2013 GTI

Consumer Reviews

2013 Volkswagen GTI

$10,736 - $19,152  MSRP Range
2013 Volkswagen GTI

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

28 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2013 Volkswagen GTI?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing car

by NNJGuy from New York, NY on Sun Aug 05 2012

Fine German engineering.. Got this baby before anybody else! the new updates are small as VW is gearing up for the mk7 release next year but I have had nothing but GTI's in the past and have had ZERO problems. Traded in, and in a few years will most likely trade to a Mk7 or a Scirocco (if they bring to US *fingers crossed). Overall great value. Recommend to anyone!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by Jfrivas from Houston, TX on Sun Oct 30 2016

This car is very comfortable and pretty efficient considering it's a turbo 4 cylinder. As far as exterior styling, it's a very simple, yet nice look. The interior is very simple, yet modern and luxurious. As far as performance, the car is VERY responsive when accelerating. It gets up to speed very quickly considering it's stock (coming from a previous car that was modified for performance). I have the automatic DSG transmission version and the dual clutch is a work of art. The shifts are so precise and quick, it shifts instantly and holds boost in between gear changes. As long as you do not step on it all of the time, you get very good gas mileage (about 350-400 miles per tank). This car is extremely smooth, quick, and easy to drive. Would recommend to anyone looking for a quick, comfortable daily driver. The week after purchasing this car, i took it on a road trip along with 3 other friends and we all were VERY comfortable and had plenty of leg room throughout the ride. This is coming from a 2dr hatchback (not the 4 door). The seats hold you in and are extremely comfortable, so comfortable that if you're tired, you're bound to feel sleepy because of how soft they are. Having somewhat wide lats and shoulders, i fit snug in the seat but do not feel squished.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wow!

by AZGTIGuy from Glendale, AZ on Fri Jan 31 2014

I absolutely love this car. Great performance, and a ton of fun to drive! I have had my GTI for 2 months now and it has been a great experience all the way around. The exterior styling is sexy, and it handles like a pro with plenty of power for accelerating onto busy freeways.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Runabout

by Dan from Cincinnati, ohio on Mon Feb 17 2014

Tired of paying premiums for fuel with yukon and needed a car to commute 40 miles daily to work. Wanted good mileage, performance and seat 5. Awesome car except passenger door handle broken at delivery, still broken. Technology, handling, power great. More comfortable than my lotus. Great little car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car, great price, great value

by Dave from Overland Park, KS on Tue Jul 30 2013

I could not be happier with my 2013 GTI. I have the 4 door Autobahn Edition with the DSG. I was a bit leery about going back to an automatic, but this transmission is the best! Interior comfort is excellent, and the fit and finish is exactly what you would expect from a German car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VW GTI

by JJ from Hoffman Estates on Sat Jan 10 2015

I really like the handling and performance of this car. It is smaller than my previous car, but my family fits better and I've found the trunk and fold-down seats provide lots of room to haul stuff. You can feel the German Engineering. I recommend this for anyone who wants a economical, sporty, flexible car if you are single or have a family. I also appreciated the information cars.com provided on available cars in the area. It helped me find the best dealer and the best deal! Working with a reputable dealer makes a BIG difference.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hot hatch goodness

by Rick P. from Cleveland, OH on Thu Aug 25 2016

I've been a German car fanboy since i bought my second car that was a 2002 VW Passat. Volkswagen makes a really quality car inside and out that is nearly unmatched by any rival in the pricepoint. Sure Hondas and nissans are nice, but none of them have the same feel as a German car. The interiors have always been light years ahead of the competitors, and the engines(they have their problems just like all of not maintained correctly) just feel better. Getting on to the actual car review. I was looking through a whole bunch of cars to buy in this price point($15-$20k) and decided on a 2013 VW GTI. If you haven't driven one and are considering it, I urge you to test drive one. They are an absolute delight to drive and though underpowered from the factory are really quick. I reccomend buying a stage 1 tune which can be used with stock components from a reputable company if purchasing one of these cars to really show you what the 2.0L Turbo can do. The ride is soft when you want it to be soft, and firm when you need it to be firm. It has the added benefit of being a hatchback so you can carry around as many groceries as you want while still being a weekend warrior. The aftermarket parts available are plentiful and there is a huge following of these cars. You get luxury and performance with a reasonable price. It absolutely cannot be beaten.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty yet a great car for commuting!

by Helen from Fredericksburg, VA on Mon Feb 05 2018

This was my son's car, but he no longer lives in the area. He loved driving it! It is sporty, but a great commuter car. We kept up the maintenance. It's a clean title - ready for the next person to love it!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Car to have

by Sjorge423 from New Jersey on Wed May 10 2017

This is the car to have as it performs well and it's a reliable car. Volkswagen also out does its self but the company was able to create a compact, fast and beautiful car while have a great price point .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Performance!

by EP2320 from Aurora, IL on Wed May 24 2017

Great performing vehicle and excellent handling. Amazing comfortable ride for a small car. Beautiful styling, fast and no turbo lag. Good quality interior materials and great sound/Nav Audio system.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3