don't make a roaring sound at any speed. The LED fog lights, interior lights & puddle lights draw even more attention to an already amazing looking vehicle. Have not had a chance to test the 4x4 yet.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome car

by Trinity from on Tue Mar 14 2017

Awesome!!! This car very comfortable!! Lots of room for kids. The back camera is amazing very easy to understand. Technology is advance and really easy to set up!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great job Eddie

by Timothy from Alexandria, VA on Fri Mar 31 2017

I recently visited Heritage Toyota and I lucked up and got Eddie MccRey as my salesman. He was excellent. He was very friendly and polite. He treated my entire family with respect. I felt like he was being very honest and he also gave me every detail about each car I asked about. Finally I purchased the car and I want to say that it was all because of Eddie. Thank you!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Principle Toyota

by Jodybug13 from Southaven MS on Thu Apr 06 2017

Jimmy Rooker sold me and my husband a 2016 4-Runner May of 2016. In March of 2017, my 2016 4-Runner was totaled. Jimmy helped us so much that we wanted to have him help us with our new purchase of a 2017 4-Runner. Jimmy was able to get the exact 4-Runner that we were looking for. He called and updated everyday. He went over and beyond to help me and my husband. I would highly recommend Principle Toyota again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

They ruined a good thing

by car guy from Honolulu, HI on Thu Jun 08 2017

My previous was a 1999 4Runner. It was lean and clean looking. Ran great! I got the 2017 because at 289K, old reliable was getting tired. The new model looks fat and bloated, has a lot less visual appeal than the old classic. Kind of reminds me of what happened to the Tacoma. A lot of people are looking for the older smaller ones. Toyota had the Tundra, why they upsized the Tacoma is beyond me. Same for the new 4Runner. Don't know how much longer I'm going to keep it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best all around vehicle we ever owned

by Boomer from Newport Vermont on Tue Oct 10 2017

Super all car for all weather driving ! Most all creature comforts and gets pretty good gas mileage! Blizzard pearl color looks sweet and stylish! 20 inch wheels are awesome ! Just cannot say enough good things about the 2017 Toyota 4 runner limited

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous 4X4 with great towing capability

by Tummyman from Center Harobr, NH on Sat May 12 2018

Meets my needs for winter driving with 4X4. Also can tow my boat nicely. Very quiet ride, Handles nice on highways. I like al the nice features as well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Toyota 4Runner

The verdict:


The 2017 Toyota 4Runner is an affordable, no-frills, off-road-capable SUV with a hint of weekend-toy fun factor.

Versus the competition:


If the 4Runner TRD Off-Road were a Jeep, its capabilities and luxuries would fall somewhere between the primitive-but-capable Jeep Wrangler and the more refined Jeep Grand Cherokee.

The 2017 Toyota 4Runner is slowly becoming one of a kind thanks to a focus on off-road capabilities and ruggedness rather than the refinement, passenger comfort and crash avoidance technologies that are prioritized in competing models. If you’d like the latter, there are a plethora of car-based SUVs out there, like the Toyota Highlander and Honda Pilot, to get the family around in leather-trimmed comfort. The 4Runner, on the other hand, has hardware better suited for weekend camping trips, mountainous exploration or, as I found, oddly good maneuvering of an urban landscape.

What makes it so capable? The Toyota 4Runner retains body-on-frame construction, a once-common chassis type that’s given... Read More