2017 XC90

Consumer Reviews

2017 Volvo XC90

$29,353 - $46,569  MSRP Range
2017 Volvo XC90

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

63 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Volvo XC90?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

21 - 30 of 63 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Jtg on Mon Jan 08 2018

Good value. Like the car for commuting. Good technology. Good drive. First time Volvo purchaser.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun car to drive and Excellent on gas!!!

by tre_j2169 from Pensacola, Florida on Sat Jul 21 2018

The different driving modes make the Volvo XC90 fun to drive. It's great on gas and even better on the highway. Literally this is a smart car on wheels.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

sleek, stylish and innovative

by darren isaak from st. Louis on Wed Nov 08 2017

This car has met all of my needs. With it's durability, options and sustainability, I see myself owning this car for a very long time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazed how much I like this car

by DrO from Kalamazoo, MI on Mon Feb 03 2020

Volvo proves they know luxury. This is the most amazing technologically I have ever driven. The horsepower from the supercharged 4-cylinder blows me away. Easily manages the entire family. Plenty of room. Convenient features abound. The semi-autonomous driving with adaptive cruise is amazing. And the best touchscreen in any car I've ever been in by far.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car has everything!

by Fly fisher, golfer, skier and sportsman from State College, PA on Wed Mar 07 2018

This car is rock solid! It has every safety feature there in the book while providing comfort and performance. I thought I'd give up performance when I traded my Volvo V8 XC90 for the new 4 cylinder engine. What a surprise to find the power and zest delivered by the turbo and super charged engine with the 8 speed transmission. I added the Polestar and it was a welcomed addition. I just rented a Cadillac Escalade on a ski trip and couldn't wait to get back to my Volvo.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Volvo has kicked it up a notch!

by BrianR on Mon Jul 31 2017

Volvo's new redesigned vehicles are bar-none best in class. Volvo, in my opinion, has passed Acura and Lexus in terms of class and overall experience from the drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Mid-sized SUV

by BJL from Atlanta, Georgia on Tue Dec 13 2016

I needed a SUV because my sedan was not adequate for 3 children, all still in booster/car seats. My wife drives an Escalade ESV , so I did not need the "larger" SUV. I test drove the new Audi Q7 and Acura MDX, both are brands I have owned previously and I was extremely satisfied with both. The MDX interior layout /the center counsel looked no different than my 2007 MDX. The entry in the 3rd row was via a 60/40 bench. It drove most like a truck of the 3. The Audi Q7 was well appointed, a close second to the Volvo. The entry into the 3rd row is a bit clumby, but not a deal breaker, all 2nd row seats move independent like the Volvo. The XC 90 R design is the one I purchased, it drives like my sedan did, and the technology is unparalleled, and 2 boosters and a car seat easily fit 3 across the second row, leaving 3rd row folded down most the time, but easily utilized for Cub Scout meetings, etc. This is my first Volvo, but after 1 month of driving my XC 90, I am very happy!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

34 out of 35 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect SUV for families wanting tech & safety

by Father who wants a functional SUV that's super saf from Philadelphia, PA on Mon Sep 05 2016

Awesome SUV. Not perfect, but a great combo of tech. meets safety meets comfort. It's not perfect as the Acura MDX had the captain's chairs and better middle consoles for the driver and rear, and the Mazda CX9 is a great SUV value wise, but misses a few key things. Absolutely get the HUD too for added safety. I cannot wait to continue to explore this vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome tech

by Antonio from Jersey City, nj on Thu May 18 2017

This vehicle has elegant styling inside and out. Semi autonomous driving feature is great. Powertrain is sufficient (t6 model) although sounds uninspiring at high RPM due to 4 cylinder (although powerful with supercharger and turbocharger)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice car, but...

by John Thomas from Glenwood on Fri Aug 10 2018

Great car for 2 passengers. Too compact in the back seats. Drive great. Good safety features. Wished it has better leg room for back passengers.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7