2011 Touareg

Consumer Reviews

2011 Volkswagen Touareg

$8,850 - $24,294  MSRP Range
2011 Volkswagen Touareg

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

24 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2011 Volkswagen Touareg?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Nice suv - 2011 TDI Lux

by Touareg from Arizona on Sat May 21 2011

Only thing I can say somewhat negative about this suv is the huge vw emblems on it. Come on vw make them smaller. Love the suv. The best I have driven hands down. Power, mpg (30mpg on Interstate at 80mph), style, comfort and ride!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

TDI Mileage Camp

by Arthur from Bellevue WA on Thu Jan 21 2016

This is a heavy quiet SUV and have the LUX model. Got 27.8 MPG on the highway with an average speed of 78 MPH. Car is quiet and drives with a firm solid feel. Gas prices will go up and this SUV still averages 23MPG around town. Bought the SUV with a burned out tail light and that was the only thing I have done to the car in 4000 miles of driving to date.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Road Hugging Luxury

by Bill from PA Dutch on Wed Feb 02 2011

Handles like an MB TD. I can't believe I can sit up this high & still corner like I'm sitting way down low. TDI pick up is great, although I'm not looking for drag strip performance. I drive leisurely most times. Even new, 28 MPG on trips. Seating comfort is grand. Sound system superb. Only dislikes are: Seat buttons location means that if the driver's door blows closed & you catch it, you hit a seat button. Cup holders should be located 3 inches forward of their current position. I am very impressed with VW's commitment to customer satisfaction. To tal commitment!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2011 Touareg LUX TDI

by flying eagle from Oregon on Fri Dec 09 2011

Awesome vehicle - best I have ever owned. Diesel getting better than expected mileage. Lots of power and smooth ride for an SUV. No issues in 4000 miles so far. Sold my Audi Q5 to get this - good decision.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Almost perfect

by Tim from Alameda, Ca on Thu Apr 28 2011

2011 TDI Premium Very nice, but seats could be more comfortable and had trouble with key fob, sine its replacement it?s been fine. Positives; handles great, good acceleration 0-60, fair above that. Very nice interior and love the full sun roof. Very good mileage. Negatives; had minor problems with the key fob, but once it was replaced, it?s been fine

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best in Class

by Touareg Lover from St. Louis, Missouri on Fri Apr 29 2011

This is the best. Really researched the category, drove them all and I am a former BMW driver (I still have two others) but this thing is the bomb. Best I've driven by a lot.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

nancy

by nancy from Elmira, n.y. on Tue Feb 15 2011

Great car rides real smooth. The only down fall is the disc player...in the glove compartment. very poor place can't really be used . otherwise great car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent but too early to tell

by stemer from WI on Sun Dec 18 2011

We searched for this vehicle and found an excellent model. Very happy so far. Have placed Blizzex tires on it but alas, no snow yet so can't comment how it will perform in winter conditions.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the coolest SUVs I've owned

by VW Fan from Raleigh, NC on Mon Apr 07 2014

The 2011 Volkswagen Touareg TDI Executive is one awesome car. First it gets amazing gas mileage for size, weight and performance. Second, it's decked out with tons of options, hard disk drive, SD-card slots, navigation, Voice control, satellite radio, keyless ignition, etc. Third, the off-road capability is perfect for driving on the beach, off-road trails, or through deep snow in the mountains. This is one of the last true SUVs on the market. All of the unibody SUV impersonators cannot perform like this vehicle. I'm talking about the Mercedes M-Class, BMW X5, Toyota and Honda fake SUVs, Ford Explorer, etc.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle I've ever owned

by TDI_Fan from NY, NY on Mon Apr 21 2014

Just absolutely love driving my Touareg TDI. Speedy acceleration, great handling and awesome torque. Looks great inside and out, seats are the most comfortable I've owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2011 Volkswagen Touareg

While Volkswagen recently moved to make two of its best-sellers — the new Jetta and Passat — more affordable by spending less on interior refinements, it's going the opposite direction with its redesigned Touareg SUV.

The Touareg's powerful base engine, standard high-tech features and comfortable ride endeared it to me.

It's a near-luxury machine — and starting around $45,000, it had better be. Because if you're shopping this class, you're likely to shop for similarly priced models from Mercedes and BMW, let alone Acura, Lincoln and Lexus. That's stiff competition.

And the thing is, the Touareg almost outdrives all of them.

Performance
I can't say enough about the V-6 engine powering... Read More