2008 Tahoe

Consumer Reviews

2008 Chevrolet Tahoe

$6,094 - $17,410  MSRP Range
2008 Chevrolet Tahoe

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

55 Reviews
82% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Chevrolet Tahoe?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

21 - 30 of 55 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Always something to get fixed at high cost.

by JRC from New Braunfels, Texas on Mon Feb 17 2020

Very cheaply made. Door handles came loose, had to glue them back on. Stabilizer bars rusted thru. Ball joints had to be replaced. Poor gas milage compared to my 2006 Suburban. Seatbelt got hung up and wouldn’t work. Warning light to service battery charging system. Chevy dealers cannot replace faulty airbags made by Tacata because they are not available.This is on a vehicle with less than 100k miles. Trade in value at reputable dealers is a lot lower than Kelly blue book.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best tow vehicle ever!

by KJK from Rochester, NY on Fri Oct 21 2011

We had to replace our tow vehicle quickly, so decided to finally try the Tahoe. Have always loved the look! Best tow vehicle yet, over the Expedition and the Navigator. I feel safe, tough and ready for anything!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

smell exhaust fumes

by n/a from buffalo,ny on Sun Oct 14 2007

ok truck but we smell exhaust fumes when stopped and having a charging problem not happy with that otherwise the truck is ok good ride good handling

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

wind noise

by maf from RDH on Tue Aug 26 2008

Interior is noisy. On free ways wind noise is bothersome. Floor is not flat therefore with folded seats one can not use it as sleeping area. On acceleration one doesnot feel the power. Transmission shift is not smooth.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Do not buy this vehicle.

by Buyers remorse from Detroit on Sun Mar 17 2019

Too many motor problems. This is my second one and I’ve experienced the exact same problems with this vehicle. The 5.3 engine is trash. You will regret buying this vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Just OK nothing more, nothing less.

by Daily Driver from Michigan on Tue Nov 01 2011

Coing from a 2006 Jeep Commander Limited, I pretty much knew no other SUV would be as good all around. The 2008 Tahoe is a pretty bitchin car on the outside. The seats are comfortable but all the dashboars plastics and door panels are hard. There is also a large gap between the center console and the navigation system, so papers and small things fall back there. If you get the optional 20" rims, dont expect a nice ride. There isn't enough tire between the wheel and the road so ALL the bumps make their way into the cabin. Also, the back seats are a pain in the butt to remove, weighing in at about 80 pounds each, and they dont fold into the floor like all other Suv's do. On the plus side, the heated seats warm up really fast, the backup camera and navigation have a large display (although no green-red box on backup cam). Overall, its a pretty good car, but if you have high expectations like I did, I'd go with something else.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

My first Chevy ’

by Sammmmie from California on Sun Jul 22 2018

I've always own Ford truck...gave Chevy a try I've always wanted to own a Tahoe so I bought 08 Tahoe worst car I've own...at 120,000 miles I put in a brand new rear differential , another tranny after the new rear differential...now I think it needs a new engine’no power at all... should've bought another expedition...

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Not Impressed

by NC Dad from Charlotte NC on Sat Apr 16 2011

Rented a Tahoe for vacay. The vehicle styling is very nice but performance and handling is lame. My Expedition has a much better ride and the quality feel is no comparison. If you're in the market (and ready to bite the bullet on SUV gas milege look at the Expy.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Near 100000 miles the motor fail big time.misfire

by Ernben21 from Florida on Wed Dec 18 2019

Needs a better motor design. Near 100000 miles motor cylinder 7 misfire do by AFM system. I paid more than 35000 , Is a bad motor design and Gm don’t do anything should be a recall for this failure

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good car for the price

by Zdeckich from on Tue Jun 06 2017

Overall the car is very good for its price point. The rear doors could be larger to be easier to get in and out of. The 4.8L is very under powered. I have the base LS model without the air suspension and the ride is very harsh. AC is very cold and heat is very hot. Very dependable overall.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com