NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Traverse

Consumer Reviews

2017 Chevrolet Traverse

$16,049 - $28,301  MSRP Range
2017 Chevrolet Traverse

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

159 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Chevrolet Traverse?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

31 - 40 of 159 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love my car

by Love my car from Roosevelt, NY on Mon Oct 03 2016

I owned a Chev HHR for the past,10 years and loved it. The salesman Squire McNear was so helpful when i brought the hhr that I went back to him for this purchase the Chev Traverse. Squire worked with me helping me to choose the right car fot me. I was able to order the color and everything else I wanted in my new car. The service I received from him was superb. I give Me. McNear a five star rating.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable seats and smooth ride

by Jeff from Bay City, Mi on Mon Apr 24 2017

Heated seats and trailer package, nice! Sport looking vehicle with plenty of room inside. Rear hvac controls for the passengers is a nice feature.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A very comfortable car. Gas mileage could be bette

by Paul from Lancaster, tx on Mon Apr 24 2017

Comfortable and roomy and good power.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Completely satisfied with the Traverse.

by CynthiaAD from Augusta, GA on Tue Nov 01 2016

The salesman Jorge Wejebe from AutoNation Doral made this the most hassle-free purchase of a vehicle I've ever experienced. I told him what I wanted and he delivered. His goal was to satisfy me as a customer and make sure I was completely satisfied. This is the first Chevy SUV I've owned and I am completely satisfied. I live in Georgia and would travel back here to Florida to purchase a vehicle from Jorge. Thanks a million Jorge

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Ms

by KMR from Dearborn heights mich on Thu Jun 22 2017

Smooth ride , I miss my trailblazer wish Chevy would bring it back. The traverse feels big in comparison and the Equinox to small. Trailblazer was the Perfect size.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Radio is crap, the satellite cuts out constantly

by phil-in-sarasota on Mon Apr 15 2019

The only good thing about this vehicle is the seating configuration. Otherwise the radio is garbage. The satellite cuts out constantly. It was sold to us as bluetooth ready, this was only half true. It will allow you to make and receive bluetooth phone calls but you can't play music via bluetooth. That is a higher level radio that they can't just upgrade you to.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Worst car I've ever owned

by Momof4 from Kokomo indiana on Mon Sep 17 2018

I have had this car for just a short period of time, and the service stabilitrak and traction control keeps coming on. Making my car put and gas gauge dropping. Now have to pay money to get it diagnosed because I only have drivetrain warranty

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my SUV

by Robin K. from Rensselear, NY on Thu Apr 27 2017

Love my new car !!! It's perfect for me!! Traded in my Chrysler 300 for this and I am so glad I did!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

We love the car

by SweeperTerry from California , Pa on Sat Aug 11 2018

We owned a traverse before, this car is great, room for 5 grandkids, has ports for charging electronics. Very comfortable to drive & ride in. My wife loves the car because she feels safe.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love Traverse Premium

by TopGun from Alpharetta, GA on Thu Jun 14 2018

pretty much power everything... more connected than my house.. love the XM radio.. performance is peppy. 3.6L V6. 20" tires gorgeous rims. very quiet ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Chevrolet Traverse

The verdict:


The 2016 Chevrolet Traverse offers generous cargo space and passenger room, but truck-like handling and an irritating multimedia system are major weaknesses.

Versus the competition:


When it comes to things like diamonds and vacations, bigger is almost always better. When it comes to three-row SUVs, that's not always the case — especially where Chevrolet is concerned.


In Cars.com's $40,000 Three-Row SUV Challenge, the 2014 Traverse went head-to-head with several rivals — including the Toyota Highlander, Dodge Durango and Hyundai Santa Fe — and landed at the bottom of the pack. For 2016, the only change of note is the addition of standard 4G LTE connectivity and Wi-Fi hotspot functionality (data subscription required). Compare the 2015 and 2016 Traverse models here, and see how the Traverse compares against three of its competitors here.

Editor’s note: This review was written in October 2015 about the 2016 Traverse, but little has changed with this year’s model. To see what’s new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years. 

Exterior & Styling

Imitation is the trend in the three-row SUV class, with many shared styling cues homogenizing the segment. The Traverse is no exception. It wears a broad version of the brand’s trademark grille and the sloping roofline and shapely silhouette popular with the rest of the class. The overall look is clean and polished, if unexciting.

How It Drives

The Traverse is big and drives like it; it’s heavy and has a larger turning... Read More