2020 XC40

Consumer Reviews

2020 Volvo XC40

$33,700 - $42,450  MSRP Range
2020 Volvo XC40

Review Score

5.0 out of 5 stars

5.0

41 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
5 out of 5 stars Comfort
5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2020 Volvo XC40?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 41 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

love it!

by Skj from Guilford, CT on Mon Dec 09 2019

The inscription model is far above the BMW in features and ride quality. Love the bending lights and pilot assist for safety. The extended front seats help my long legs and the charging phone port keeps my it secure. Love being able to see navigation between the steering wheel - much safer and in 3D.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this Volvo

by Stella from Indianapolis, IN on Tue Jan 07 2020

This vehicle is very comfortable while offering excellent lumbar support. I’ve owned several Volvos in the past and I’m again very happy with how this vehicle drives, and has great response for an SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Never Thought I Would Own a Volvo

by lkinworthy from Webster Groves, MO on Tue Mar 03 2020

My previous car was awesome and planned to purchase an upgrade, but I saw the Volvo on the road and decided to check it out. Best. Decision. Ever. Not only is my Volvo more comfortable, its got all kinds of features that I didn't even know I wanted. I look forward to going to work now because I get to drive my new Volvo.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1 week in and very satisfied

by LandOLakes Customer from Land O Lakes FL on Thu Jan 02 2020

We looked at Acura (RDX), Cadillac (XT4), and Lincoln (MKc) in addition to the Volvo. Overall the quality, fit, and finish of the Volvo stand out. It's a good looking vehicle with all the features we were looking for. It stood out well in the Consumer Reports ratings. We have had the vehicle for a week now and love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive!

by Anne E. from Long Beach Township, NJ on Mon Nov 04 2019

This car drives like a go cart! It’s zippy and responsive. I love all the safety features like the back up camera and the BLIS system. So happy to have made this purchase!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So glad to have a Volvo again

by Kit from Denver on Sat Jan 25 2020

The XC40 is a perfect car for me, a roomy but compact SUV with a luxurious interior. The seats are amazingly comfortable, the ride is smooth, and it drives like a dream.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Super Cute!!!!!

by That Girl from Bowie, MD on Sat Apr 04 2020

I wanted a small to mid-sized luxury vehicle that was safe, comfortable, loaded with technology, and also had the agility and style of a sports car. The 2020 XC40 R Design with the Advanced Package and heated steering wheel additions did not disappoint. This car boast an extremely comfortable ride and comes with 'driving mode' options for when you really need to perform such as in very hilly areas or when you simple just have a need for speed. I love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

wonderful

by Skj from Guilford, CT on Mon Jul 27 2020

I love this car. Coming from a 2010 xc60 it was a change. The only complaint I have are seats, I have the inscription model with the most comfortable leather but they still do not compare to my old xc60 leather seats. The headlights however and overall ride is so comfortable, I love the way it integrates seamlessly with my phone, takes awhile to get used to. the upgrades to the sound system are the same as my old harmon kardon- like the gas mileage and auto shut off. owned it for 9 months now. Roomy front seat, not sure it would comfortable for 2 adults in back- great for groceries, love the 360 view camera and alert system when cars are passing, auto finger locks on doors and how it tells you when u left your keys in the car, love the remote start and locking it from your house in case you forget.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Volvo for life

by Peter from Garden City on Wed May 13 2020

This vehicle is the best one I have ever owned and would recommend it to anyone . Not only for the styling, color combos, comfort and performance, but for the fun and safety of the car. Letting me pick driving style is super, but would like to have it start up with this preference and not have to input each time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing car and an amazing lease deal!

by EdC from Minneapolis, MN on Sat Jul 04 2020

We purchased this car because we like driving in comfort, and we love Volvo seats. We paid off our old car ($450 payment) and leased a loaded XC40 for $357/mo! This new car has it all, self-driving Pilot Assist, panoramic sunroof, powerful motor, etc. We love this vehicle!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5