NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Traverse

Consumer Reviews

2017 Chevrolet Traverse

$16,049 - $28,301  MSRP Range
2017 Chevrolet Traverse

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

159 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Chevrolet Traverse?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 159 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best car we have owned so far.

by Barchet from Waterloo,IL on Fri Mar 30 2018

We love it. It rides so nice and is big enough to haul family and other things we need. The value is exceptional for the price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Spacious vehicle

by J. Lewis from Southfield on Tue Mar 28 2017

The vehicle have multiple use. I have both comfort and style for my family. The features inside the car are totally user friendly.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Car Purchase

by Jeff from Harrisburg,pa on Thu Dec 05 2019

Very pleased with this vehicle so far. Dealer is addressing minor concerns and expect resolution within two weeks. Looking forward to long ownership due to dealers attention

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best price and reliable vehicle I have owned

by Paul B from BOISE Id on Tue Oct 08 2019

This vehicle has a lot of nice features. And it is a reliable brand! Very pleased with the price! And it runs very smoothly. We love the third row seating ! Perfect for a family of six! Like ours. It gets good gas milage. Would definitely recommend this vehicle to anyone that wants room for the entire family and good gas mileage plus it’s all wheel drive and ours came with a tow package.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car for the money!

by Just Molly from Salamanca, NY on Thu Nov 14 2019

We went from driving a GMC Terrain (AWD) to and AWD Chevy Traverse because we really needed the third-row seating. It's been a great car. So much more room; it's comfortable, reliable, and an all-around good looking car that isn't breaking the bank (much, lol). The only negative we've found is that it does not seem to have the traction/control that we were used to with our older Terrain. I am going to have our mechanic look at the tires and see if that is where the problem lies, because aside from this issue, we couldn't have asked for a better car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best cars we have owned.

by Bobby & Sylvia Jan from Hazelwood, MO on Thu Jan 25 2018

So far it has been a pleaser to ride in and drive. It has more room than we thought it would have and being able to fold down adds to the room.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2017 traverse

by Bradlachapelle from Snohomish on Sun Dec 24 2017

This 2017 suv is a sharp looking rig inside and out.This make is the most affordable with a lot of bells and whistles

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Chevy traverse

by Sarah Janik from Colorado on Sun Jul 09 2017

This is the best family car I have ever owned. Perfect for our family of six plus two dogs. The engine is amazing. You can feel the power of he v6 and we can tow up to 5,000 pounds which is perfect for road and camping trips!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by cdunnright from Wichita, KS on Wed Oct 09 2019

This vehicle answers all my needs from easy to handle, comfort, and style. I love that it has several cup holders and cell phone charging ports. It's very roomy and being able to open the back to load items is a life saver.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle I've owned so far.

by mrsklug from St Francis, WI on Fri Sep 01 2017

The Traverse is exactly what we've been looking for. Looked at plenty of vehicles that seat 7. This was everything we were looking for and more. Plenty of leg room in the front and middle seats. 3rd row has a little less leg room but works great for the kids and isn't uncomfortable for adults.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Chevrolet Traverse

The verdict:


The 2016 Chevrolet Traverse offers generous cargo space and passenger room, but truck-like handling and an irritating multimedia system are major weaknesses.

Versus the competition:


When it comes to things like diamonds and vacations, bigger is almost always better. When it comes to three-row SUVs, that's not always the case — especially where Chevrolet is concerned.


In Cars.com's $40,000 Three-Row SUV Challenge, the 2014 Traverse went head-to-head with several rivals — including the Toyota Highlander, Dodge Durango and Hyundai Santa Fe — and landed at the bottom of the pack. For 2016, the only change of note is the addition of standard 4G LTE connectivity and Wi-Fi hotspot functionality (data subscription required). Compare the 2015 and 2016 Traverse models here, and see how the Traverse compares against three of its competitors here.

Editor’s note: This review was written in October 2015 about the 2016 Traverse, but little has changed with this year’s model. To see what’s new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years. 

Exterior & Styling

Imitation is the trend in the three-row SUV class, with many shared styling cues homogenizing the segment. The Traverse is no exception. It wears a broad version of the brand’s trademark grille and the sloping roofline and shapely silhouette popular with the rest of the class. The overall look is clean and polished, if unexciting.

How It Drives

The Traverse is big and drives like it; it’s heavy and has a larger turning... Read More