1997 Corolla

Consumer Reviews

1997 Toyota Corolla

$41 - $5,017  MSRP Range
1997 Toyota Corolla

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

17 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1997 Toyota Corolla?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by cher79 from chicago on Sat Nov 15 2008

I own a '97 Toyota Corolla DX and I LOVE it! I just purchased it used last year and it had 108,000 miles on it...now it has 127,000 miles. I drove my car from Chicago to Toronto, Canada last year, and it held up pretty well. I did have to replace the starter, though, and my power locks stopped working but I had the problem repaired (keep in mind that my car is 10 years old); I have regular maintenance checks like taking care of the brakes, changing the oil, etc. Other than that, it's pretty reliable and I haven't had any major problems. The heat works well, which is great for these Chicago winters. This is my first vehicle and I am really glad I have it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I ever bought

by Toyota believer from Chaplin, CT on Sat Sep 05 2009

Bought 5 speed new with 186 miles currently have 318,402 miles and still going. Replaced brakes first time at 217,000 miles. Installed used transmission at 238,000 miles. Still have original timing belt which no ones belives.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic reliable car that's cheap to drive

by 53 year old boring grey haired fat guy from MA on Sat Oct 04 2008

This is a basic car. I bought it 3 years ago with 95K on it, and I've put 30K on. Used it to teach a kid and a girlfriend to drive a standard, and we're still on the original clutch. Always starts, AC works, heater works, radio works, cloth seats are comfortable, get 35 - 39 mpg. 'nuff said?

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable and Good Value

by B1 from Grand Rapids, MI on Sat Aug 09 2008

I purchased the car when it was 10 years old and had 221,000 on it. In my year plus, the car is very reliable and a pleasure to drive. I wish it was a stck shift, otherwise the car has been great. Even 11 Michigan winters have not put obvious rust on the car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

"Defines Reliability"

by Eco5jb from Akron, Ohio on Wed Feb 14 2007

Ive had this car for seven years now, and I bought it used. It's got over 180,000 miles (I put 150,000 on myself). I've NEVER had anything go bad on it mechanically, and it still runs and looks great for a 10 year old vehicle. The corolla was not a luxury or performance vehicle, but it is the definition of reliability and economical- a great car by toyota.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

MAKING THE RIGHT CHOICE

by pdd2131 from GREENVILLE,SOUTH CAROLINA on Thu Jul 27 2017

I bought the car in 2014,it has been a very,good reliable ride.I would love to have another one. To be honest with you,I didn't think,she would last this long.Need to win this $300.00 so that I can buy another car.I liked the car because she is good on gas.Also the air and heat,is awesome in the summer ,and winter.I would suggest to anyone,this is the car for a person in their 60's and up.Thank you in advance.Elder Eramo Mae Clement.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most compact, economical and reliable car ever.

by DJTORO7 from Brooklyn, NY on Sat Apr 28 2018

Does the job at getting you from Point A to Point B in a reliable manner. The most bang for your buck. You will not regret it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car, Great Value, great on gas

by nativeskin78 from Oakland on Wed Jul 26 2017

I bought this car from a previous owner who was a friend of mine. He bought it from his dad. All I got to say is Toyotas and Hondas about Horsham the great car is. I am hoping to upgrade to a newer car. My car is 20 years old and has given me few problems. Even at 20 years old it is safe, reliable, great on gas, AC still runs, comfortably seats 4 people slightly less comfortable with 5. I can't say enough great things about this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Insanely Reliable

by Rob from Lakewood, WA on Tue Apr 03 2018

I loved driving this car. I never had any problem with it starting, with the engine, anything. If you need new tires there will be a hard vibration when going 65- 70 mph, but once over 70 it rides smooth again, but also that was really my fault, not the car's. The only complaint I had about this car was that the cup holders can only hold certain cups. They have to be fairly narrow and not very tall. On the up side I used those cup holders for years as a phone holder instead of getting a real one. Did a good job of holding my phone with directions for long rides.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

21 years still going and hate see it go

by Socketboy777 on Wed Jul 11 2018

I got this car in 2003 with 67k miles. Gas mileage excellent and reliable on roads I put this car through so much not once has it left me stranded. The car requires high maintenance did get new 02 sensor, oil sensor, timing chain all belts and idle pulley. It runs smooth while has the original motor and transmission with 400,000 miles this car took me all across the country. I am looking of getting bigger car because outgrown my Corolla seems old cars are bulletproof the will not die just keeps going and going. That was the reason the GEO Prizm is a good car had one that went 250,000 miles same time had my Corolla that died at 260,000 10 years ago which is a Corolla these cars are great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2