Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2006 RAV4

Consumer Reviews

2006 Toyota RAV4

$4,535 - $10,775  MSRP Range
2006 Toyota RAV4

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

71 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Toyota RAV4?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 71 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

great little suv

by muffet from NJ on Fri Jan 29 2010

The RAV4 is ecellent in every way. I have the 3rd row seat. It's small, only good for kids or small adults - 5ft 3 and under. But it's handy when you have those extra passengers. I have the 4 cyl-a little sluggish, so if that matters to you, get a 6. Mileage is good 22-23 city 26-27 highway. 4wd- Excellent in snow!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best bet yet

by Military wife/mom from Twentynine Palms CA on Tue Apr 28 2009

We travel a lot and when we needed to purchase a newer vehicle, we did about 9 months of research and found the Rav was for us. We have a Limited 4cyl 4x4 sunroof leather jbl... The only problem was the third row feature or lack there of. We could not find a Limited with a third row. We do know the third row is a little of a joke (foot room even for kids) and the fact we have traveled across country now twice and up and down both the east and west coast, the little compartment in the trunk area was very needed empty. I would also change the floor colors. It should be a black carpet and floor mats. Ours is a very light gray and getting it professionally cleaned every 6 months is a must. Other then that, we have now three other family members owning Rav's now. This Rav was a lease and was like new when we purchased it. I put use down as having fun since we use it for EVERYTHING!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Real Deal

by pete & mary from Buffalo, NY on Sun Feb 08 2009

After much deliberation, test drives and research, my spouse and I had settled on a beautiful black Rav4. 4WD, 30k miles and in excellent condition. Couldn't be happier with this fine fine vehicle. This "urban" suv helps traverse the city snow in buffalo while the highway ride is smooth and safe. Love....back hatch with storage space, handling, acceleration, 4wd, interior dial layout and did i mention this car is a fine looking vehicle. On the road in all its black glossy glory this car puts the CR-V to shame. We wanted safe, reliable in the snow, good gas mileage, and some style. Thank you Toyota for making quality vehicles that hold their value. Thank you local economy for us getting this vehicle for 14,600 with a perfect carfax and beautiful interior/exterior.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

What I Wanted

by Joyota from SE Mass. on Mon Sep 19 2011

A long time Camry LE lover, I got an '06 RAV4 10 wks. ago, to replace my '95 Camry, that is still running, but w/someone else now. ;) I wanted an SUV to serve me better w/work & wanted to stick w/Toyota, b/c I love them! Bought this one privately & no regrets w/that. Car was well maintained & serviced from the start. Got the 5 yr/100,000 warranty good till Sring, & all records/paperwork/carfax. I get decent gas mileage (4cyl) & good performance & pick up. Ride is definitely harder & seats less comfy than my Camry was, so that takes some getting used to. Back seats very uncomfortable, but thankfully, my dog is the only one feeling that, most of the time. I even put a long cushion there for her! Do love the ease of putting them down for larger cargo space, & that they adjust like the front seats, however. Driver sits a bit high & wish the steering wheel tilted, for better arm extension & feel when driving. But you get used to it. Love the daytime running lights @ the dash. Big difference w/ease of seeing everything there. Love the tinted windows too. Still getting used to the gear changer not being in a straight line, however. Wish rear door opened from right to left instead of toward curb, for better ease w/loading. You have to walk around the door too much & spare tire should be modified somehow, so you can roll down back window for loading too. Don't need the wiper there. Rather have full use of the window. Sound system leaves a lot to be desired compared to my 16 YO Camry. Eats the CD, so I need to keep it out when not playing it. Way too much base & can't control it to make it less, altho it indicates that it is. Distorts sound & can give you a headache. That is an issue, b/c I spend a lot of time in my car & am big on music. Very disappointed w/the stereo system in there. No front/rear control either, so the front is very loud & BASE heavy. :( No choice but to live w/it now. Sometimes I have no control over the volume at all, so I just have to shut it off, if it's too loud & hope when I turn it back on, it will work OK again. I guess I'm stuck w/it like that. :( Overall, good car & glad to have it. Hope to get a long life out of it. Maybe not as long as my old Camry, but wouldn't that be nice!? 66,500 & counting now. I would recommend this SUV overall. I'm sure the newer models are better in some areas w/improvements, or I would hope so.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Rav4

by Dot from Ft. Wayne, IN on Mon Apr 23 2012

Best decision I've made in a long time. I was concerned it would not drive smooth and be as comfortable as my previous sedans through the years, but I've been pleasantly surprised! Look no further - style, gas mileage, dependability and all around great SUV! Don't hesitate if your looking for an all around well balanced dependable vehicle - This is it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

IT'S THE BEST

by RICH from BERLIN, NJ on Sat Jul 08 2006

I HAVE OWNED THE V6 SPORT MODEL FOR 3 MONTHS NOW. I AM VERY PLEASED AND IMPRESSED. POWER AND RESPONSE IS GREAT. GAS MILAGE ON AVERAGE CITY/HWY HAS BEEN 24-27. CARGO IS GREAT AND FLEXABLE. MY ONLY COMPLAINT SO FAR IS THE TAILGATE, IT IS HEAVY AND INCONVIENT AT CURBSIDE PARKING. OTHER THAN THAT I LOVE IT!!! BOUGHT IT IN RUNNEMEDE; CHRISTIAN WAS GREAT.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2010Rav4

by Collin from on Thu Oct 01 2009

Toyota did it again. I love the interior of the limited 4x4 with nav, its elegant,symple and user friendly.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

another reliable toyota

by suv has room for the famiily with awesome gas mile from houston on Fri Feb 14 2014

count on it for reliability and style with plenty of room in back seat. The ideal car for a family and super comfort for long trips. Luggage and leg room for all without a 3rd seat.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive

by Not a Vette from Tri-Cities, WA on Tue Sep 11 2007

Rear gate is difficult in tight quarters, but cargo space is worth the hassle. Milage is good, about 24 mpg in mixed driving. Car is shorter than it appears making it good for short garages and parking. Turning radius is better than expected. I like this vehicle!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

12 yrs old and it still runs like a champ

by TKRIPPA from Elmira ON on Sun Jun 03 2018

The only dislike I have is the storage in the back, pretty cheap looking and not much you can put in the so called cubby xxxxx

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2006 Toyota RAV4

Toyota RAV4 was the original "cute ute." That's what people called it in 1996 when RAV was introduced as the compact alternative to the sport utility vehicles that were taking the market by storm.

Although the little Toyota made no pretensions about being a mighty off-road warrior, it did offer some of the advantages of its bigger brethren, including an elevated seating position, all-wheel drive and station-wagon carrying capacity. It also had some additional pluses, mainly good gas mileage and better maneuverability.

Originally, there was a short, quirky two-door model, but that was dropped after a couple of years as most buyers opted for the more-practical four-door RAV.

For 2006, RAV4 grows bigger... Read More