2006 F-150

Consumer Reviews

2006 Ford F-150

$3,524 - $14,708  MSRP Range
2006 Ford F-150

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

121 Reviews
87% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Ford F-150?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

61 - 70 of 121 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Don't Buy! Ford screwed up!!

by Dog Lover from Carmi, IL on Fri Mar 25 2011

We have owned this truck for 3 years and have had to put so much money into it! The 4WD actuater went out and we don't even use 4WD. Now, we need a tune up and learned that the spark plugs can break off when being removed and you wind up needing to remove the heads!! The tune up can turn out costing the consumer OVER $3,000!!! Ford really screwed this one up. This was the first and will be the LAST Ford I ever buy.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

10 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

somewhat

by jmmeyer from russellville, ar on Mon Mar 21 2011

i guss it is ok but if i had known then what i know now i would have goten something else the windows even come off track a lot and that gets pricy after a while

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Front End Shimmy

by Cranky from US on Fri Feb 29 2008

Owned a 2006 SuperCrew XLT 4x4 and would never buy one again. Ford wanted such a car like ride that they made the front end too light and therefore you get a shimmy going 60-65. i had 3 tires and 2 rims replaced due to being out of balance by dealer who said that was the problem and it was fixed and truck still did it. Tires would go out of balance every 1000 miles. Been told by several independent garages that the only way to correct the problem was to buy good tires (Ford put those cheap American Generals on them) and to have the tires Force Road Balance. Bought a 07 H3 and never been happier

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

2006 Ford F-150 XL

by Thomas Nguyen from Hayward, Ca on Sun Jan 12 2014

There would be nothing. Absolutely nothing. No appreciation. Just a car you drove, and sold. But because the whites, we speak as if it's great. Sure, if we examine, we say its a complicating peace of work. Not easy to make. Steel, springs, parts, gasoline, spark, physics tour de force. In reality, cars are failing. Its a mess. Brake fluids. Components. Oil Leaks. My advice is to get an electric motor car. Much less work and maintenance. Never buy a car you don't know about. How it was driven, where it has been (flood), accidents, problems, etc. But if your looking for a dependable truck the 2006 Ford F-150 is right for you. I don't think any 2006 Ford F-150 First owners (original) would bash their vehicle. Or abuse them. However remember its a truck. It can be put to work thus damaging transmission and piston cylinders. I have a 2006 Ford F-150. This is something that came about. I don't care where you say take the Bus, ride the bicycle, your polluting the planet, this is My World. So in my world we drive cars and feel the things we feel. I put 75K miles on this baby of hard work. Suspension and Chassis is proven. Springs work fine. Tires never needed to be changed. Brakes never needed to be changed. Electronics never went out. Not even a Dime of maintenance for 5 years besides oil change. Still going strong. So Far. Ask if its a "loading" truck. Year doesnt necessarily say the car, Ford doesn't necessariliy, heck F-150 doesn't say the car (as if F-150 is a motto), the car says the car. And there are many factors that say the car. Know its true Nature.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good looking pickup

by truck lover from wake forest,nc on Tue Dec 25 2012

Love driving this truck. Lariat supercab in two-tone paint(dark red / beige). Quiet cab, precise steering, and easy to read intruments. Have low milage, but concerned about having plugs changed in future( two piece design that are hard to get out without breaking). The supercab( extended cab) and six and a half foot box is the perfect size. A well balanced truck all the way around.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Still Running Strong

by Thorne from Raleigh, NC on Wed Oct 04 2017

I have a king ranch with 126k miles that I bought with about 100k miles. So far, the only thing I have replaced has been the starter. The big truck is fine in the city but takes some careful maneuvering but is at home on the highway going about 75. The engine still runs strong, the interior looks practically new, even after being used and abused. The speakers sound amazing, I just wish it had an aux. There are tons of storage areas for a truck in the door pockets, center console, and in the pockets behind the front seats. The only storage are which could be improved is the itty bitty gloce box. The 6.5 bed I have is the perfect size bed as it can haul just about anything in it without havong the tailgate down, Ive fit everything from small couches to fridges. All though the fuel economy is not great (I'm currently getting about 14mpg), thats not to be expected froma truck from this era. Overall, the truck has been great, never left me stranded (even at 12 years old), and I would recommend for anyone to buy a 2006 f150 king ranch.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great truck !

by John from Nashville, TN on Thu Jul 13 2006

I've owned this '99 Lariet styleside since June of 1999. The only problem I've had is an electronic controller for the power windows went bad in March, 2000. I now have 99000 miles on it. I had to clean the throttle body in July '05 and it now needs to be done again. When the trottle body gets coated in gunk, the engine won't idle until it gets warm. The fuel milage could be a lot better. I average 16-17 mpg both in city driving and road. That has been consistant since day 1. Milage wasn't a big issue until gas prices sarted getting really high. I have enjoyed owning this truck. It's always a pleasure to drive and it is very comfortable. It handles great in all kinds of weather. The factory sound system sounds great. It came with a 5 Cd changer. I have now added XM satelite radio. I added step bars to make getting in and out of it easier. I added a spray-on bed liner. I plan to drive this truck until it dies. Hopefully that will be many more years down the road.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Attractive

by Maverick from Delaware,Ohio on Wed Aug 01 2018

It has a very smooth stable ride with excellent steering.Power,performance,and luxury are the main attributes of this vehicle.Very clean and has a lot of power.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very nice pickup inside and out.

by dabears from South Dakota on Tue Apr 24 2018

This pickup is in the right class of entertainment, style, enough seating for 5 adults and rides real nice. A very sharp looking truck and I couldn't ask for anything more in a truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great truck

by FISCH from Bozeman, Montana on Tue Mar 20 2018

Comfort is A+. So much better than my Explorer. Drive is silky smooth, which is awesome for a pickup. I love it, I couldn't be happier!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2006 Ford F-150


As a showcase for powertrain innovations, the 2006 F-150 Harley-Davidson breaks new ground with the availability of all-wheel-drive. That’s a first for any Ford pickup and another step in attracting active truckers in regions prone to inclement weather.

But the seventh edition of the alliance between Ford and Harley doesn’t push the styling envelope. The familiar deep black paint, large chrome wheels, orange graphics and leather/chrome interior trim returns. It’s a comfortable look and one that surely will appeal to Harley faithful. Maybe I’m getting a little jaded by the Harley-Davidson model, but finding aesthetic pleasure in another black-on-black truck is tough, especially when... Read More