2005 Avalon

Consumer Reviews

2005 Toyota Avalon

$2,332 - $12,540  MSRP Range
2005 Toyota Avalon

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

44 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Toyota Avalon?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

21 - 30 of 44 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

An all-around great car

by loyal fan from Binghamton, NY on Wed Feb 01 2012

Overall, the best car we owned over the past 55 years. Quiet and comfortable as a Buick, but handles like my old BMW 325. The most roomy back seat of any sedan we know of, a plus because we frequently carry lots of passengers. There were several recalls, but all were handled expeditiously. No significant problems for 106,000 miles, and we traded it in for a 2008 Avalon.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

31 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent highway vehicle

by Bill in Cincy from Cincinnati, OH on Sun Aug 19 2012

Highway MPG is great for a car this large, avg 32+, city is low 20's. This is my second Avalon and hope to get another 200K plus on this one as well. Would recommend to anyone looking for a comfortable highway car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best cars I have had

by Toyota Enthusiast from Greenville, NC on Mon Nov 14 2011

Have had this car six months now. It has been a great value, with over 30 mpg on long trips. Would recommend it to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It gives the smoothest ride

by mazamin from St. Louis, MO on Wed Dec 22 2010

I have had this 05 limited Avalon for about 3 months, with 110,000 mi now. Many people said do not buy this car because it is built for ages over 50 (I am 34), but I loved it a lot before I tested it and loved it more after I bought it. The drive is very smooth, it is very roomy, front and back. I know that many people write good things about the car, so I decided to write about some of the shortcomings of this car, most of which can be ignored: 1-the front seats are not very comfortable (although the Limited has many control features to adjust the best position, but still I have not been able to find the best adjustment yet. There are some simple things that should have been added: 2- coin holder 3- 12DC outlets are inside the armrest chamber, the cables will be squeezed if you want to close armrest. 4- tire pressure monitor 5- relatively small trunk storage

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Avalon Limited

by DL from Sayre, Pa on Wed Dec 08 2010

Purchased with with 98K and it performs like new. My experience with Toyota thus far is that the company/dealership tries to satisfy the customer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Impressive

by Toybota from Kansas City, MO on Sat Nov 14 2009

I have my avalon for almost a year now and I am loving every minute of it. I bought a used a XLS Avalon with the Blizzard Pearl Paint and I think it is one of the sexiest cars on the road. I have done but routine maintaince. They guy that owned it before traded it in for a new corvette a local chevy dealer was pretty particular about his cars. He had all service records from new and the window sticker in the glove box. This car is fast for how big and heavy it is. Toyota is claiming 0-60 in 6.0 and I believe it will do it. The great thing about his motor is they test in the desert for 2 years before putting this motor into production so you know its right. The car is quiet and handles great and on a straight highway run i'm getting between 32 and 33mpg. What a nice a car. There are a few things that I don't like about the car. The intermediate shaft has a design flaw and toyota wants $350 to replace with the redisign one. It bothered me at first with the steering wheel clunking a little bit but know that I ahve gotten use to it, I don't notice it anymore. The other problem I had with this car was the mushy brake pedal. Every toyota I have driven up until this one had a really touchy brake pedal and this one never did. Come to find out the brakes that are on the car were actually desinged for and share the same componets as the 03-06 Camry's. I solved this problem by purchasing a set of drilled and slotted rotors and a nice set of cermaic pads from the pars store and it solved all of problems Great car and will buy another one

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

best car i have had

by JRoc from North Carolina on Thu Feb 09 2012

I own a 2005 Toyota Avalon and i love it. Smooth ride roomy cabine and it will also get up and go. Great on gas into town and out on road love this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have ever owned.

by Smooth and quiet from Mpls.,Mn. on Sun May 28 2017

I'm 68 years old and have owned many cars and trucks. This has the best car I have ever owned. Great ride and comfort. It's engine is very smooth and quiet. It's powerful, and as efficient as a 4 cylinder. I have driven it all over the country, and still gets 32-35 mpg on trips. That's going 80 with the a/c on! I drove the new Buick lacross last year. The Avalon is still smoother and quieter after all these years. Best car ever!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantasic Car for the 6'+

by Tightwad from Texas on Sun Apr 01 2007

We are a tall family and the car has major leg room. The reclining seats in the back are a great idea. The interior is incredible. Lexus ES350 fully loaded is less then the Avalon Limited. Exterior style on the Lexus is sleeker but the interior on the Avalon is better. Lexus makes the top half of the dash gray..no matter what color interior you choose. Simple put the Avalon is a well balanced package. I am considering buying another.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great all round car

by Spikes from on Tue Oct 25 2016

Great value for money. Spacious, good acceleration, little to no maintenance, luxurious interior, good fuel economy, good handling. This car has it all, almost.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2005 Toyota Avalon

The Toyota Avalon full-size sedan is one of the few cars I’ve experienced whose backseat holds as much appeal as the driver’s seat, if not more. Even though the Avalon’s rear-seat accommodations are especially satisfying, some elements of the driving experience aren’t.

The Avalon is, however, impressively quick, both from a standstill and at highway speeds. Toyota claims the Avalon can go from zero to 60 mph in 6.6 seconds, and that time seems entirely believable. Credit the free-revving 280-horsepower, 3.5-liter V-6 and five-speed-automatic transmission. The transmission has a clutchless-manual mode for those who wish to change gears themselves, but because the engine and... Read More