Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2004 Tundra

Consumer Reviews

2004 Toyota Tundra

$4,403 - $15,627  MSRP Range
2004 Toyota Tundra

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

29 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Toyota Tundra?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 29 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT CAR

by TundraTeen from on Sat Jul 11 2009

I love this car! It's very big and comfortable. It drives nice and is very reliable. The only thing that bugs me a bit is the turning radius - hard to make u-turns. Other than that, I would recommend the car to anyone who is brave to drive a big truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GOOD OLE' TOYOTA TUNDRA !

by Tundra Tim from Guilderland, NY/Pottersville, NY/Tuscaloosa, AL on Thu Jun 15 2017

I owned a 2004 green Tundra "Limited" double cab (we called it "The Green Monster"). I used it to commute to work every day, helped move friends' stuff, went on short trips, long trips, camping trips. It carried everything from kayaks and camping gear to stones, dirt and mulch. It towed a pontoon boat and a utility trailer. Most importantly, it safely and reliably carried our family [our yellow lab, my wife and my daughter(and various friends & relatives)] wherever we were going. My daughter learned to drive in it. We all LOVED it! I drove it for 13 years and for over 261,000 miles - THAT SAYS IT ALL !!!!! ; )

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Super happy but...

by Tundra Man from Dallas on Sat Jan 20 2007

Everywhere I go, people complement my truck. Everywhere I drive, it handles great with its V8. Everywhere I go I take a pillow. The seats are a pain on the back even when reclined. My passengers feel the same pain. Other than that, it is a keeper. Hopefully for many, many years!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck ever

by Jdog from sioux falls, SD on Wed Feb 01 2012

I have owned Chevy's, Fords, And Dodge. But now I own a 2004 toyota tundra TRD. WoW!!! I will never buy another truck except Tundra TRD. This truck drives like a car. Ford was the worst truck I ever owned Chevy was like your grandpas durt pile but Dodge was OK. Toyota has the best truck on the market habds down.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

toyota truck part III

by toy trucks from az on Fri Sep 24 2010

In 1985 I purchased a Toyota 4x4 pickup and drove it for 13 years. In 1999 I purchased a used T-100 4x4 and drove it 11 years. Now I have driven this Tundra 4x4 for 3 months and it is just as faithful as the rest. Why would anyone buy any other truck (except to get a diesel engine)?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST TRUCK ON THE ROAD !

by scout from monticello,florida on Sun Apr 15 2012

Best ride, drive, and style, for the money. Love the 2004-2005 older body style.Drives like a luxury car instead of a truck.Lots of comfort and room for everyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

a Pick up for twichy

by twichy from wi on Thu Oct 22 2009

fine truck, few issues ie rearmain seal at 7000 miles not problem since click in rear diff factory says drive it not a problem 51000 miles I will buy another tundra for sure

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great truck rides like a comfortable car!

by DDD from American Canyon, Ca on Sun Aug 19 2012

Have had several trucks over the years from a Cadillac EXT to Fords, Chevys and Dodge The Toyota Tundra I have now will be my truck of choice!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome pickup

by Dominodude from Jamestown, ND on Fri Nov 23 2007

I love this truck! It is a great size. Big enough to do the big things and small enough to fit in on the streets. Has great power and a smooth comfy ride. Everybody that gets in with me says they love the comfort and ride of this truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable truck

by petrk from Clearwater, FL on Tue May 02 2017

One of the most reliable trucks on the road. Plenty of power to haul or tow. Easy access for 5 passengers.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2004 Toyota Tundra

Toyota Tundra aims for America's heart
Double Cab SR5 capable of light hauling or family chauffeuring.

Maybe you've seen it.

You're driving down some narrow two-lane road and resting in a yard, a tree sprouting through its cab, is a pickup truck slowly yielding to the elements. Years from now, you might actually see a Toyota, laid to rest, return to the earth from which it sprang.

But seriously, it just could happen.

Sure, Ford and GM each sell 10 times as many large pickup trucks as Toyota. Of the 2.3 million pickups sold in 2003, only 60,000 were Tundras. It's hard to believe that the Tundra will become America's truck. But I'm sure people said that about the Camry when it was introduced in... Read More