2017 Prius Prime

Consumer Reviews

2017 Toyota Prius Prime

$17,122 - $26,610  MSRP Range
2017 Toyota Prius Prime

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

81 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Toyota Prius Prime?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

61 - 70 of 81 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Good gas milage

by Prius from Shirley, NY on Wed Jan 03 2018

Not a very comfortable car, seat does not adjust sufficiently for short person to see and drive safely!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE the versatility of Prius Prime

by MM from Cambridge, MA on Sun Apr 15 2018

I love the EV capabilities of my plug-in hybrid Prius Prime. I cannot wait to start using this car every day. I'll definitely rack up the EV miles by charging it. I'll be very happy when I realize how little gas I'm using each month.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

PPP

by ThreePs from Cortlandt Manor on Tue Jan 23 2018

The Prius Prime Premium is sporty and runs well, however, I would not recommend it to anyone who lives in upper Westchester or to anyone who has Con Ed , nor to anyone without a dedicated accessible outlet . The outlet installation costs $350. There are virtually no charge stations available in the vicinity of my home. Con Ed's fees are very high. It may be my ideal car in the future when a plug in is cheaper and readily available. For now, though, I overpaid fro a feature that is too expensive to use.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Really nice

by My new prius! from Morgan Hill, CA on Sat Aug 05 2017

I've owned this car for less than a week but I love it. I know lots of people think this is an ugly car but I really like the look. I got it in blue magnetism and it really stands out. So far the drive is quiet and it's more powerful than my old Camry

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very comfortable and reliable, but not sporty!

by admflr from Barre, VT on Tue Jan 02 2018

I've owned my Prius Prime for a few months now. I absolutely love the interior styling, including the 7" touch screen. Most of the controls are intuitive, however some aspects require some getting used to. My only real gripe so far is that the vehicle is so under-powered, that it becomes somewhat embarrassing trying to not slow down too much going up hills when there is a car behind me. Obviously this was done on purpose to make the car more efficient, which is good.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Electric/Hybrid Combo

by PriusPrime17 on Fri Aug 17 2018

Great for short travel in and around town, economical even for long travel. Host of tech yet easy to use for everyone. Fairly roomy and good storage for a mid size car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Plug it In!

by Rojo Grande from St. Albans, VT on Thu Jun 22 2017

Prius hybrid is my choice of vehicle and this one is better than the one I traded in. It's a plug in and the styling has been updated to give it a more racy look.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great gas mileage

by Sheldon P from Harwinton, CT on Tue Oct 10 2017

The car is a pleasure to drive. I love the MPG and all the safety features. I am up to 87 miles per gallon with daily charging. Can't believe it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car.

by Primefan from Beacon on Mon Aug 13 2018

I love everything about this car except the trunk space and the fact that it only has 4 seats. Not using gas for weeks is amazing. The safety sense is fantastic.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome car, great gas mileage

by Cjames from Phoenix on Mon May 14 2018

This car is perfect. Great gas mileage! It's safe. It has great technical specs! Plenty of room, comfy. It's nice to have the rear view camera too

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Our Take on the 2017 Toyota Prius Prime

The verdict:


The 2017 Toyota Prius Prime is quirky in the driving department and overly expressive in the looks department, but its electric-only range, gas mileage and green-car mission are admirable.

Versus the competition:


Other plug-ins offer similar fuel efficiency and electric-driving range, as well as more understated, regular-car styling, but the Prius Prime's value is hard to beat.

As many of us learn in playing (losing) the stock market, timing is everything. Toyota is likely in the middle of that lesson. New for 2017, the Prius Prime is a plug-in version of the regular Prius gas/electric hybrid, and now is not a prime time for it to debut: Sales of hybrids and electrics are down, and low gas prices and a White House teeming with climate-change deniers will likely keep them that way. That’s a shame; the Prime delivers a solid fuel economy win — you just have to put up with some quirks in exchange.  

The Prime goes up against other plug-in hybrids like the Kia Optima Plug-In, Chevrolet Volt and Ford C-Max Energi. Compare them here

A Curious Blend of Strange and... Read More