1999 RAV4

Consumer Reviews

1999 Toyota RAV4

$1,615 - $6,423  MSRP Range
1999 Toyota RAV4

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

13 Reviews
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1999 Toyota RAV4?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

A Great Vehicle Overall!

by RAV4 Owner for 10 years from Louisville, KY on Fri Jul 08 2011

Driving a 1996 RAV4 in Eastern Africa, I came to love these vehicles. When I returned to the U.S. I bought a 1999 RAV4 and drove it for 8 years. The handling is safe on difficult terrain and the gas mileage is great. The space inside the vehicle is bigger than you think. The amenities are nice, the standard equipment is more than adequate, and the comfort is fine even on long trips. The smaller body size of this SUV is perfect for singles, couples, and families. It is a reliable vehicle and I will own a RAV4 as long as possible! I have heard it said that if you are shopping for a RAV4 then ask a person who owns one what they think. I am telling you, they are the best vehicles I have ever owned! I love my RAV4!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my car!

by Betsy from Victoria on Thu Apr 03 2014

I bought this car off of my parents and it is currently at 178, 000 kms and I know that she will keep going for many more! Never had any issues with her and I will buy another Rav 4 when good old Betsy eventually dies. She can be a bit noisy and slower at accelerating on highways however I never doubt this car and it is a perfect size and fit for me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1999 Rav 4

by J.B. Des Moines from Des Moines Iowa on Thu Jan 16 2014

14 years, 130,000 miles still runs like day 1. Regular maintenance and oil changes. This car can't be beat . Iowa salt in winters with no rust. Paint looks great still. Never broken down or even an engine light. will keep till wheels fall off if ever they do.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Replaced Truck

by Oregon Turtle from Oregon on Sat Feb 18 2017

Totalled my truck by totalling a 1,500 lb bull too. Replaced it with this Black Rav4. The license plate letters are E R P. So we fondly call him Wyatt. Drives great, Wyatt is good on gas. I do not like the plastic shields on the door windows. They are cheap and have broken. same with the open latch. Also have read all the books on it and there is no where that tells one how to put soap in the rear wiper.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I ever owned

by Rav4Fan from macomb, mi on Sat May 27 2017

Fantastic car for value for your money. Never failed on me. No repairs and break downs. A superior commuter vehicles in old vehicles category that needs almost zero spending on repairs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Perfect Little SUV

by Rav4 Boi from Papillion, Ne on Sat Jun 17 2006

It's an awesome little SUV. Handling is light and taught. I don't really care much for the interior size, especially for people over 5'9, being as I'm 6'0 and 245 pounds. It handles awesome in winter weather, and gets the best gas mileage I've ever seen out of an SUV. My only real complaint is that my model didn't come with ABS, and is really weak when it comes to punching the gas. I'd recommend this vehicle to anyone who is looking to wisely spend their money on a reliable, tough, and kind of cute suv.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What a great little SUV

by Busy professional woman from Portland, Oregon on Fri Jun 09 2006

I really liked this car. It looks great and is fun to drive. It sparked both inside and out. Handling was quick. It's not a luxury car so comfort was O.K., but not super. The AC worked great. Love the way the seats all fold down. I do alot of gardening and can see using this car for all my hauling back from nurseries.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Keeps on Ticking

by EdQ from Colorado Springs, CO on Tue Jun 04 2013

It just keeps running. Mine has 186K and more miles. Its a good match with the 2.0l engine. Needed a new clutch and you do have to check the oil every other day, but its a great car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great transportation

by TLC from Kansas on Wed May 25 2011

I've enjoyed this car for about 4 years. I have almost 200,000 miles and drive it a lot for work. It continues to be comfortable and fun to drive. Hubby thinks it's a 'chick car' -- works for me. I especially like the good visibility with the RAV. I replaced the radio, try to keep up on regular maintenance, and have regular oil changes. It is reliable and good on gas compared to similar cars.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Little SUV

by Toyota Girl from New England on Sun Mar 03 2013

This is my fourth Toyota but the RAV-4 is the best one yet. For someone on a limited budget, this car really rocks. I have had my RAV-4 now for 13 years and it has close to 100,000 miles. This car is dependable, very low maintenance, great mileage, super manuverability, fun to drive, easy to park and great in the snow. Since I drive alot for work now, I am considering upgrading to something newer, but it will definately be another RAV-4 for me!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2