2008 Impala

Consumer Reviews

2008 Chevrolet Impala

$2,046 - $8,806  MSRP Range
2008 Chevrolet Impala

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

128 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Chevrolet Impala?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

51 - 60 of 128 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Great car but could be better

by Chevy Lover 24 from Baton Rouge, La on Mon Nov 29 2010

The Chevrolet Impala is a great vehicle but there are obvious concerns excessive wind nosie at high speeds it's much smaller on the inside than my 2005 Impala and the TPS is always acting up. other than those issues this is one of the best cars on the road it has great gas mileage in city and highway. Its dependable, Reliable, and Stylish

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

ok---but

by dave from mesquite nv on Wed Jul 27 2011

small annoying rattle in front seat armrest(between seats) that can't find. also tires wear too fast and are noisy. maybe it's just goodyear. 35,000 miles and second pair are almost done. one last thing....the cloth seat cover picks up on almost every color of clothing you wear. blue jeans are the worst. seats were gray and now are blue gray.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Things keep going wrong

by Michigan gal from Grand Rapids, MI on Mon Jul 24 2017

I like the looks and handling but its been one thing after another of things going wrong. Only 120,000 miles. I would have ditched this car at 90,000 miles if I would have known.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Most unreliable vehicle I've owned

by Save yourself and do not buy from Indiana on Sun Aug 25 2019

I have owned this car for nearly 3 years now. I bought it with low 63k miles on it, one owner and clean title with no reported accidents. I was in the market for something more reliable, spacious and better on fuel than my high mileage 2001 Silverado I had at the time. I found a car that fit budget, had decent reliability reviews and was super clean. In the 3 years I've owned and 25 thousand miles I've put on the car, it has been problem after problem. First was both mufflers went bad. Then oil leak. I had to have the oil pan and valve cover gaskets replaced. Was not a cheap or easy job. Had to drop sub frame to get oil pan off. Then take a crossover coolant pipe off to get rear valve cover off which involved taking many other things off. After all that, the thing still looses oil. I've had to replace sway bar links in front. Alternator twice. Water pump is bad on it and now I'm pretty sure at only 88k miles my transmission is going out. I'm sure I'm forgetting things that aren't normal maintenance (tires, brakes, battery, fluids, etc). It has more rattles inside it than a baby store does. I usually baby this car and rarely open it up. I've had better luck in the past with beating the xxxx out of vehicles and having no problems. Will never buy another Impala.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New SS Owner

by Car Fanatic from Greensboro, NC on Tue Aug 05 2008

In March we bought a new black 2008 Impala Super Sport (SS) and absolutely love this car. It is the whole package - style, performance, power, looks, etc. We get so many compliments on this car and especially on the wheels. Repeatedly, I have walked toward our car parked in a parking lot to find men standing there checking it out and they really compliment this car which I appreciate hearing. It drives and rides so good and so far our gas mileage has been better than expected. We have a sunroof, XM radio, Onstar, heated seats, dual climate control, power windows and locks, it's programmed to open and close our garage door, rear seats fold down, large trunk, 6 disc CD changer, etc. Too many features to list all of them. The Onstar hands free calling is a nice feature if you need to talk while driving and don't want to hold your cell phone. Very nice car!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

This Car is Hungry for Tires

by Chevy Girl from Pueblo, CO on Mon Jun 20 2011

I owned a 2008 Chevy Impala SS. I thought it was the best car I ever owned, until I had to purchase new tires every year for the car at $900.00. I am not a careless or fast driver, so if you like sports cars you better have the money to buy new tires every year. Oh yeah and make sure you are careful when purchasing new good year eagle GT tires because I found out the hard way that there is no warranty on these tires, most likely because they wear out so fast. One more thing, It was a gas hog. I now own a Chevy Cruze and am very happy with it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1998 chevy lunima

by blnkey from weber city, Va on Sun Oct 30 2011

I wished i had learned of all the problems the impala had for the past three years i would have went to a ford. I bought a used 2008 impala LTZ with almost 30,000 on it so far i had the right rear door auto lock replaced ( under warrenty). when i read all of the customer complaints this really made me sick. I hope this car isn't one of them.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car !!!!!

by Betsy from Laurel, MS on Wed Jan 22 2014

This is a great bang for your buck. It rides good, gets great gas mileage for this size vehicle and has wonderful get-up-and go. It is very comfortable and roomy. When you take a trip it does not make you tired.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love Our First Chevrolet

by Former Ford Man from Raleigh, Nc on Thu Feb 10 2011

Very comfortable and quiet ride. Very reliable. This is mainly driven by my wife. I don't think she would ever give her car up!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Worst car I've ever owned!

by AnonyMouse from Highland Mills, NY on Mon Apr 02 2012

This is absolutely the worst car I have ever owned, or known anybody to have ever owned, worst mistake of my car buying life letting myself be sold into buying this car. Why? Well everything breaks! I have been stuck in a supermarket parking lot unable to move because the shifter was locked up. I have been listening and feeling the car shake like an earthquake going downhill due to constantly warped brakes even after changing out all 4 rotors and pads, I have had my accelerator changed out by the dealership, with the car sounding and moving like a dying animal. I have had a defective leaking Fuel Valve replaced, random (unexplainable by the dealership) battery corrosion, one of my automatic door locks no longer works, premature tire wear, two wheel hubs replaced and the ride on the car is still extremely noisy, I feel/hear every bump in the road, the shifter torque locks every time I park on a hill (pretty sure I've worn out my E-Brake pretty bad because of this), and best of all is that I've had my car serviced at 3 different Chevy/GM dealerships which each one giving me the same poor attitude about anything wrong I ever bring up. This car company is paid for in part by my tax dollars and at this point I feel like I have not only been ripped off by GM, but also by the American government. GM needs to take responsibility for its poor product designs whether part of the NEW GM or the OLD GM, recall these cars and give me a refund of absurd amount of money I have had to pay for a poor excuse of a way to get to work and pay my tax dollars to support this country. I'm truly sick to my stomach writing this review and I hope the NEW GM or the OLD GM or whoever they wanna be are truly ashamed of themselves, and lose tons of sleep over it, although I highly doubt it!

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

11 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com