2008 Impala

Consumer Reviews

2008 Chevrolet Impala

$2,010 - $8,850  MSRP Range
2008 Chevrolet Impala

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

128 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Chevrolet Impala?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

61 - 70 of 128 reviews

1 out of 5 stars

08’ Impala-ONLY Yr deadly recalls were ignored

by ResearchGuru from Hudson Wisconsin on Sat Jul 07 2018

Look into all very dangerous, deadly and only ignored in 08’ Impala LT Sedan Model-airbag safety restraint system recalls and issues as well as all safety belt restraint recalls and issues. Then include rear and front suspension issue recalls and issues... Don’t forget to read all open lawsuits and investigations. Specifications on parts like the TAKATA airbag and other safety system flaws killing and injuring thousands, yet being left in car like this yr etc etc etc. ’Not enough deaths in the 08’ were reported’ BUT the other hundreds of thousands did have enough’! That used the same EXACT DEFECTIVE system. Don’t wait until your control arm snaps on the highway causing you to lose control and collide with something, to then find out that your seatbelt didn’t ’lock’ up to hold you back or your airbag didn’t deploy or very sadly that the presence sensor for your 12 yr old failed to keep the airbag off due to weight and the passenger bag did partially deploy with a defective inflator BUT still was too much impact for your petite child and instantly killed her all in an accident that shouldn’t have caused more then a bump, bruise sore back or neck. Don’t wait to get all these things inspected, repaired to prevent accidents (front lower driver and passenger control arm assemblies newest revision/design) Don’t wait to get this looked at if you still have a warranty, to not drive it again, to not sell it if you learned your airbag system is in fact bad... Steer clear of the ’08 unless all refurbished and watch out for the late 07’ and early 09’s.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best investments I’ve made

by SteveWest11 from Southfield, Michigan on Sun Jun 10 2018

I bought this car used and I wasn’t sure that if it was going to meet all of my needs. It turns out that it does meet all of my needs. The all black exterior and all black leather exterior are great. The V6 engine is very powerful. The luxury of having an e85 fuel tank is also great because it allows me to save money on gas. Overall, the car is a great car and it gets me where I need to go.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

nissan sentra

by bikay from cromwell on Tue May 07 2013

i was very lucky to meet a good sales man at middletown nissan, davis who sold a good used car to me.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've owned

by Ale1895 from Wyoming, Michigan on Wed Jul 05 2017

Outstanding vehicle, highly recommend this vehicle ! They have an SS model which I currently have, great engine, interior and exterior is great .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wanted a good reliable car

by Best deal from Atlanta, NY on Mon Mar 24 2014

This car is extremely comfortable, roomy quiet. Plenty of power. Exterior design is beginning to look a bit dated, but overall, I feel like this is one of the best cars you can get for the money if not THE best. I am confident that this car is going to last me for years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great overall

by SS Boi from Detroit, MI on Tue Aug 23 2011

I was looking for a 2003 Grand Price GTP and everyone I came across had a lot of miles. I finally decided to try another Impala SS since I own a 2004 supercharged. I found one a week later on cars.com from a trusted Chevrolet dealership. It was a 2008 SS with 7,500 miles. Still under factory warranty and very clean. Now I own 2 and couldn't be happier!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

It not the best car to own.

by Gmoney from Detroit on Sun Nov 26 2017

This car have been a lot of problems for me. I would get a car like this. Well the cars that have the V8 5.3 front wheel drive problems after problems.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Like it fine so far

by Cross Country Traveller from Denver Colorado on Sat Apr 26 2008

Traded a 2001 for this one because I liked it so well. This one has a lot of similarity, and has many of the same good points. The 3/6 cylinder control seems like a no brainer, but haven't driven it enough to know yet. The car is loaded with almost everything you'd want, and a few things I didn't want. Front bench seat is available, and I love the extra space freed up by skipping the hard console and bucket seats; shifter is on the steering column where it should be, etc, etc. Heating/cooling excellent, dual controlled, and the radio, after figuring out how it works, is nice; no more switching from AM to FM etc. Came with XM and Onstar, which I will let expire as rapidly as possible. Who needs these, just padding the car as near as I can tell, but you get them as part of the package. Why then no built in garage door opener? Should be standard but isn't. The driver's information display is fascinating to an engineer; the other driver could care less about watching the mileage change in response to the load put on it. That said, the passenger often would like to know the temp and heading, but can't see it from his/her seat. And what is the point of a display that tells me, with a light no less, that there is a passenger airbag installed? With only three thousand miles so far, hard to give a reliability rating, etc. Bottom line; a great car so far.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

takes the fun out of driving

by Traveller from California on Fri Sep 12 2008

I rented one, while on business, for four days. I had to do a car exchange. Very uncomfortable. I like to drive and I often drive around just to drive around. Not in this car. I'd rather sit in the hotel room. The radio sound quality is average. I do like the way the radio displays the preset stations. It has the cruise and radio controls on the steering wheel which is a plus.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Repairs through the years were extensive

by Hbtig from Manalapan, NJ on Wed May 30 2018

Except for the constant repairs and getting stuck 3 times, I loved the car. After all it was the SS model with the best engine I ever had in a car. 303 hp , 8 cylinder that dropped to a 4 cylinder on the road.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com