NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Traverse

Consumer Reviews

2017 Chevrolet Traverse

$16,064 - $28,312  MSRP Range
2017 Chevrolet Traverse

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

159 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Chevrolet Traverse?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

51 - 60 of 159 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

This car meets our families needs for years to com

by WilliamIII from Irmo,SC on Sat May 27 2017

I love the way it drives and comfort it provides. The first "big" car I have ever owned and it exceeds my expectations by far. I only wish the gas mileage combined would be around 22 or so instead ead of 18. I would recommend this car to any family of 4-7 people.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome chevy wife is loves it...

by Abel from Los Banos, Ca on Wed May 31 2017

Overall this Traverse is the nicest car we have ever owned. Love how it handles and how smooth it rides. Overall numero uno ( number 1).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome SUV

by Chadevans from Fairborn, Ohio on Wed May 31 2017

This truck exceeded our expectations! We love all the features from the third row seating, touch screen navigation, on star, leather, handles great, backup camera, etc...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love driving this car.

by GVan from Shiloh, IL on Wed Mar 29 2017

Have only had this car for 2 weeks but really like it! Like the storage and drive handling. Such a smooth ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice upgrade from a Trailblazer

by sue283 from on Wed May 17 2017

The Traverse has plenty of interior room, nice center console design. The heated seats are comfortable & warm up quickly,although the headrests needs to go back a bit further. Interior ambient lighting is nice, wish there was more! It would be nice if the 3rd row was an option, instead of being standard. I would actually prefer not to have a 3rd row, but there was not a choice so for the most part, I keep the 3rd row down. The Traverse provides a nice smooth quiet ride and has not yet given me any mechanical issues.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's been a great car this far:)

by Jams from Lake Orion, Michigan on Fri May 05 2017

I love my car, I actually downgraded when getting this car and I am very please to have chosen the traverse, smooth ride and great price and nice interior:)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My 2nd Traverse -Love it

by Pam Coz from on Wed Mar 29 2017

I wanted a "reasonably priced" 7-8 passenger vehicle. I have two kids, but often we take all our nephews and our kids' school friends out. Had an Equinox and it wasn't big enough. Upgraded to a Traverse 6 years ago and LOVED IT!!! Now I just upgraded to a newer model with all the new technology and STILL love it! Smooth ride, pretty interior, good on gas. I would highly recommend a Traverse to anyone w/ a large family or someone who transports lots of kids around!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nicest vehicle I have ever owned

by Mike from on Wed Mar 22 2017

Great car for the price. The all wheel drive is excellent. It feels like your in a trucks but it's quiet and rides smooth like a car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very Good car

by Roberto Amengual from Rahway NJ on Sat Nov 25 2017

It is functional to my needs with space for my dog, to the entire family and carry purchases, with very powerful engine and very cute and soft to walk

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by Sharon's Traverse from Cambridge, IL on Fri Mar 24 2017

This car has all the bells and whistles, impressive. We really like the memory seats due to my husband's height and my height!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Chevrolet Traverse

The verdict:


The 2016 Chevrolet Traverse offers generous cargo space and passenger room, but truck-like handling and an irritating multimedia system are major weaknesses.

Versus the competition:


When it comes to things like diamonds and vacations, bigger is almost always better. When it comes to three-row SUVs, that's not always the case — especially where Chevrolet is concerned.


In Cars.com's $40,000 Three-Row SUV Challenge, the 2014 Traverse went head-to-head with several rivals — including the Toyota Highlander, Dodge Durango and Hyundai Santa Fe — and landed at the bottom of the pack. For 2016, the only change of note is the addition of standard 4G LTE connectivity and Wi-Fi hotspot functionality (data subscription required). Compare the 2015 and 2016 Traverse models here, and see how the Traverse compares against three of its competitors here.

Editor’s note: This review was written in October 2015 about the 2016 Traverse, but little has changed with this year’s model. To see what’s new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years. 

Exterior & Styling

Imitation is the trend in the three-row SUV class, with many shared styling cues homogenizing the segment. The Traverse is no exception. It wears a broad version of the brand’s trademark grille and the sloping roofline and shapely silhouette popular with the rest of the class. The overall look is clean and polished, if unexciting.

How It Drives

The Traverse is big and drives like it; it’s heavy and has a larger turning... Read More