2006 Mustang

Consumer Reviews
2006 Ford Mustang

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

145 Reviews
2006 Ford Mustang
4.2 out of 5 starsComfort
4.6 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.8 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.5 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 145 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Classic American Muscle Car for the Money

by Pony Up from Raleigh, NC on April 12, 2010

This car is phenomenal !! Styling, handling, features, & performance are all superb. This car handles like it's on rails. Handles bumpy roads better than most other performance cars. Go ahead and test drive a Porsche or Corvette on less than perfect pavement and your teeth will be chattering, not a problem for the Mustang. Also, your wallet will be much lighter. After 4 years and 50,000 miles, not a single problem. This car is an absolute blast to drive. If you can splurge for the convertible - do it. ***This car will turn heads *** Trunk space is generous, back seats minimal, but ok ina squeeze. Holds 4 sets of golf clubs. Try that on a Porsche or Corvette.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Mustang GT

by Philio the Plastic Man from Vergas, MN on January 30, 2012

Although my 2010 Dodge Challenger is the sweetest ride I've evr owned, I put it away into storage November 15th. I still had the itch for some horsepower and fun so I purchased a 2006 Ford Mustang GT. It is not the most HP in the Mustang line, but the 5 speed manual really goes in 3rd and 4th gear. And I am still driving it in Jan/Feb in Minnesota !!! I love it. It is brite red and Bullitt wheels. The wheels came with the deal. At 62 years old, should be in a minivan. No way.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Some Mustang Quirks

by luangtom from Atlanta, GA on September 3, 2012

I purchased this 2006 Mustang GT with 25,000-miles on it. It now has 72,000-miles. I drive it like I stole it. The car does have its quirks. One being its poor design around the windshield. Ford did fix it under warranty, but did have to make three visits to accomplish it. Seems they had a design and a production flaw with the A-pillar and grommet area under the cowling. It leaked rain terribly until it was fixed by Ford. The other quirk is its over-drive feature on the 5-speed automatic. One must bypass it if driving under freeway speeds or the transmission does not know if to up-shift or down-shift. I just bypass over-drive if not on the freeway. It does not take that much more gas. Otherwise, it is a good car for the money. These two flaws are fixable, so I would recommend this car to anyone. Well,I still drive it like I stole it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome, Reliable, Fun !!

by Fast Stang ! from Asheville, NC on October 1, 2010

Bought this car new in 2006. Not a single mechanical problem with this car. The most reliable vehicle I've ever owned. It has been nothing short of breathtaking to drive. Pure pleasure on twisty roads. Has a nice low rumble and plenty of power. Handling is smooth and controlled, the wide Pirellis do a great job of gripping the road. Handled like a BMW in the mountains. This car will turn heads. Ford did a great job with this 60's retro look. You will NOT be disappointed. Time to trade it for a Shelby version !!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome awesome car!

by Silver06Pony from Michigan on January 9, 2010

I bought my 2006 ford mustang v6 with the pony package a few months ago from a used car lot. I've always loved the old 60's fastbacks so when this model came out in '05 I couldn't believe how similar it looked to it's early predecessors. Ford did an amazing job creating the modern classic, really couldn't have done any better in my opinion. The car is very comfortable, has good power for a v-6 and the fuel economy is great! I average between 25-28 highway which is incredible for a large v-6. Obviously it doesn't have much of a backseat but it's a sports car... so you really cannot expect any differently. Overall I am very happy with the car and have no complaints whatsoever!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

06 stang gt

by u know from ohio on January 5, 2011

This is my second mustang traded in my 98 for it have had it for a few years now purchased with 20000 miles on it. It gets decent gas mileage on the highway I have gotten up to 27mpg, the car has a few mods which it has responded well to I recomend getting an exhaust it really sounds great with the v8 and adds horses, accleration is great the ride is a little rough you can feel the smallest cracks and bumps, the interior is also a little cheap feeling like most fords which causes more road noise, I currently have 45000 miles on it and haven't had and problems with it other than a small electrical problem, the car isn't to good in snow or rain and you should watch how hard you aplly the gas, car has a nice stock audio system in it this car is a good buy for the money if ur looking just for performance.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My newest toy.

by Denny from Fort Wayne, IN on July 2, 2012

It`s a used Mustang GT convertible, whats not to like. It was in show room condition, low mileage at a price that didn`t break the bank. It`s my summer car. I have an suv for the winter. It`s no econo box, it`s a Mustang GT. I love it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2006 Mustang GT 5 Speed

by foursixmustang from VA on January 20, 2015

I've owned my 06 mustang gt for about a year now. Has 72k miles. It's a solid, fun to drive car, and I average 18mpg daily driving. I do have a few problems: the smart junction box has failed internally and caused the alarm and remote keyless entry to not work. Also, the speedometer doesn't work when its cold outside (bad stepper motors inside of the instrument cluster), I've also had the notorious dash rattle near the a-pillars from the worn felt tape. Had a water pump leak and seized e-brake cables. Maybe the first owner neglected it. Overall its a fun car to own and drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

big time battery drain problems

by Mustang Enthusiast from Northeastern, Pa on March 4, 2007

if i let car sit for 5 or 6 days or drive pleasure only the battery runs down. Drain is intermittent. Car was towed to dealer 3 times. Battery and charging system was fine and modules all timed out but battery continues to drain down. Really nice car if I can start it. Anyone else experiencing this on 06 Mustang GT ?

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Value and Reliability

by Sooner Mustang Owner from Oklahoma on November 26, 2009

V6 has plenty of power and great fuel economy. I have 40,000 miles on my mustang and have not had one thing go wrong on it. I average 24 mpg. If you want a car with plenty of get up and zip, plus still maintain great fuel economy then this is the car for you. The downsides of this car is the lack of space in the rear seats. There is no way an adult could fit in the back and I'm not sure that they even provide enough room for a child. Also, the front seats sit real low to the floor which can make for some difficulty getting in and out especially if you have something in your hands. Overall, a real fun sporty car, but definitely not a family car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 15
Our Expert Review: 2006 Ford Mustang