NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Traverse

Consumer Reviews

2017 Chevrolet Traverse

$16,049 - $28,301  MSRP Range
2017 Chevrolet Traverse

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

159 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Chevrolet Traverse?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

151 - 159 of 159 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love it

by Kat from Phoenix AZ on Wed Oct 18 2017

This vehicle more than met my expectations. It is very comfortable, handles well, good gas mileage and lots of options. I am very happy with it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It’s comfortable, smooth ride, my children love it

by Maryamk19 from Chicago, IL on Wed Dec 06 2017

I am 6 feet and this vehicle gives me enough leg room and comfortablity. It’s good on gas and has enough space for my family!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Rockin Roomy

by Motown Machine from Detroit, MI on Sat Dec 30 2017

Very good vehicle. Drives well except, on my model, I would have preferred a better gear set up. Does have plenty of go though! Mileage is better than expected -- 20+mpg on the highway.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable and Beautiful!

by Grandpa and Grandma on the Road from Laporte, MN on Tue Apr 17 2018

We have had our vehicle for only two and a half weeks and we love it! It is very comfortable and has the space that we need. It has so many bells and whistles and we are learning something new about all of them every day. Apparently others feel the same way as we have received many positive comments from our friends.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

So far loving y new car

by chenderson from RED WING on Tue Jun 05 2018

I have really loved my new car. very spacious for our older kids! Love the connect-ability options. Love the in car call options too. The little things that hold the floor mats in place jut snap off and dont do the job they should be doing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this car

by MrsBigdog from Surprise AZ on Sun Oct 29 2017

I am completely satisfied with my Traverse. The only drawback is city driving gas mileage is only 13-15 mpg.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by DebbieandJohnny from Statesville on Sat May 19 2018

This car meets all our present needs and should also meet our future needs. It is very roomy and comfortable. Can even haul the dogs in it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comforable, safe, a pleasure to drive and roomy.

by Granny to 8 from Valparaiso, IN on Sat Jul 01 2017

My Traverse is very stylish, just enough room for grandchildren, fits all my needs and expectations.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car meets our families needs for years to com

by WilliamIII from Irmo,SC on Sat May 27 2017

I love the way it drives and comfort it provides. The first "big" car I have ever owned and it exceeds my expectations by far. I only wish the gas mileage combined would be around 22 or so instead ead of 18. I would recommend this car to any family of 4-7 people.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Prev

Our Take on the 2017 Chevrolet Traverse

The verdict:


The 2016 Chevrolet Traverse offers generous cargo space and passenger room, but truck-like handling and an irritating multimedia system are major weaknesses.

Versus the competition:


When it comes to things like diamonds and vacations, bigger is almost always better. When it comes to three-row SUVs, that's not always the case — especially where Chevrolet is concerned.


In Cars.com's $40,000 Three-Row SUV Challenge, the 2014 Traverse went head-to-head with several rivals — including the Toyota Highlander, Dodge Durango and Hyundai Santa Fe — and landed at the bottom of the pack. For 2016, the only change of note is the addition of standard 4G LTE connectivity and Wi-Fi hotspot functionality (data subscription required). Compare the 2015 and 2016 Traverse models here, and see how the Traverse compares against three of its competitors here.

Editor’s note: This review was written in October 2015 about the 2016 Traverse, but little has changed with this year’s model. To see what’s new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years. 

Exterior & Styling

Imitation is the trend in the three-row SUV class, with many shared styling cues homogenizing the segment. The Traverse is no exception. It wears a broad version of the brand’s trademark grille and the sloping roofline and shapely silhouette popular with the rest of the class. The overall look is clean and polished, if unexciting.

How It Drives

The Traverse is big and drives like it; it’s heavy and has a larger turning... Read More