2008 TL

Consumer Reviews

2008 Acura TL

$3,322 - $12,850  MSRP Range
2008 Acura TL

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

110 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Acura TL?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

81 - 90 of 110 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Mr. Fana from NJ on Mon Oct 16 2017

This car has the best handling of any car I’ve had in the past. Performance is also great. Very reliable car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VERY NICE CAR

by DARRYL on Wed Jul 18 2018

VERY NICE CAR I RECOMMEND IT TO ALL IF ONLY I WAS WILLING TO SPEND THE MONEY FOR A NEW ONE. IF ONLY!!!IF ONLY!!!IF ONLY!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable and Safe.

by bmorgan92 from Toms River, NJ on Mon Jul 31 2017

This is definitely a great car and worth its value. Its a good looking, reliable, safe, fun car. I have no complaints.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

by Gustavo lugo from Brooklyn ny on Fri Dec 21 2018

This vehicle is a excellent choose for those who like sport cars. It’s a excellent car great performance at low cost. I’m a person who like to tune up cars and do exhibition at scrape moop team.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Balance between Performance and Luxury

by Old Guy with Young Tastes from Philadelphia Metro Area on Fri Dec 28 2007

Just purchased Carbon-Bronze TL-S Type this past weekend. Car has the balance of what I was looking for; very fast response, solid handling, good reliability and loaded with up-to-date technical features. Traded in a GMC Envoy so it's going from the ridiculous to the sublime. At 4,500 pounds, the Envoy was like driving a cinder block in high winds. The TL-S feels like it's glued to the road. Has a very "Germanic" road feel. Minor Criticisms: I use the MP3 connection buried in the armrest storage box and am having difficulty running the wires out. There is no way to run the wires (that I can see) that doesn't cursh them against the sides of the container when the armrest is down. Should have keyless start (remote start) since it has everything else. Love: Voice command! Love: The fact that it automatically starts downshifting as you slow down so I don't have to keep dropping it into a lower gear range (like the Envoy). I haven't broken it in yet and have not pushed it any where near its limits, but I am sure that it will do just fine.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love it ...

by Steph from Brentwood, CA on Thu Aug 16 2007

My fiancee and I just bought the car a couple months ago, and since then I have fell in love with the acura. We bought a TL type S...it's amazing. I especially love the navigation. It handles amazingly and the interior design is just wonderful!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very fun, high quality, too many gadgets

by gary from rural Washington state on Sat Feb 02 2008

I spent months researching and driving the competition. Have owned 2 other Acuras of old vintage and am sold on their durability. This car is so fun to drive and extremely comfortable. The power and speed is quite deceptive as the car is so quiet. The gadgetry is too high tech and offers too much that it's operation may be too complicated. Exterior styling is modest(to my liking). I hope the reliability is up to expectations!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Never had an issue.

by CHackett from Homer Glen, IL on Sat Aug 11 2018

I’ve owned the car since 2011 and I’ve never had a single mechanic problem with it. I maintained the car well and it did its job. I love this car and I’ll be sad when I have to trade it in.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nothing but the best

by Dylly1 from Elizabeth, New Jersey on Mon Sep 18 2017

Excellent performance and handling.. 2008 Acura TL type s. Acura makes the best cars, I can't wait to own the 2008 Acura TL type s with gray exterior

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car to own

by LeonQ from Tampa,Fl on Wed Dec 27 2017

My 2008 Acura TL is a great car and fun to drive. After owning a 2001 TL with no problems I upgraded to a 2008 TL and very happy with the purchase. Everyone likes the car and I get many compliments. I purchased this as a second car but find myself driving it more than my primary vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Our Take on the 2008 Acura TL


The 2008 Acura TL Type-S didn’t rock my world. I was really expecting sparks to fly, but I’m a few weeks away from giving birth and probably a bit crabby, which undoubtedly affects my worldview. While the car performed relatively well, there were too many things that disqualified it from being my perfect mommy-mobile. In short, the TL was fine, but not fabulous.

I drove the TL Type-S to Crested Butte, Colo., for the Fourth of July weekend, and my trip fell short in some respects, too. I know I sound implacable, so please don’t get me wrong – I’m not that hard to please. But I like things the way I like them, so when they’re not that way, I don’t like them... Read More