NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Traverse

Consumer Reviews

2017 Chevrolet Traverse

$16,049 - $28,301  MSRP Range
2017 Chevrolet Traverse

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

159 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Chevrolet Traverse?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

41 - 50 of 159 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

We love the car

by SweeperTerry from California , Pa on Sat Aug 11 2018

We owned a traverse before, this car is great, room for 5 grandkids, has ports for charging electronics. Very comfortable to drive & ride in. My wife loves the car because she feels safe.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best vehicle we have owned yet!

by Kerrie from Racine, WI on Mon May 15 2017

We have always loved Chevorlet vehicles and the 2017 Traverse 2LT is no exception. The comfort and reliability are worth the money we spent on our purchase. The car is perfect for our family needs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Have heard great things about s&l

by oscar massey worn out farmer from on Mon Sep 18 2017

the vehicle was just what the doctor ordered, was loaded with five of the features we wanted. would buy it if things were different. they tried to give me near nothing for my trade-in but wanted retail for there car. I wont take a $1700hit for no dealer

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by Sharon's Traverse from Cambridge, IL on Fri Mar 24 2017

This car has all the bells and whistles, impressive. We really like the memory seats due to my husband's height and my height!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's been a great car this far:)

by Jams from Lake Orion, Michigan on Fri May 05 2017

I love my car, I actually downgraded when getting this car and I am very please to have chosen the traverse, smooth ride and great price and nice interior:)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best deal and affordable

by Jonathan from Round Rock on Fri May 19 2017

It feels great driving it, we went from Chevy Cruze to Chevy Traverse and we love it my kids love it also. it feels huge for them

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've ever owned

by ashleywc1988 from Belleville il on Sun May 14 2017

Tons of room, drives smooth and great and love the style. And it has wifi in the vehicle kids and husband love that!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nicest vehicle I have ever owned

by Mike from on Wed Mar 22 2017

Great car for the price. The all wheel drive is excellent. It feels like your in a trucks but it's quiet and rides smooth like a car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Traverse

by Crystal from PAWCATUCK on Tue Apr 25 2017

I owned a 2011 Traverse and loved that car. I was one car payment away from owning it out right and it was totaled while it was parked at work. I knew that I wanted another Traverse. Great car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car meets our families needs for years to com

by WilliamIII from Irmo,SC on Sat May 27 2017

I love the way it drives and comfort it provides. The first "big" car I have ever owned and it exceeds my expectations by far. I only wish the gas mileage combined would be around 22 or so instead ead of 18. I would recommend this car to any family of 4-7 people.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Chevrolet Traverse

The verdict:


The 2016 Chevrolet Traverse offers generous cargo space and passenger room, but truck-like handling and an irritating multimedia system are major weaknesses.

Versus the competition:


When it comes to things like diamonds and vacations, bigger is almost always better. When it comes to three-row SUVs, that's not always the case — especially where Chevrolet is concerned.


In Cars.com's $40,000 Three-Row SUV Challenge, the 2014 Traverse went head-to-head with several rivals — including the Toyota Highlander, Dodge Durango and Hyundai Santa Fe — and landed at the bottom of the pack. For 2016, the only change of note is the addition of standard 4G LTE connectivity and Wi-Fi hotspot functionality (data subscription required). Compare the 2015 and 2016 Traverse models here, and see how the Traverse compares against three of its competitors here.

Editor’s note: This review was written in October 2015 about the 2016 Traverse, but little has changed with this year’s model. To see what’s new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years. 

Exterior & Styling

Imitation is the trend in the three-row SUV class, with many shared styling cues homogenizing the segment. The Traverse is no exception. It wears a broad version of the brand’s trademark grille and the sloping roofline and shapely silhouette popular with the rest of the class. The overall look is clean and polished, if unexciting.

How It Drives

The Traverse is big and drives like it; it’s heavy and has a larger turning... Read More