2017 Passat

Consumer Reviews

2017 Volkswagen Passat

$10,809 - $18,485  MSRP Range
2017 Volkswagen Passat

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

169 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Volkswagen Passat?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

51 - 60 of 169 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Loyal VW Owner

by Donna R from Southern New Jersey on Thu Apr 06 2017

Just bought a 2017 VW Passat SEL Premium. I really didn't want to turn in my 2012 Passat Diesel as I LOVED it. However, I wasn't sure about the "fix", (specifically how it would affect the car AND more important would it definitely pass inspection/emissions in NJ?). Plus VW was paying me a premium for it. So, I purchased the 2017 gas model. Can't really talk about reliability yet but had zero problems with my 2012 with over 70K miles. The 2017 has lots of new features. HUGE rear seat space, and 2 front seats are comfortable...but only gave 4 stars for Interior because they closed up what little space under the radio area there was and I preferred it "open". I like more room for "stuff" and it seems there is less room now. Still a lot of car/value for the price and I purchased with the hope VW is still building a quality vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

feels like a higher-end German car

by feelgud from Tallahassee, Florida on Thu Jun 14 2018

I was looking for a Sonata-Accord-Camry kind of car and tried them before looking at the Passat. It feels more solid than the others and seems quieter as well. The turbo inline 4 has surprising power and in more than 800 miles of mostly in town driving, it's averaging more than 27 mpg. I appreciate the Android-Auto feature and use it as my primary navigation system. I recommend that anyone looking for this class of car should drive all of the others before driving a Passat.... you might be surprised.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Passat Rocks

by Fastball John from Phoenix, AZ on Fri Jan 26 2018

This is a great vehicle for the price point. Gets great gas mileage along with superior style points and power. You feel the torque from the front end it just gets up and goes well.. You can drive forever on a tank of gas...Looks great very stylish very user friendly...Great buy I recommend this car for anyone...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I am impressed!

by AMY from on Tue May 30 2017

This car is perfect for my family of 4. We all have plenty of leg room and I am in love! It also has all of the features I was looking for! Great buy:)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love this car

by royals 2015 from kansas city mo on Mon Mar 06 2017

ive only had car about a month but i had traded my chrysler 200 for this passat rline great styling interuior room is huge for a midsize this car wont win any races but the turbocharged engine will get it up to speed fast enough

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my R-line Passat

by Cuban slava59 from Burtonsville on Sat Apr 08 2017

This vehicle is nicely equip for the cost, the driving experience is unique. Passat is my third VW in the last 12 years. I'm a VW fan.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car for the money I've owned

by Retired from Cummings ga on Wed Aug 16 2017

I was very impressed with the quality of the car and my sales woman was very helpful and friendly and made it and enjoyable experience Silvia Egan I would recommend her and dealership

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Bang for the Buck !!

by Pete Pett from Alpha, NJ on Mon Apr 03 2017

The feel of the car is stable. The gas mileage is good. The new Pure White color really adds a ton of class to the exterior look. The heated seats and heated mirrors work very quickly. I was caught in a long downpour and the wiper top speed was adequate to keep up with the amount of water falling. The wide angle Blind Spot in the outside mirrors is an excellent asset. Overall, I enjoy the vehicle very much.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Proud Passat Leasees

by KramersluvthierVDubs from Neptune, NJ on Mon Jun 05 2017

The redesigned Passat is absolutely beautiful the Rline options are awesome and give the car a sporty look.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Passat review

by Ruben from Alabama on Wed Jul 19 2017

OK, you asked. This is not an exciting car to drive at all, I realized that during the Test drive, but, needed a new car and the Dealer I purchased from has always treated me well. It is a comfortable car, no problem there. Why does it have a "Sport Mode"? beats me.... Handles like any other mid size car. Performance is only Mediocre at best. interior space is far above any other car in its class,that is why I purchased this car. Good value, but don't expect it to be much more than a Grocery Getter. So, Good Value, Great MPG, Great comfort.... but.....boring to drive

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Volkswagen Passat

The verdict:


Multimedia system updates, a slew of new advanced safety features and lower fuel costs make the refreshed 2016 Volkswagen Passat much more attractive, even if its styling changes go largely unnoticed.

Versus the competition:


The Passat remains one of the roomiest and best-driving mid/full-size sedans. Updates where they were most needed keep the 2016 competitive, though its mileage is beginning to trail even though it went up this year.

Editor’s note: This review was written in January 2016 about the 2016 Passat, but little of substance has changed for this year. To see what’s new for 2017 click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years. To read the full review of the 2016 Passat, click here.

When it was introduced, the current-generation Volkswagen Passat sedan won Cars.com’s top award, the Best of 2012. The midsize-priced, full-size sedan aged well, and the 2015 took third place against nine competitors — most of which had been redesigned more recently — in our $27,000 Midsize Sedan Challenge. For 2016, Volkswagen’s product planners left well enough alone and improved only what... Read More