NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2011 Touareg

Consumer Reviews

2011 Volkswagen Touareg

$9,534 - $20,634  MSRP Range
2011 Volkswagen Touareg

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

25 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2011 Volkswagen Touareg?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 25 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Almost perfect

by Tim from Alameda, Ca on Thu Apr 28 2011

2011 TDI Premium Very nice, but seats could be more comfortable and had trouble with key fob, sine its replacement it’s been fine. Positives; handles great, good acceleration 0-60, fair above that. Very nice interior and love the full sun roof. Very good mileage. Negatives; had minor problems with the key fob, but once it was replaced, it’s been fine

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best in Class

by Touareg Lover from St. Louis, Missouri on Fri Apr 29 2011

This is the best. Really researched the category, drove them all and I am a former BMW driver (I still have two others) but this thing is the bomb. Best I've driven by a lot.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2011 Touareg LUX TDI

by flying eagle from Oregon on Fri Dec 09 2011

Awesome vehicle - best I have ever owned. Diesel getting better than expected mileage. Lots of power and smooth ride for an SUV. No issues in 4000 miles so far. Sold my Audi Q5 to get this - good decision.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Road Hugging Luxury

by Bill from PA Dutch on Wed Feb 02 2011

Handles like an MB TD. I can't believe I can sit up this high & still corner like I'm sitting way down low. TDI pick up is great, although I'm not looking for drag strip performance. I drive leisurely most times. Even new, 28 MPG on trips. Seating comfort is grand. Sound system superb. Only dislikes are: Seat buttons location means that if the driver's door blows closed & you catch it, you hit a seat button. Cup holders should be located 3 inches forward of their current position. I am very impressed with VW's commitment to customer satisfaction. To tal commitment!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the coolest SUVs I've owned

by VW Fan from Raleigh, NC on Mon Apr 07 2014

The 2011 Volkswagen Touareg TDI Executive is one awesome car. First it gets amazing gas mileage for size, weight and performance. Second, it's decked out with tons of options, hard disk drive, SD-card slots, navigation, Voice control, satellite radio, keyless ignition, etc. Third, the off-road capability is perfect for driving on the beach, off-road trails, or through deep snow in the mountains. This is one of the last true SUVs on the market. All of the unibody SUV impersonators cannot perform like this vehicle. I'm talking about the Mercedes M-Class, BMW X5, Toyota and Honda fake SUVs, Ford Explorer, etc.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent but too early to tell

by stemer from WI on Sun Dec 18 2011

We searched for this vehicle and found an excellent model. Very happy so far. Have placed Blizzex tires on it but alas, no snow yet so can't comment how it will perform in winter conditions.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best highway cruiser.

by EB_96 from Bay Area, CA and Piedmont-Triad, NC on Wed May 24 2017

Being 6' 4", few midsize SUVs, or any car for that matter, are comfortable for long trips. The Touareg is amazingly planted anywhere it goes, and can be extremely fuel efficient. Setting the cruise control between 72 and 78 will easily yield north of 30MPG on the highway - of course depending on payload. With a large, twenty-six gallon fuel tank, one can expect a cruising range of over 700 miles before having to stop for a refuel. For a 2011 model, the technology and amenities are far beyond what would be considered to be standard - the large LCD display mounted between the tachometer and the speedometer displays very useful information about the car, navigation guidance, and other infotainment statues. The navigation is rather robotic, and could use an update, but spending the money to upgrade the system seems non-cost effective with the advent of GoogleMaps and the like. The cargo area can be cavernous when needed, and the seats fold down with the flip of a switch. I am very curious to see how the TDI emissions scandal will affect the performance of my car, as I will be opting to bring the vehicle to emission compliance, rather than selling it back or trading it in. But for now, I will continue to be extremely pleased with my Touareg!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

nancy

by nancy from Elmira, n.y. on Tue Feb 15 2011

Great car rides real smooth. The only down fall is the disc player...in the glove compartment. very poor place can't really be used . otherwise great car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Well built all wheel drive SUV

by PB-ELP from El Paso, TX on Sat Jul 06 2019

This vehicle is up there, can easily rival land rover. Reliable, stable, well built and low cost of ownership. Highly recommended for family daily use.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle I've ever owned

by TDI_Fan from NY, NY on Mon Apr 21 2014

Just absolutely love driving my Touareg TDI. Speedy acceleration, great handling and awesome torque. Looks great inside and out, seats are the most comfortable I've owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2011 Volkswagen Touareg

While Volkswagen recently moved to make two of its best-sellers — the new Jetta and Passat — more affordable by spending less on interior refinements, it’s going the opposite direction with its redesigned Touareg SUV.

The Touareg’s powerful base engine, standard high-tech features and comfortable ride endeared it to me.

It’s a near-luxury machine — and starting around $45,000, it had better be. Because if you’re shopping this class, you’re likely to shop for similarly priced models from Mercedes and BMW, let alone Acura, Lincoln and Lexus. That’s stiff competition.

And the thing is, the Touareg almost outdrives all of them.

Performance
I can’t say... Read More