2017 Prius Prime

Consumer Reviews

2017 Toyota Prius Prime

$17,122 - $26,610  MSRP Range
2017 Toyota Prius Prime

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

81 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Toyota Prius Prime?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

71 - 80 of 81 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Electric/Hybrid Combo

by PriusPrime17 on Fri Aug 17 2018

Great for short travel in and around town, economical even for long travel. Host of tech yet easy to use for everyone. Fairly roomy and good storage for a mid size car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome car, great gas mileage

by Cjames from Phoenix on Mon May 14 2018

This car is perfect. Great gas mileage! It's safe. It has great technical specs! Plenty of room, comfy. It's nice to have the rear view camera too

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Plug it In!

by Rojo Grande from St. Albans, VT on Thu Jun 22 2017

Prius hybrid is my choice of vehicle and this one is better than the one I traded in. It's a plug in and the styling has been updated to give it a more racy look.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Can't beat a Toyota! Add MPG and its a win win!

by TaramsDS from Charlotte, NC on Tue Sep 24 2019

After researching high and low we decided on the Toyota Prius Prime Advanced. It has all the bells and whistles Toyota offers. First 30 miles are on all electric so we barely use any gas, just for long trips and even them we get 80+ mpg (6 hr drive). Toyota reliability, in my opinion, cannot be beat and our car has needed nothing other than it's standard oil changes.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car.

by Primefan from Beacon on Mon Aug 13 2018

I love everything about this car except the trunk space and the fact that it only has 4 seats. Not using gas for weeks is amazing. The safety sense is fantastic.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I loved owning.

by gaming from Reynoldsburg OH on Tue Nov 06 2018

This car is everything I need. The car saves lots of money and my family loves it because it has wide space to travel around with friends and family.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I look Forward to Driving Again!

by Rich W from Severna Park, MD on Fri Nov 22 2019

This is my third Prius and this one takes the cake! It's like driving a video game with loads of data and feedback about fuel economy and energy use, EV vs. gas. I'm sitting at 197 mpg for the last three weeks (since I bought the car) based on 82% EV use. I bought the Premium trim model. I'm 6' 6" tall and never had so much room with the power seats for leg and head room. Electric power is wonderful and even when the 28+ mile EV is used up the battery still isn't dead. It recharges quite a bit in hybrid/gas mode to squeeze out many more EV miles as you go. This car challenges you to break your own record for fuel economy but in a fun way.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Another Great Prius

by MelissaC12 from Nashville TN on Wed Jan 01 2020

This is my third Prius and I love it. Beautiful styling. Great performance. Reasonable price. Handling is excellent. I bought the Advanced and it is worth it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST CAR I'VE OWNED

by JOE D from EAST HAMPTON on Sun Aug 23 2020

OWNED 911'S, RANGE ROVERS, CADI, BMW, MARK 4, ETC. NOT EXXGERATION. THIS IS BEST. ADVERTISED TP HAVE ELECTRIC RANG OF 25 MI, I AM OVER 40. THE MORE I CHARGE, HIGHER RANGE GOES BUT I DONT HAVE A PLUG IN NJ. WHEN CHARGED IT WILL STAY WITH MOST BMW'S. WHEN RUNNING ON GAS ONLY ANDKEEP IT UNDER 65 MI/HR YOU CAN GET 65 TO 80 MPG. NOT KIDDING.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most efficient car I have ever owned!

by BigJ from Atwater, CA on Tue Oct 30 2018

This car is extremely efficient for my commuting needs. For being a taller guy this car has plenty of legroom and head height. I really love the gas mileage, and this thing climbs over mountains like a breeze. I love some of the auto features like when you have your high beans on it senses if you are following or of a car is coming head on and automatically lowers your headlights back to low beam. Once the other vehicle has either passed or moved out of the way the headlights automatically turn back up to high beam! Really love it, however I really want the 2018 model, and regret not purchasing it. For now this car has definitely been my go to car for money savings and reliability!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Our Take on the 2017 Toyota Prius Prime

The verdict:


The 2017 Toyota Prius Prime is quirky in the driving department and overly expressive in the looks department, but its electric-only range, gas mileage and green-car mission are admirable.

Versus the competition:


Other plug-ins offer similar fuel efficiency and electric-driving range, as well as more understated, regular-car styling, but the Prius Prime's value is hard to beat.

As many of us learn in playing (losing) the stock market, timing is everything. Toyota is likely in the middle of that lesson. New for 2017, the Prius Prime is a plug-in version of the regular Prius gas/electric hybrid, and now is not a prime time for it to debut: Sales of hybrids and electrics are down, and low gas prices and a White House teeming with climate-change deniers will likely keep them that way. That’s a shame; the Prime delivers a solid fuel economy win — you just have to put up with some quirks in exchange.  

The Prime goes up against other plug-in hybrids like the Kia Optima Plug-In, Chevrolet Volt and Ford C-Max Energi. Compare them here

A Curious Blend of Strange and... Read More